We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gable Manor Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gable Manor Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gable Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A Beautiful Cape dutch style B&B is Well situated on a quiet road with secure free parking, all the staff are pleasant & helpful. The rooms are massive with a honesty bar downstairs in lounge. Free to use the computer & free WiFi. We definitely staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rupert V
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here with my family for two nights and would thoroughly recommend to everyone. Our rooms were large, airy and spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Sprigs of lavender decorated the room, which was a nice extra touch. We were made to feel very welcome by Don and the rest of the staff, who were happy to take the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRL187514
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here with friends in August 12 and was keen to return when I travelled to S Africa with my sister and elderly mother in April 13. Samantha, Don, Thelma and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We were welcomed warmly and treated very well indeed. The rooms are spacious and spotless - the little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at Gable Manor for 3 days whilst in town for a wedding, and it was perfect. Well situated on a quiet street. Lovely amenities, and a massive room! Breakfast is definitely worth writing home about, great eggs. I'd definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarrisB
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A very nice B&B with free parking, free wi-fee in a very nice little town with very nice people and super nice restaurants. A lot of wine yards located very near this town. Next time you go to this town, order a room at Gable manor Guest House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hultgren
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gable Manor for 3 nights at the start of a 15 night holiday in the Western Cape and were very happy with our choice. It is in a lovely quiet residential area of Franschhoek,yet within walking distance of the main street and the restaurants. We had a lovely room with a good bathroom. Breakfast was also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John5672
UK
Reviewed 26 March 2013

After 7 consecutive visits you'd think we would be getting bored - not so! Over these years my wife and I have seen Franshhoek gradually change and grow, but Gable Manor keeps up its same high standards and customer comfort. Consistancy, reliability and service are important to us, yet each year, each visit, we scource something new - something we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tourer14
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review and for your booking in March 2014. We look forward to seeing you both again. Kind regards, Don.

Petersburg, AK
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have to say we were utterly disappointed in our stay at Gable Manor. It was by far the most expensive place we stayed on our month long trip to Africa (except safari) and felt like we were staying in a miniature attic with a little tiny window. To get to the room you walk through the house, which would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlaskaGirlSE
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

I would like to respond on 5 points of fact. 1) This is not a miniature room – it’s 30.7 m2 with a 6.5 m2 bathroom. (330 sq ft and 70 sq ft) 2) The window is 1.13m wide by 1.24 m high – not tiny. (3’ 8” by 4’ 1”) There is also a 0.63 x 1.16 m roof...

Essex
Reviewed 2 March 2013

By all measures this boarding house was perfect. The owners have clearly gone to great lengths to make it so. We had a charming first floor room with fabulous views access to the gardens and pool. The room was immaculate. Just a little thing was not meeting the owners which by South African standards was a surprise. Oh yes breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarolineUK
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry we missed you - we were a bit tied up with specialist and hospital in Cape Town while you were here. Hopefully we'll meet you next time. Don

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Gable Manor is a lovely house in a residential street within walking distance of the main street. Very nice accommodation, lots of residents' space in the house including a lounge, pool house and breakfast room by the pool. Good effective aircon in the room was welcome as it was 36degC outside. Nice swimming pool. Very helpful and friendly staff make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 15_hilltops

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.7 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
630 reviews
0.6 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
459 reviews
6.3 km away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
547 reviews
1.7 km away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
413 reviews
0.1 km away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#12 of 63 in Franschhoek
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: RM592 - RM896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gable Manor Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful large bathroom with gorgeous towels and shower products. In room tea/coffe with large selection of teas etc.”
kiwigirli, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house, room 5 and the grand suite share the upstairs balcony and were ideal for us and our son.”
SandbachBlondie, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All of the bedrooms are attractive. Ours was room 5 on the first floor .”
Hunter48, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Although we had a really lovely garden room, the rooms on the top floor with terraces would be the ones to request.”
MandyR508, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view, thus not on the ground floor!”
David_brackley, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5