We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Only thing that I didn't like was the toilet seat came off... I never seen that at any hotel ever... I overlooked it... Other than that everything was good to go...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U3908ALkenneths
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the room was cleaned as soon as you enter the bathroom had water damage to the vanity and only after laying down on the bed for about 20 minutes I started feeling small bites and as I checked I found bed bugs!!! I stayed only beacuse there was nothing else around the area available. Disgusting.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendalyc2016
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 109lamontb
Schenectady, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible service internet por my TV didn't work my phone in the room didn't work and found bed bugs in the bed

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynthiap186
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi cynthiap186 Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the room. All of the rooms are treated and renewed so...

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank artfernandes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Secured a regular room for $60 (before taxes). Expectations were not high as the property is a budget motel. Room presentation was fine. A working microwave and refrigerator were great extras. Large flat-screen TV was a nice touch also. Only downside with the experience were unlocked and or non-working doors leading into the property.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek Z
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi Derek Z, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, accessible location to big shopping areas...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 12 November 2016

This hotel has no elevator, and definitely is worthless for the breakfast you have to come out in the cold to get breakfast and speak at the fron desk. this is no good and i told the person at the desk that i was wyndham customer never offered no discount.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 933jeannaw
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi 933jeannaw Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an extremely positive experience during your stay at Howard Johnson, North Plainfield. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service, good breakfast, accessible location to big shopping areas and...

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrance W
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Albuquerque
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Our nonsmoking room stank of cigarette smoke; the hallway stank of cigarette smoke covered over by overwhelming powder-scented air fresheners; and the stairwell had not been mopped in a long time and smelled of wet dog. Bedspread had several stains on it. Never been so happy to check out of a hotel. The decor had been recently updated and the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrS6941MA
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hi MichaelrS6941MA Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I apologize for the inconvenience you had because of the unclean room. Cleanliness will be improved throughout the hotel. We...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
498 reviews
10.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN The Garden Executive Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Garden Executiv...
#3 of 4 in South Plainfield
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
16.1 km away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
397 reviews
11.7 km away
Days Inn Bridgewater Conference Center Somerville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Address: 1025 US Highway 22, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060-6614
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Price Range: RM321 - RM397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love the room on 2nd floor. It has balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles ishua_13, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Rear of the building on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles richardsK5090SV, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“When they say "non-smoking" don't be so sure.”
 of 5 bubbles BeachMelonMama, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for Kingsize bed facing the mountain”
 of 5 bubbles RNM-007, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Request a room that is far away from the main hallway door by the stairs.”
  • The armchair that tripped me in the darkness
 of 5 bubbles gdionelli, 19 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay