We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hewitt Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 594: English reviews
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We visited in the off season (January 2017) for a quiet couples retreat from holidays, work schedules, children, etc. The room had a stunning view of Spring Lake and beyond that, the ocean. The décor of the hotel was calm, relaxing, and simple. Our room was clean and quiet. It was just what we needed for relaxation. We stayed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank erinelizabeth777
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. So glad that you had a great time and were able to get away from the daily grind and relax for a couple of days. The area is full of really fun things to do and great restaurants as well. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Thank you

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Very good Except Need new mattress in room 2 I will continue to return. I live the place and I am sure the management will update and make corrections as needed. We have been going to Spring Lake for many years

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

It was so nice seeing you both again. I appreciate you letting us know about this visit and can't wait to see you again. Let's not wait so long between visits this time. Thank you!

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The first rooms carpet was soiled and bathroom curtain stained and the room just would not heat up, so we told Diane at the front desk. She was great, told us she would show us a different room. When she moved us we were very pleased. Also dining at the Whisper Restaurant was expensive for New Year's eve dinner but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vince700
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had concerns with the first room but I am glad that Diane took care of things and found you a room that you were very happy with. I'm glad you were able to dine at Whispers and enjoyed yourselves there. It is so great having them located in the hotel for our guests

New Lebanon, New York
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This was my place to stay between hospital visits on this trip down. Not for a vacation at all, but because the Wellington is such a wonderful cozy place, we had a relaxing stay in spite of having some worry about my Aunt up the road. It is always with great pleasure that I stay here as Kathy is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol Y
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Even though it was the middle of December, spring lake still holds its charming appeal. Got a great price on the place last minute, must be even more beautiful in the summer right on the water. Great place great location, comfortable accommodations, nice staff, nice breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysupforfuntimes
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Room was large, bathroom poorly appointed, no where for two people to put out toiletries, bedroom was poorly appointed; two old, uncomfortable chairs, one small table, insufficient plugs for electronic charging, poor lighting, blinds didn't work properly, overall dingy room, continental breakfast was weak. I would much prefer a hotel to this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mimi R
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 17 December 2016

This was our second visit to this property this year. In general, the inn is tired and needs some "life" and love. The furniture is old and worn, even the holiday decorations were not inspired. The staff: pretty much everyone was nice, but there was no one there for about 4 of our 9 days. I understand that one of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sjg415
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I apologize that we were certainly not up to our usual standards and that you were unhappy with your stay. Though I had to leave unexpectedly we did have coverage for the hotel, we just were not able to have someone to man the desk 24/7. I did have the chance to speak with you prior to my leaving and...

Reviewed 15 December 2016

I loved the room and the view. The room was very large, bed was so very comfortable and the it was decorated in a charming, very tasteful manner. Loved that it was so very quiet. The location right across from the beach was so very convenient and the staff was first rate. I will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon! Thank you

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is our third Thanksgiving holiday at the Hewitt! Love this place. Comfortable room settings, great location convenient to restaurants, shops, church, boardwalk. Management very attentive to our needs, service over and above. Relaxing, easy stay. Feels like you are staying with family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gattsav
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

It was so nice to have you again with us. We always enjoy having you and I can't wait until next Thanksgiving for you to spend some time with us again! Thank you

Calistoga, California
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Nice room, or rooms as there was a sitting room as well as a bedroom! Comfy bed & a Lovely porch right outside the room & a 5 Star restaurant to boot! Lake just across the street & the ocean a few blocks away. Kathy & Chris were great hostesses & very attentive to the guests needs, I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jazzman107
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. It was certainly fun having you stay and I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again very soon! Thank you,

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 km away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
399 reviews
1.0 km away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
128 reviews
7.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
205 reviews
8.9 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
192 reviews
8.4 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range: RM399 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Livingston Manor, New York
7 months ago
Santiago, Chile
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I enjoyed overlooking the lake...front view.”
 of 5 bubbles ennis782, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance! Summer very crowded town”
 of 5 bubbles samgold200, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No elevators at this inn. They have rooms and suites on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles suedepumas69, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A front facing room would be nice as you may hear to sound of the surf from the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Fred255, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for staff recommendations”
 of 5 bubbles erinelizabeth777, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5