We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,075: English reviews
Tarkio, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dustonn
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. The beds were like boards. The bathroom vent emitted a cigarette smoke aroma. The tv next door was on loud all night. The frig was not operating but plugged in. They charge for overnight parking and the airport shuttle takes you to the monorail. We used vista parking next door and had a ride...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E4850WKbarbara
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi guest, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the hotel...

Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke, there were signs all over saying no smoking, but I think they forgot to through out all the old carpet and drapery. Also, the bath tub drain didn't work very well, you had to stand in 2" of water while taking a shower.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J5706MLpauls
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi J5706MLpauls, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the hotel...

Ringwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We had long-standing reservations for Monday night (3/13) for a Tuesday meeting, and elected to stay a second night (Tuesday) because of the snow emergency. We were handed a sheet to sign for the extra night that apparently did have the price in the paragraph, but the front desk person did not say anything about the price changing from the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sham977484
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Arriving at EWR on a cold winter night, we had to wait for about 25 minutes inside the monorail station for our shuttle to arrive (you have to call the hotel and request the shuttle - if necessary, it runs every 30 minutes from the hotel to EWR. All shuttle busses can only pick up and drop off passengers at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi Guest, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the hotel...

asheville, United States
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Arriving late at night, it looked a little sketchy - especially the entrance (through security gates)and the lobby. Room was clean and comfortable, though the shower seemed made for very short people. Nothing fancy but a decent deal for the money.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi Charles M, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the...

Kingston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The epic Nor'easter on March 14, 2017, about 6000 flights to/from Newark airport were canceled. I was facing days camping out on airport chairs, or worse, floors, or bailing out and finding a hotel. Everything around the airport was between $250-300 a night. Then, there was this Howard Johnson Hotel. I know the history of Howard Johnson as a family...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reese S
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi Reese S, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the...

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tishobiap
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I hated it because I asked for towels no one came there was someone else makeup on the pillowcase

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 384prasadg
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

Hi 384prasadg, Thank you for your time to write a review in regards to your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest since we enjoyed your company and time here at the hotel. The cleanliness and service by the staff of our rooms and service are the major factors of the hotel...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank siddeeqahr2017
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (68)
Viewed
Standard King Room (64)
Viewed
Suite (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Price Range: RM339 - RM449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no good views, so take any room you can.”
ReeseS234, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are large and have a microwave and refrigerator in every room.”
277kayez, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet room. There are no quiet rooms.”
chh19, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“An average hotel not worth the price”
, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upgrade -”
814JohnD814, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5