We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge
 Click to rate
Jaffrey, nh
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

After experiencing a few delays on my family's moving trip south. We find ourselves without a place to stay for the night enter Raj and econolodge stage right . They solve the room problem for a mere $120est (dog fee). Then after we said our good byes after my mother in law forgot her pillow in her room after we...

Thank Jgryder
Eylem T, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your five-star review. It is wonderful to learn our associates made your stay top-notch. We look forward to welcoming you back to Econolodge Meadowlands.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I had not originally intended to stay at EconoLodge on this trip, but when I was incorrectly booked at another hotel that didn't accept pets, I had to scramble online to find a vacancy over a busy holiday weekend. Econolodge was the only one available that met my needs I took it as a last resort. It turned out to...

Thank nycchris524
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor with such positive feedback. I have shared your comments with my staff, especially Raj, and they join me in thanking you for your patience and kind words. I am sorry to hear that you had to go through some bumpy moments but glad to hear that our staff...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The price of a room is pretty reasonable compared with other hotel near NY city! The attitude of the receptionist, especially Raj the day time worker, is very good! He is the one of the professional hotel receptionist!

Thank kcs7615
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We have had several stays at the Econo Lodge in Carlstadt, NJ. The hotel rooms are the normal hotel rooms that most places have but they don't have RAJ! Raj is always at the desk with a fabulous smile and willingness to help all customers. He is pleasant and very helpful with any concerns, or questions you may have. He...

Thank Christina M
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to have Raj on our team and I am glad he was able to assist you with an exceptional service. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I stay here quite often and it is always a great experience. Raj and the rest of the front desk staff is very accommodating. The rooms are always clean and the wifi works great. It's a quick trip into Manhattan. I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

1Thank mlish3160
Wantagh, New York
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

picked this hotel hoping it would be ok. was the worst experience i ever had. was given a room on the interior side of hotel. looked undeveloped and unsafe. i was given a hard time when i mentioned this to guy at front desk who was very rude and didn't give me another room how rude will not be staying...

1Thank knickfan1221
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We cannot help but be disappointed to hear this was the impression you were left with after your stay with us. Your comments give us an opportunity to address this with our respective teams so we can improve our service and ensure each guest feels welcome. I would appreciate if you contact me to speak about this matter in further....

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed @ Econo Lodge to see a football game @ MetLife Stadium. Great view of the stadium from the room. The hotel is right down the street (a 2 minute walk) from Redds Sports Bar. This is a great place to grab some food & drinks before an event. The best part is that they have free shuttle rides to...

1Thank Joseph B
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind words with us and other travelers. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Econolodge Meadowlands.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room is quiet good & the service is very much better. The cleanliness of the room & the bathroom is very nice. Luckily I got smoking room that is added advantage to me. But still they maintain most of the rooms as non-smoking. The receptionist Raj is a very friendly & helpful

Thank Riaz A
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide this feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. Reading your comments is such a pleasure and we will look forward to your next visit.

Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Rooms cleaned daily. Bus a block down takes you into the city in about 30 min. Breakfast is decent in the am. They were nice enough to keep our bags after checking out since our flight was later In the evening. Overall.. good!

Thank Claudia R
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review the Econolodge Meadowlands. We are very proud of the service and amenities the hotel offers, and the proximity to Manhattan is a plus. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again here at the Econolodge Meadowlands! Happy New Year!!

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Good value for money.. easy bus access to New York city. Room was clean and staff was accommodating and helpful. One of cheapest place to stay in area. Good parking space for travellers from outside newyork

Thank sanket d
Eylem N, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you sharing your comments with us and with fellow travelers. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town. Happy New Year!!!

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (29)
Room/Suite (8)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (4)
View from Room (6)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (68)
Room/Suite (26)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
View from Room (11)
Bathroom (6)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Dining (3)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlstadt
2.4 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
3.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
#13 of 15 in Secaucus
138 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge Meadowlands, one of the great Jersey City hotels, is conveniently located near the Meadowlands Sports Complex, a sports and entertainment complex located in East Rutherford, Bergen County, NJ. Guests of the Econo Lodge enjoy this Carlstadt hotel near MetLife Stadium (home of the New York Giants and New York Jets), the Meadowlands Racetrack, the American Dream Meadowlands, and the Timex Performance Center. The Econo Lodge Meadowlands is one of the most conveniently accessible hotels in Carlstadt NJ with public transportation to New York City, Times Square, and The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey within 25 minutes.Visitors appreciate that the Econo Lodge is on of the great hotels in Carlstadt NJ that is accessible to popular NY attractions including the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Rockefeller Center. A free shuttle is available within walking distance of the hotel to and from Redd's Restaurant and all major events at the Meadowlands. Begin the day with free continental breakfast that includes croissants, doughnuts, bagels, various breads,boiled eggs, yogurts, season fruits, juice and coffee. Corporate, government and senior rates are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 395 Washington Ave., Carlstadt, NJ 07072
Region: United States > New Jersey > Carlstadt
Price Range: RM387 - RM670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Carlstadt
Econo Lodge Carlstadt
Carlstadt Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Carlstadt
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In warm days ask for a room with a balcony outside.”
christinamY2278UF, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Almost all the rooms are quiet good, there is no specific option required.”
830riaza, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the first floor as there is no elevator so you will have to take the stairs with the luggage.”
Cuba2Kansas, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor interior rooms are the best to access”
142melinar, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the inner side are quieter.”
maxineblu8, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5