We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Otter's Bend Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Otter's Bend Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We were in Franschhoek for a birthday and didn't want to sleep into an expensive place. Otter's Bend was suggested to us by some local people. When we arrived there were no indication as to where to go we ended up in someone else's house. The room looked ok but was, however, dirty and falling apart slightly. The worst was...

Thank Simon V
norkse, Owner at Otter's Bend Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Our sincere apologies for the fact that you did not enjoy your time with us. I will definitely look at the signage and improve it, and we have already looked at any improvements we can do to the room. I was made aware of the noise in the morning and approached the people concerned, who then behaved the...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Otters bend is a lovely restful quiet place to unwind. We were there whilst it was quiet and all you hear are the odd cockrel crowing not to early I must add, thankfully and birds twittering in the trees. There is a lovely garden to pick herbs, spinach and pears to eat. Good value for money in Franschhoek.

Thank nanspans
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Wonderful location - you are on a farm, yet you are only just out of town - close enough to walk. We stayed in a beautiful little separate cottage & our hosts were friendly & helpful. All email queries were answered promptly. On arrival we were running late for our Wine Tram departure from the Main Street, but Mary kindly...

Thank muzzi h
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Otter bend lodge was wonderful. Quiet and relaxing yet close to all of the wineries. Very nice owners and very accommodating, they allowed us an early check in since our room was ready. Great community space with a nice big fireplace. Would definitely return

1Thank rachelross102
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed over for 1 night. Room was adequate. Bed was comfortable. View from the room was breathtaking and extremely tranquil. Would definitely stay here again if in Franschoek again. Accommodation needs a bit of a revamp mainly bathrooms. but other than that I would recommend. Establishment has lots of character.

1Thank 50Justine
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Otters Bend. The people were friendly, our room was clean and the location was just perfect enough in order to walk to town. Overall great value for money, I would recommend staying here.

1Thank katejB4676QH
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Perfect place to spend a few nights in Franschhoek. The owner was very sweet, the place was very peaceful and extremely affordable compared to other guest houses in the area. It was a 10 minute walk into town along a safe road but tuk tuks are available if you don't want to walk. The room had everything you needed and...

1Thank Emily C
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed in the 3 bedroom dorm for 3 nights. The lodge is located a short walk from the town centre. We, of course, did the wine tram while staying here and found it was a pleasant 10 minute walk to the ticket office. They have clean linen, spacious rooms and free parking. You can also do your washing here...

1Thank Monique4444
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

What a great central spot to stay . Close to all the wine farms , cosy , and affordable . The communal lounge / kitchen is a wonderful area esp when the rain came done ! It has a lovely rustic charm and a good family getaway . We will be back . . .

Thank Sandy D
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We had a great night! thank you to the friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and beautiful relaxed surroundings. I recommend to those looking for a quiet...home from home. We will be back soon...

Thank 549lianneg

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.7 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1.3 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.4 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
0.0 km away
#17 of 65 in Franschhoek
214 reviews
1.2 km away
Franschhoek Travellers' Lodge & Group Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Otter's Bend Lodge

Address: Dassenberg Rd, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM58 - RM178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Otter's Bend Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Otter's Bend Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick one of the rooms on the streams edge facing away from the communal area. Less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Gelybean, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No good rooms. Find another place”
 of 5 bubbles Mattyredvers, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Just don't :-(”
 of 5 bubbles Jangles_11, 20 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If you want a budget place to stay and rather spend your money on the good food and wine the region has to offer this is a very good option.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulChanguion, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Just choose an other backpackers”
 of 5 bubbles 824thierrys, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5