We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Staying at this hotel was very convenient since it is so close to Newark airport. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to and from the airport which picks up every 30 min. The hotel also has plenty of free parking. Great staff. Beautiful, modern hotel that was very colorful and bright. Hotel rooms are big, but the bathrooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chisholm L
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Spent one night at the hotel before catch a 6 AM flight. Was very pleased to have a room upgrade to a suite. The hotels outside of Newark airport are always a challenge to find for the first time and this one was no exception when I missed the turn off just before the hotel. Once we made the roundabout... More 

Helpful?
Thank captainked
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We arrived into Newark at midnight after a long haul flight. The shuttle arrived within 20 minutes and was fast and efficient. Great checkin staff at the front desk of the hotel, very welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately room service stops at midnight, however we could have eaten in the bar. Great breakfast in the morning, there was an error with... More 

Helpful?
Thank luvyrlife
Monika V, Manager at Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope that should your travels bring you back to this area you have the opportunity to come stay with us again! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our room was very nice room, it just had a very small bathroom. The bathroom had a pedestal sink, so there was no place to put your cosmetics. Restaurant was in the hotel. Excellent food, but very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank lazyacres11892
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

If you need to stay close to the airport this place is very convenient....there's a free shuttle bus every 15 minutes, the hotel is clean, spacious and the staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Anna G
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is kind of dirty! I was really disappointed when I got to my room after a long ride and the rug was loose bubbled it and had many blacks on it. I was afraid to walk on it, so over used. There were hairs in the bed dirty dusty corners. I was really let down by the quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank bens2787
Monika V, Manager at Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel, responded to this review

We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and we will be reviewing your comments with our housekeeping team immediately. We are very fortunate to have such well appointed rooms, and we strive to ensure that they are maintained accordingly. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. More 

Union, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is okay. The lobby is very busy. The system was down, so I was given a temporary key, that was useless because it did not work in the elevator. I stayed in the king room. Nothing special, just a regular room, kind of small compared to other Marriotts. This hotel penny pinch you with everything. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxy8080
Monika V, Manager at Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. We were experiencing an unfortunate system failure which prevented the Front Desk from being able to produce additional room keys that evening. The temporary key provided should have given you access to all guest elevators, the gym as well as your sleeping room. We will... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I recently attended a training school for a new job at this hotel. It was surprisingly easy to catch their shuttle from Liberty/Newark Airport and check in was effortless. I felt safe traveling alone and the staff was extremely professional and accommodating. I would certainly recommend this hotel for business as well as pleasure.

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were staying overnight before a football game in Monmouth the next day. We were traveling with the team so our experience was a little different than normal. We came in through the back door and did not interact with the staff at all during our short stay so I can't comment on the staff. I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank mkevin_alford
Monika V, Manager at Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to read that you experienced some challenges with the TV and bathroom drains. We will have our engineering work to ensure these items are corrected for future guests. We hope that if your travel schedule brings you back to this area you will be able to come stay with us again! More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel after a late night arrival into nearby Newark. 5 minutes from the airport on the free shuttle bus. Rooms are spacious, reception staff friendly and the bar was open late enough to have a beer or two before bed. Would be happy to stay here again if transiting through EWR.

Helpful?
Thank IS_Scotland

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.4 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.4 km away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
3.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Defining style and sophistication among Elizabeth, NJ hotels, the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel welcomes travelers with opulent accommodations, tons of luxury amenities and unparalleled service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Address: 1000 Spring Street, Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Price Range: RM596 - RM1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Kew Gardens, New York
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Edgewater, Colorado
over a year ago
County Londonderry, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner rooms if you need extra space are good”
 of 5 bubbles shallowroots1, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors may b 8th or higher, Front side are Terminal/Airport facing with a better view”
 of 5 bubbles drrahulgarg, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No real advantage in being on higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles timelvis, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Have elite status.”
 of 5 bubbles captainked, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms.comfortable beds”
 of 5 bubbles sheldonarrington926, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay