We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shawmont Hotel

Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (6)
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good36%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“instant oatmeal”(8 reviews)
“bagels”(17 reviews)
“rocking chairs”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Private Balcony
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
40
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
40
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinstant oatmealbagelsrocking chairsfront porchwatermelonasbury parktwo single bedssecond floorcream cheeseterrace facingshower chairgreat location overlooking the oceanmy elderly motherboard walkroom was very clean and comfortableoff seasonnothing fancy
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 110 reviews
Reviewed today

My party of 16 (8 rooms) enjoyed a most wonderful long weekend at the Shawmont Hotel. It was PERFECT for what we needed: walking distance to food, drink (Asbury Park), shopping, sights, beach! Being just across the street from the beach was SO convenient. The...More

Thank Terryyk
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Shawmont Hotel is in a great location--right across from the beach and offers a very nice continental breakfast and lovely staff. The room was very disappointing--the decor was dated, the bathroom needed an overhaul--there was chipped paint everywhere, rust, an old bandaid in the dilapidated...More

3  Thank jetwirl
Response from Anna W, Manager at Shawmont HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your accommodation at the Shawmont hotel. From your description it sounds like you stayed in our standard room. Our standard room is the most affordable option due to its size and limitations. We continuously make updates to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We have stayed at the Shawmont more than once over the years. It is our favorite hotel in Ocean Grove. The hotel was bought by new owners in 2004, and they've really made the Shawmont a fantastic place. They've renovated the place, and the rooms...More

Thank ESBehh
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Having stayed at other hotels in Ocean Grove over the years, I can honestly say that the Shawmont is one of the nicest, if not the nicest in town. Our recent visit did much to reinforce that belief! As always, the staff were friendly and...More

1  Thank Steven C
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed at the Shawmont Hotel for one night. It is a charming, clean and comfortable B&B. The proprietor and of the people who work there are nice, welcoming and helpful. You can't beat an ocean front location. It is so nice to enjoy the...More

1  Thank flyingdandelion
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (6)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carole S
13 August 2015|
Answer
Response from AuntRuth001 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a ramp. You'd need to request a room on the first floor, and please tell them what you need. They are always willing to help when they can! Ruth
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Some of the rooms have terraces - would try to get one of those if you prefer some privacy."
Read review
"The rooms with an ocean view are clearly the best, but also most in demand."
Read review
"Book early to reserve an ocean view room"
Read review
"On the ground floor, rooms in the back are quieter; rooms 1-2 tend to be noisier because they are adjacent to..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing