We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Klein Oliphant s a delightful family run boutique hotel situated close to the main high street in Franschoek one of Western Capes many beautiful towns. The hotel offers excellent facilities and the staff could not be more helpful and welcoming .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jasonsV7633SS
dc
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Great location, lovely garden, well decorated rooms. We stayed on the top floor, a very spacious room w/ very big comfortable bed, updated bathroom with 2 sinks, walk outside to our own private lounge area with nice view of the mountains and with its own private jacuzzi outside. We love the sweet dessert wine they left for us each day....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smn_dc
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 November 2015

A fantastic small hotel (was mission) which has been very well converted. Excellent service from Renata, Jacqueline and her team. Just a great place to stay in Franshhoek. The hotel has a beautiful garden, just perfect place to sit in with a glass of wine as the sun is setting! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trevorw907
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

Thank you Trevor for such a lovely review, we look forward to having you here with us again soon. Warm Regards Jacqueline

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I stayed in the Elephant suite -extremely well-appointed and luxurious, spacious, quiet and peaceful. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A lovely adjoining lounge with a fireplace -for the winter- and a private pool attached to the suite, as well as the main pool for the summer.I look forward to returning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard G
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

Hi Richard, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do look forward to your return visit. Until Then, Warm regards, Jacqueline

Rickmansworth
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

What a truly beautiful and exquisitely furnished and decorated place to stay - the former Mission House is welcoming and homely whilst being luxurious and well-equipped. We loved the extra touches such as decanted port in the bedroom! In contrast to some previous reviews, we found the staff extremely pleasant and attentive; striking exactly the right note between being helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mintybear
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

It was lovely to have you here with us at the residence, we look forward to a return visit, Until then, Warm regards Jacqueline

Noordhoek, South Africa
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We decided on a weekend getaway from Noordhoek in the South Peninsula and were very pleased to find Klein Oliphants Hoek in Franschhoek. On appearance from the outside looked ordinary but coming through the entrance straight into a large loundge area with massive fireplace and personal greeting and assistance was wonderfull. The room we chose was with the hot tub...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank davidrD4479VR
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for the lovely review here,much appreciated indeed. We do have bottled water available, on request, we keep our stock in the pantry fridges, both sparkling and still watee from Cape Aqua. We hope to see you both for a return visit in the future. Warm regards, Jacqueline

Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Old mission station which was converted into very upmarket rooms. Swimming pool, lovely big lounge and even a cigar lounge. Beautiful lavender garden in the back where you can relax on the stoep and enjoy a cocktail.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NNSB
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

We do hope to see you here again in the future, thank you for the lovely compliments on the residence. Warm Regards, Jacqueline

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We were really disappointed. My parents had spent an anniversary 10 years prior and had a wonderful time. The place has really deteriorated since then. We stayed in the hidden missionary and had what sounded like a generator in our room all night (the pump from the Jacuzzi above us). We were moved to another room after midnight by the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nicolestrongct
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, We are truly most apologetic for the experience you had here with us in The Hidden Missionary Room. It is most unfortunate the sound of the Jacuzzi kept you awake.This is most probably due to the guests in that room having the Jacuzzi running all night long. Again I express our sincere apologies that your sleep was interrupted....

Capetown
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This is the place to be. Excellent service .The view from the loft is unbelievable. We read about Rubens new restaurant in the newspaper and went to have a look. Wow fantastic!!!!The food was fantastic the service fantastic .We will definitely go back. Ruben you rock!!!!! We had a problem with the Jacuzzi, didn’t reached temperature high enough for us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bobby G
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 July 2015

My complaint is not with the staff at this hotel - they were all friendly and helpful to us during our stay on 25/26 July. The Jacuzzi in our room wasn't working and we were informed we could stay in that room and get a discount, or move to another room. We decided to stay in that room. Sunday morning...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank kruric
Oliphantshoek, Manager at Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek, responded to this review

These clients seem intent on slandering my name on social media. I did not snap that the power was off I merely stated it was and that I cannot access our system. I did the booking myself initially so I was aware they owed the balance. It is actually a fact that I am the manager that offered the discount...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
49 reviews
10.2 km away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
352 reviews
7.0 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#26 of 63 in Franschhoek
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
561 reviews
0.4 km away
Mont d'Or Franschhoek
Mont d'Or Franschhoek
#40 of 63 in Franschhoek
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet position in the heart of the historic winelands village of Franschhoek, South Africa, Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek is the perfect place to relax after a day of wine-tasting, haute cuisine, mountain hiking or browsing antique shops and art galleries. At Klein Oliphants Hoek, history and a sophisticated modern life-style go hand in hand: the guesthouse is a renovated mission post & school,Built in 1888 and much of the antique and old-time chic has been kept. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek

Address: 14 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM353 - RM964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek Hotel Franschhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some ground floor rooms have their own private patio and pool.”
  • Private patio and pool off bedroom
crosby_family, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check out each room as they all have different charms”
750MikeW, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just choose the school room...it is delightful”
oldharryDorset, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Couples should go for the elephant suite!”
, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Jacuzzi suite has private terrace with splendid views of the surrounding mountains!”
not_wayworn_wanderer, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Agoda.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Cancelon
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates