We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Hermanus
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic, relaxed place to stay in Franschoek! We used the swimming pool&braai area during our stay. The Merlot cottage had everything we needed and the owners and their manager Marietha, went out of their way to make our 2 night stay out of this world. Will stay here again, loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AxlRoseHermanus
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A perfect spacious apartment in an small vineyard, with a great view on the surrounding mountains and a nice pool. Great place if you wanna go wine tasting in the area or enjoy some of the great restaurants in the area. It is just out of Fransschoek, but still walkable. You could also rent some bikes, as we did.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomplat2016
Hilton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a well run, well appointed, well situated and well....it's up to you to relax and enjoy the experience of staying at La Galiniere. Retha, who met us and 'introduced' us to our unit, is someone who is passionate about making her guests comfortable - thank you Retha. She achieves this by attending to every detail and by ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GavinBu
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights, very comfortable. Bedrooms light and airy,beds a good size and very comfortable. Everything you could need for a short stay. Would stay here again. Beware of dogs that protect the property as they roam around freely. They are fine but would be off putting to anyone who is wary of big dogs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal58
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Lovely cottage. All good. If anything I would suggest that the farming staff are a bit friendlier. It will certainly make one feel a lot more welcome. Plug points near mirrors and next to bed will be handy. Small suggestions.... I enjoyed my stay and loved the wine.very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendaa897
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We booked out the 2 cottages for 4 ladies, as we all wanted our own rooms. There was ample space and the rooms were clean and spacious. The bathrooms were also very clean. The kitchens were very well equipped with lots of crockery etc, not just 4 of each!. We were really well looked after by Reitha, and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Was very excited about my stay at La Galiniere but it was quite disappointing. This was also supposed to be a special couple of days away as it was my 21st. On the second day of our stay we had people doing maintenance next door which was loud as the other cottage was right next to ours. They then had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonepotgieter5
lagaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Simone, We were very disappointed to hear that your experience at La Galiniere had not met your expectations. Unfortunately, we had sprung a leak in a pipe in the wall of the neighboring cottage, which had to be fixed immediately. Our cottage manager came and explained the problem and apologized for the inconvenience. To provide an improved internet service...

Pretoria
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Loved the cottages - very clean and tidy. Fireplaces helped as it was mid winter. Rooms spacious with good quality carpets - linen good quality. Kitchens well equipped (knives bit blunt) but overall everything one needed. We love our braais outside (even in winter) and missed a under cover area but understand it's not always possible. The property was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniehB2935YG
Grabouw, South Africa
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Really nice to stay inbetween vineyards, a view change from our apple orchards. Cottages were clean and even milk in the fridge and a bottle of wine for hubby. Wood was supplied, which is normally the down side at most self catering units...to get into the car to get fire wood (ps and nice dry wood). Very cozy for couples...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harmony_SkinClinic
Kuantan, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were 4 adults staying in the Merlot cottage. Great place with fully equipped kitchen and the fire place was the star of the weekend. Great pool with braai facilities although we didnt use it because it was winter. Would be a great asset in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 98wilmaa

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.2 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.0 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
552 reviews
0.0 km away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#17 of 65 in Franschhoek
214 reviews
0.5 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#14 of 65 in Franschhoek
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM310 - RM390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Galiniere Guest Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Galiniere Guest Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms overlook the vineyards”
 of 5 bubbles Harmony_SkinClinic, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Merlot is the best. Bigger than other properties”
 of 5 bubbles archee01, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All 3 cottages are just one storey, facing the garden. All 3 feel secuded when you are inside or enjoying the patio.”
 of 5 bubbles PamMM_13, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Ask for the Cabernet cottage”
 of 5 bubbles 666sarahj, 26 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Expedia booking - really easy.”
 of 5 bubbles evlk, 16 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay