We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rickety Bridge Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rickety Bridge Country House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful accommodation in peaceful surroundings. Very helpful and friendly staff and a great base for visiting the local wineries. Amazing drive over the Franschoek pass with superb views of the valley. Very pretty town with good cafes and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Troutdale, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Incredibly comfortable room among some beautiful scenery and great wine! The staff were all so friendly and Martha made a fabulous breakfast every morning. It was quiet at night with just the whoot of the resident owl. We felt like royalty here! We will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing place to stay ! Staff are friendly and location is perfect ! I would highly recommend this place to stay ! It had everything you need on your doorstep and is code to town with magnificent views of the mountain !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonid288
West Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This place is the antidote to standard hotels. It's spacious and fairly luxurious, without being opulent. If you are over 5 foot 8 you will spend some time ducking or bashing your head: otherwise, it's a delight. We lost water one evening, but presume this was a one off glitch. And of course, the country house is part of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skittle999
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for the lovely review of Rickety Bridge. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back to visit and explore Franschhoek a little more. My kind regards Cassie Roche

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

This was the perfect stop for a rainy Sunday afternoon after doing a number of stops in the Francshoek wineries. The food was gorgeous, I wish I could have had everything on the menu. I had the sirloin steak and vegetables with a glass of Pinotage and is still the best meal I have had by far. I will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mpho3105
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good day. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed Paulina's restaurant and your recommendations to others is extremely welcome. Thank you form all of the staff at Tarpaulin's restaurant on Rickety Bridge winery. My kind regards Cassie Roche

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed at Rickety Bridge recently for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. The staff there are most welcoming and helpful. The room had everything we needed and the breakfast was good in the morning. The thatch has recently been replaced which triggered our hayfever but we were alerted to this on our arrival. The house has lovely views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna R
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was wonderful to welcome you here as part of your honeymoon. The comments about the tour group is most helpful and we have taken steps to alleviate this problem with a security guard showing people that the grass in front of the manor is out of bounds....

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We didn't get the room I reserved which was a bit disappointing as our room was right next to the car park with not much view. The bathroom needed a bit of a clean as it was q bit dusty in places and the shower drain was blocked so water gathered at your feet while you showered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U5520YQambers
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good Morning I am sorry to hear that you did not get the room you booked and that it was not completely satisfactory. If you could send me an email, I would like to look into this. As you can see from the other reviews we normally deliver a five star guest service and would like to have done thos...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Our stay was very brief but we were very happy with all the facilities and service given. This is wonderful cosy comfortable space with a high quality offering. We didn't have time to have breakfast disappointingly but we had a fantastic sleep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slee63
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good morning. Thank you for choosing Rickety Bridge Franschhoek for your stay, all be it so brief. I hope that you will have more time when you next visit us. Kind regards Cassie

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had a lovely weekend here, After 5.00pm the staff leave and it feels like you are in a home away from home. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great. All in all a very cosy, comfortable place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 374deanem
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good Morning. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Cassie

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We celebrated our anniversary over long weekend at Rickety Bridge. The staff were exceptionally friendly and it felt very personal and welcoming. The home cooked breakfast with the open kitchen we lovely as you could see the chef preparing your individual meal and it felt like a family. Rooms were lovely - perfect for a romantic stay. The maintenance guy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailygirl13
CassieJR, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review

Good morning WE are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Rickety Bridge Manor house. The staff are always ready to lend a hand, and Rayno the maintenance manager is always on hand. I do hope you visit again soon. Kind regards Cassie

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
0.0 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.0 km away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#28 of 65 in Franschhoek
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.0 km away
Holden Manz Country House
Holden Manz Country House
#6 of 65 in Franschhoek
353 reviews
0.0 km away
Basse Provence
Basse Provence
#34 of 65 in Franschhoek
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rickety Bridge Country House

Address: R45 | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM739 - RM1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickety Bridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rickety Bridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickety Bridge Country House Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rickety Bridge Country House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rickety Bridge Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only three rooms: two on first floor with views”
 of 5 bubbles skittle999, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The second floor room of the cottage was excellent and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 879jennas, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Manor House suite”
 of 5 bubbles holidaysforus504164, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“It has a ground floor ensuite for accessibility. All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles RAdjei, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The Upstairs rooms are sublime!”
 of 5 bubbles 724staceyr, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay