We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Riverside Estates

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Riverside Estates
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Warm and friendly service from the minute you arrive. Nothing is too much for the staff. Fabulous gardens to walk around and relax in and very beautiful rooms. The accommodation is very tastefully done and to a very high standard. Freshly cooked breakfast made to order and a beautiful buffet too. Our special thanks go to Wesley he has really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 176melanied
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a beautiful place. Great decor, clean rooms and a gorgeous location. It's a pity nobody at the establishment seems to know how to manage it or deal with people. Poor communication and lot's of confusion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2016

You arrive and are braced with this gorgeous Victorian entrance, stunning gardens, greenery and flowers! We parked our rental and we know we had found paradise! The gardens and tranquility, the service and comforts where incredible! I Have to say this place made our Cape Town Stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Smith101
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Brad, Many thanks for the review. It was great to meet you and share with you the story of Hout Bay. I hope you could get around to all the things mentioned on the list when travelling through the Garden Route. Just a reminder as well to extend your stay next time when in Cape Town in order to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The venue is beautiful, my room was spacious and very comfortable. However, the service was very poor and my breakfast experience was terrible. The scrambled eggs were cold and had developed some kind of crusty layer on top. The pork sausages were cold. I ended up not eating anything at all. I would like to recommend two things. Give people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dieterw170
Nathan W, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Good day Dieterw170, Thank you for your extended feedback & also for choosing Riverside Estates as your first review (pity it is on a rather negative note) However, I would thank you for the positive compliment with regards to our newly re-furbished rooms as comfort was one of our main goals we hoped to achieve with this. I went back...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Excellent in everything, room, location, service, staff, You will find that all Cape town know Robert the Owner because of his beautiful smile and positive energy you get from him, I promised that I will come back with my family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahmed_cdm_2010
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed, Many thanks for your beautiful words. We are looking forward when you will be visiting with the family. Please know that when you contact us that you will receive a loyalty discounted rate. Best regards, Robert, Nathan & Riverside team.

Reviewed 19 September 2016

Amazing place for family, couples, weddings or retreats. The best service ever received. The food is amazing and wine is always available. The hospitality of the staff and the loving dogs made this place a unique experience in Cape Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Monica, Many thanks for the review and the educational about tequila. We will from now on definitely sip this and appreciate. Your vibrant personality really sparked our staff to new heights! We will soon see you four wedding day! Love from all of us. The Riverside Staff.

Cape Town
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Thank you very much for making my wife's special, very special. It was a evening away for her birthday, and our anniversary. We enjoyed it thoroughly, and we will definitely recommend Riverside Estates to our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveBillington
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Mr Billington, I am so glad that we could host you in one of our newly renovated rooms - and unbeknownst to us, was that she supplied the curtain rods! I could see how pleased she was and thank you for taking time to write this note us. We are looking forward to your birthday at Riverside. Rob &...

xxx
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed with a large group for a conference and everyone was amazed by the hospitatlity, great service and the phantastic food. The staff always tried to accomodate all wishes and treated us to Braai, wine at the fireplace, scenic rides along the coast etc. And of course everybody was in love with the 6 (!) most friendly and cuddly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msmaki3
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Maki, It was a pleasure to have the global warming leaders at Riverside. We've made new friends and will certainly never forget all these special moments and new friendships made. We look forward to your next visit to Riverside and this time hopefully you will be able to see more of our beautiful Mother city. Global warm greetings from...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Was very nice and lovely staff. The hotel has lovely grounds and they were busy renovating. They really went out of their way to help and apologized for any inconvience during renovations. Very good breakfasts. Nice enviroment .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmV2222MN
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Mayer Fam, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our Phase 1 of renovations are now finished and the cottage where you stayed are being refurbished currently and by next year when you visit I have already booked you into Tree House. The dogs still look for your kids around the cottage! As discussed you need...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Once a month my partner and I look for something quiet where we can sleep as well the next morning.Brilliant setting and so peaceful with the unfortunate Guinea Fowl going berserk outside our window for an hour at 7 the next morning so sleeping late was not an option lol. Unfortunately we did not have a drop of hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M895LYtonyc
Robert V, General Manager at Riverside Estates, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for your review. We spoke to the Guinea Fowl and she promised to not misbehave again. I am also glad that we could at least offer you the cottage next door to shower and for the rest of your stay that you had hot water. Wesley is indeed a blessing to us and is by far...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
19.9 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
1.6 km away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#9 of 61 in Hout Bay
115 reviews
0.5 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
487 reviews
3.0 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 61 in Hout Bay
131 reviews
0.8 km away
Pure Guest House
Pure Guest House
#2 of 61 in Hout Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverside Estates, an elegant guesthouse, function and conference venue, an established haven of tranquillity, friendship, music and joy. We are located in Cape Town's jewel, the beautiful valley of Hout Bay. Our core values include eco-sustainability, the greening of our establishment, the upliftment of our staff and the empowerment of our Hout Bay Community. We invite you to this place of enlightenment, of romance, of guests who become friends. Experience the magic of Riverside Estates today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Estates

Address: Cnr of Valley & Welbevind Road | Opposite World of Birds, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: RM510 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Estates staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sun rise facing room is the best i think”
 of 5 bubbles Brad_Smith101, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the bungalows outside the main building can get quite chilly.”
 of 5 bubbles msmaki3, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They all looked good and in very different positions.”
 of 5 bubbles TedH6, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The room upstairs :-)”
 of 5 bubbles andrev860, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The self catering cottages are very well equipped and affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahEmilySA, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay