We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The National Hotel

Booking.comUS$109*
View Deal
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$109*
Great Deal
US$129*
US$129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Start your review of The National Hotel
 Click to rate
Flemington
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

It's a great place for lunch or dinner or just appetizers and cocktails. Weather permitting, sit on the front porch and people watch. They usually have delicious, fresh oysters and daily specials. The food is well prepared and presented and the staff is great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

We LOVE this review!!! You are so right about how enjoyable our front porch is; we have customers who only want to sit outside when the weather warms up, precisely because they have the opportunity to see the people strolling along the beautiful streets of Frenchtown, as well as very often, the antique and vintage cars that come into our...

Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My wife & enjoyed our lunch at this historic hotel on Saturday afternoon. We ordered a charbroiled burger that came with homemade French Fries. The only complaint we had was the French Fries were way over salted; we had to ask for another batch without salt. Overall, we really enjoyed a nice atmosphere and a very relaxing lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RRanella
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

It's always wonderful to get feedback from our customers & we really appreciated that you brought that to our attention. We're very happy that we had the opportunity to provide you with something more to your liking. Thank you for choosing us and for letting us know that you enjoyed the atmosphere we provided when you last visited us for...

Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Usually we go for lunch or drinks at the beautiful wooden, mirrored bar. Last time our bill was $66.43 w/o tip, but we had a fantastic asparagus app, a turkey & brie panini, fish & chips, 2 small bottles of Cava, a martini & a diet coke. All fantastic. Just check out their menu...very interesting. Great service, although we do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chatnoir
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that even though you live a distance from Frenchtown, that you still manage to carve out the time to visit us once a month. We are incredibly pleased by everything you shared and cannot wait to welcome you back to The National Hotel whenever you have the time to come on an evening when we have...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing time at The National hotel. The staff is so welcoming and made sure we were comfortable our entire stay. The rooms are quaint with an old 1800 vibe. The food and drink menu was diverse and everything we ordered was sensational. Michael the bartender was by far a special person who went out of his way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carfora
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

We just wanted to let you know that your review has been shared multiple times with our staff, and has served to inspire our extended family at The National Hotel. We are so grateful for your kind words and for recognizing the hard work and dedication of our staff--who come in day in and day out motivated by the love...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

From our arrival to departure, The National did not disappoint. When we visit the area, we typically stay in Lambertville down the road and decided this time to stay in Frenchtown. The National proved we had made the right decision. The hotel is charming and blends the buildings history with modern amenities. Our room was spacious with plenty of sunlight,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback lifts our spirits!! What tremendous praise, especially your kind words about our dedicated staff. Mike is truly extraordinary and he always goes above and beyond for our patrons. Truly a wonderful reflection of our establishment. And of course, it goes without saying that Marlon, our General Manager, is exceptional at taking care of every detail. Your testimony as...

Wycombe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Michael, the bartender, is extraordinary! He is an enthusiastic mixoligist and offers some very good cutting edge craft beers. Great atmosphere in the bar room, too. I've been there a few times recently - as a bike rider , this place is a fun stop-off point -- but, I was there a few days ago after getting stranded (car broke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for sharing this incredible review with us, and recognizing how much Michael cares about The National Hotel. Truly, he is not only a premier mixologist, knowledgeable bartender, and incredible ambassador for The National Hotel, he is in fact, someone who truly cares about our patrons and goes out of his way to make sure each of their...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at the National Hotel in Frenchtown New Jersey and although the building is old and quaint, the bar and it's tenders were fun with great drinks and what looks like delicious food, the morning breakfast was also very very good with the delicious coffee fruits, bagels and muffins.. the rest of the hotel was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1951ortley
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at The National Hotel. We're saddened that you were inconvenienced by traffic noise from our quaint country street. The room you chose faced the front of the building, but yours is the first complaint we've had regarding the level of noise from the street, and we are truly surprised that the traffic was non-stop. Frenchtown...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The vibe in the bar downstairs feels like you stepped into a piece of history but the Staff is alive and well! We went in for a quick drink and ended up staying for 3..ok 4 because of the pure entertainment of Mike! He was quite charismatic and a talented bartender to boot. The manager who joined the conversation at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

Mike IS a gem!! We are so proud to have such a dedicated staff to help make our guests feel welcome & comfortable. Our goal is to make sure we can provide you with the very best service, & we are thrilled to hear that you were able to have such an enjoyable time. Thank you so much for your...

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I grew up in this area and passed this hotel many times in many years but never stayed here. Recently while returning to NJ I had the opportunity to stay here with my sister Patti. We really enjoyed our stay. The proprietor and staff could not have been more welcoming and nicer. We ate in the dining room one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flo B
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

How wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! Moreover, the fact that you returned to NJ and chose The National Hotel for your overnight stay is a great compliment and we are very grateful to you and your sister. Thank you for carving out the time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your experience with...

Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Nice staff. An old hotel with rooms that have been upgraded. Wonderful shower. No elevator! Our room was very spacious but did not have a closet or place to hang clothes. Great bartender, friendly and made good suggestions. The slightly Asian themed room decor was very different and fanciful especially with the gauze drapes hanging from the huge oversized bamboo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crumbles4u
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The National Hotel. You are very much correct that it is a historic building, dating back to 1850 (and earlier, to 1833 in its original hotel/blacksmith building), which explains why there is no elevator to preserve the building as it was created. It's wonderful to learn that you were able to...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
20.4 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
234 reviews
16.6 km away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
529 reviews
29.1 km away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
16.5 km away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
5.4 km away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience comfort and luxury at The National Hotel from richly appointed and unique rooms in which to relax and escape today's pressures, to our quality dining choices, where a friendly and attentive staff can help you unwind as you enjoy local flavors of the area, and end your evening in The Rathskeller Pub downstairs. Weekend overnight guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast in a private room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Address: 31 Race St, Frenchtown, NJ 08825-1011
Region: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Price Range: RM468 - RM623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have only eaten here.”
chatnoir, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 3rd floor King room is fabulous”
TheReeds2016, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Request the rooms that look out over the front veranda.”
857mc, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 201 is beautiful!”
  • Updated furniture
  • Lovely canopy bed
536maureeny, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the Race Street side are quieter.”
144kerryb, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$129
Orbitz.comUS$129
Expedia.comUS$129
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates