We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plaza on the Pike

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Plaza on the Pike
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Plaza on the Pike
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It doesn't look like the standard HIE with the separate check in/out lobby and no direct access to the outdoor pool as this property was obviously converted from another brand. Given that there is renovating going on, I really can't complain about our short stay. The breakfast had a full complement for the brand incl hard boiled eggs = good!... More 

Helpful?
Thank NERoadWarrior53
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review. Our location is a hot amenity around here! So close to everything without the congestion of the down town. We are under renovation so our lobby, breakfast, and rooms will all be in one area. We are hoping by the end of year we will be all... More 

philadelphia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I understand the Go Green, cut down on washing towels etc however when you book and pay for a room for 2 adults, 2 towels is ridiculous. In the bathroom, one tiny shampoo, one tiny conditioner, one lotion and two bars of soap. So we could each have our own bar of soap but were expected to share the shampoo.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spookyfan
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing in. We appreciate your feedback. We put a standard number of towels, shampoo, conditioner, soap & lotion in each room (as outlined from our brand). We would absolutely give any guest extra towels or bath amenities upon request. We are moving our lobby to the rooms building and are excited about all the new... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have never taken the time to write a review on a hotel before but now I always will! I'm up at 12:44am have a 6am flight can't SLEEP cause of the smell in this room! They could not change our room for us, my kids kept saying its so bad. Ok they are renovating so don't put guest in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole1220
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for telling us about your stay. And I would like to apologize for the paint smell. We are under renovation as you mentioned and the rooms do have a fresh paint smell. We do try to air out the rooms as best as possible, but unfortunately, just like at home, a... More 

Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The first night we turned down the sheets and there were candy wrappers in the bed. Obviously they didn't change the linens. I had to make the beds with new sheets at midnight. Room wasn't vacuumed. They are renovating but it still wasn't as clean as it could be. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti D
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the room services. I am quite suprised at the candy wrapper situation, we hold ourselves to much a higher standard, and I am so sorry that happened. We have talked with our housekeeping staff regarding this. As for the pool, we had the pool closed due to the weather. We had off and on... More 

Highland, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Just what we expected for a quick getaway near ac and brigantine. They were currently remodeling but it didn't inconvenience us or interrupt our visit. Breakfast was fine but we suggest that it go until at least 10 am. The staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love to hear your comments and suggestions. We are so glad you were able to relax and enjoy your time. Our breakfast hours during the weekdays are 6:30-9:30am (we get a lot of corporate travelers who are normally out by 8am), but on the weekends we do extend our breakfast until 10am. We have... More 

Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two years in a row during our annual trip to Atlantic City. We got what we consider to be a great rate for a summer Saturday ($109 total including taxes) within a 10 minute drive to the casinos. This also included a complementary hot breakfast for the four us - a nice bonus. This year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim F
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We love having our guests come back year after year. I am sorry to hear about your safe. Since your comments, I have made sure each manager is trained to fix the safes in the rooms when this happens. Thank you for helping us improve our services and we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our room was one of the renovated ones - so fresh that it still stinks of paint. The workmanship is shoddy and even renovated the rooms do not look good - there is no attention to detail in the finishing. Breakfast is not up to scratch. There was no maid service while we were here, meaning no replacement towels and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 24Seven365
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our renovated rooms are beautiful! Everything is brand new from the walls to the drapes. I am very surprised you didn't like them. I do apologize for the new paint smell. I understand it can be a bit overwhelming and since we are still in the middle... More 

philly
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel (as of summer 2013) is undergoing renovation, and the management will be quick to assure you that once it completed it would be great. Not certain what's to come, but right now for the price paid (upwards of $150) the rooms are uncomfortable, the wifi not working properly (the staff knew and could not help), and the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rutigi
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are excited about our renovations and we understand our property has some upgrading to be done. We were having some wifi issues and I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. I hope you were able to use our business center which is hard wired so connection is... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Fourth of July holiday, 2013. It is not in a nice area (3.5% sales tax initiative), but the area seems safe. The hotel was very clean; the breakfast was good. However, unfortunately the whole time I was there I was miserable with asthma and allergies. On the first floor, which reeks of... More 

Helpful?
Thank petlove
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write in. We apologize for the issues you had with the construction while you were in town. We are working very hard to bring our older property into the new age, and look forward to the new room smell. However, with the renovation comes a paint smell, so the mix of construction and... More 

Kansas City
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The first thing we noticed when we walked into the room was the stench. It smelled like chlorine and mildew mixed together. My husband walked into the bath and discovered we had been placed in a handicap room. The staff upon check in failed to tell us this. The shower was a walk in (no tub). The bench had not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonise
COORDINATOR78, Manager at The Plaza on the Pike, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the inconviences you had during your stay. I would like to opportunity to speak with you about your stay personally, if you would please call the hotel. When booking through an internet site, while they do save you money and we love our internet partners, most of them book our standard room without a guaranteed... More 

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor Township
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airport Egg Harbor Township
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airp...
#3 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
253 reviews
6.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
524 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Pleasantville
Quality Inn Pleasantville
#3 of 16 in Pleasantville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atlantic City West Extended Stay & Suites
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn Atlantic City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Are you looking for a clean and affordable hotel, but don't want to stay in downtown Atlantic City? The Plaza on the Pike in Egg Harbor Township, NJ is a four-story interior corridor hotel with a great room and a full breakfast served from 6AM - 10AM daily. We are located just two miles from FAA Tech Center and Atlantic City Airport. Located just 10 minutes from the excitement of the Atlantic City casinos, beaches and boardwalk. We offer a shuttle to the boardwalk for those guests who would prefer not to drive. Every oversized room has a 25-inch TV, free cable and HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and voice mail, coffee makers, fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers and clock radios. You will fall in love with our brand new king and traditional double bedded rooms with desk and easy chair. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plaza on the Pike

Address: 6811 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Price Range: RM307 - RM760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Plaza on the Pike 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Plaza on the Pike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Holiday Inn Express Pleasantville
Holiday Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plaza on the Pike staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Plaza on the Pike staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is now renovated entirely.”
  • Newly renovated room. King rooms, too.
 of 5 bubbles Waddytoni76, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you wanted a mini fridge in your room you must call and request, not all rooms have this as I was told when I called.”
 of 5 bubbles sbey11, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms get really hot at night”
 of 5 bubbles antwuansmith, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are clean and hotel is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles perkyb2016, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont count on the breakfast , and your stay here will be great”
 of 5 bubbles paulaG2953RP, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay