We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Basse Provence

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Basse Provence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for four nights in January. It's out of town and right beside Rickety Bridge vineyard. The accommodation is nice, parts need some attention in refurb, and electrics need a look at. On the whole it's nice and breakfast is good, it's in a remote location with nice views and a lovely team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandANixon
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from our honeymoon where we stayed at basse provance for one night 5th January in the Elizabeth suite. We were very disappointed as when we woke up there was no water for 3 hours. We found this out by going to the bathroom and then not having it flush for 3 hours. As you can imagine,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annamarjori
CassieJR, Owner at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good afternoon I am so sorry that you were here at such an unfortunate time. The Municipality of Franschhoek had a burst pipe in the town centre and the outlying areas were all without water. It is one of those awful acts of God that happens from time to time. We only found out when one of the guests told...

durban
Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely stay .. excellent food and room, pool was a welcoming cooling plus as it was an exceptionally hot period when we visited. Staff were helpful. Lovely, little, interesting and friendly town... we will be back!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra S
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for the lovely review of Basse, it is always so pleasant to hear from a gust that hs really enjoyed the time spent with us. I do hope you will visit again soon Regards Cassie

Birkenhead
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basse Provence is off the main road just before you head into Franschoek. It's a pleasant guest house with an average breakfast. When we arrived it took about half an hour for a member of staff to appear and show us in so they could do with a better system (bell?!) Our room was lovely with a good en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubybirkenhead
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, as well as your valuable feedback. This helps us to improve our guest experience. I wish you a happy ad healthy season ahead. Regards Cassie

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We stayed in the Elizabeth room that was really amazing, great comfortable bed, with a big and nice bathtub. It was just fabolous. The service was great and for our next visit to Franschhoek we will definitely stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalita84
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good afternoon. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us! I really look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of heaven. Compliments of the season Kind regards Cassie

Reviewed 3 November 2016

Just a 5 minute drive from the centre of Franschhoek Basse Provence is actually part of the Rickety Bridge winery which is just a short walk from your room. We stayed 2 nights and were the only guests so had the place to ourselves. The only problem we experienced was that when we arrived it took 15 minutes for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for taking your time to review our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and hope you will be able to return. Compliments of the season Cassie

Dullstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The setting is pretty and typically wine-farm. The rooms are well appointed and neat, but ours wasn't properly clean. There were stains on the blanket, which gave the impression of no proper supervision. The walls are paper thin, so we heard every word the couple next door uttered. The proximity to the main road also adds to the noise level....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for submitting your review of Basse Provence. My sincere apologies that the breakfast was not up to its usual standard. We do not do a buffet as the majority of our guests prefer the varied menu. Many of the euopeans like to have a choice of traditional cooked breakfasts. The continental selection has fresh fruits, double...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We had booked to stay one night as we were doing the tram wine route and didn't want to drive back to Cape Town. Unfortunately due to the wine route we could only get to the place after 6pm and although we had picked up keys early we all battled to find our rooms as no one had really shown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightymousemdsm
Sydney
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Loved this place from the moment I saw it. Staff were welcoming and the room was truly spacious and luxurious and the accessories high quality. The thatched roof made it special to us coming from a place where they are non-existent. Breakfast was good and wi-fi speed was pretty quick. The winery was also very nice to visit and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tholland55
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

What a wonderful review to read! Thank you from all of the staff at Basse Provence. I do hope you will be visiting us again in the near future My kind Regards Cassie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were a little disappointed with our welcome as we were shown to our room without much conversation or enthusiasm. The room was relatively nice but not exceptional, the same with breakfast and the communal areas

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
CassieJR, Manager at Basse Provence, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking your time to review our property I do apologize that your welcome was not up to our usual standard. We take all guest comments on board and will be making sure that your future welcome experience is a good one. I do hope to see you again at Basse Provence Kind regards Cassie

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.1 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
37 reviews
2.0 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#13 of 65 in Franschhoek
229 reviews
0.3 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 65 in Franschhoek
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
3.3 km away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#25 of 65 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
3.3 km away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM447 - RM1,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Basse Provence staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Basse Provence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Elizabeth in main house was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Rubybirkenhead, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't face the road if its a weekend night.”
 of 5 bubbles mightymousemdsm, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Manor house”
 of 5 bubbles ChantelleLR, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Jacob Suite was spacious with a bath in the room! Very Romantic!”
 of 5 bubbles Monica-Dart, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the main house, where all three rooms available are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles wellses, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay