We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (17)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good17%
  • Average6%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“other guests”(7 reviews)
“guest house”(9 reviews)
“cape town”(33 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
65
12
7
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
65
12
7
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsguest housecape townspotless roomscannot speak highly enoughhome from homefishing villageamazing accommodationamazing viewsattentive hostsyogurtlocation is idealsmall poolperfect hostschapmans peak drivebryanstanley
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Stumbled on this gem of a guest house whilst visiting Capetown. Bryan and Drew were the most welcoming of hosts, always greeting us at breakfast with a cheery smile. The rooms are clean and well furnished, the gardens are immaculate and above all the views...More

Thank Benboy2505
Reviewed 8 February 2018

From the booking site we got it that all rooms had A/C and somewhat of a view.! Got a small room with smell of damp when door was opened .No A/C and the fan in bathroom did not work ,so no way to get in...More

Thank Karl_Berg
Response from Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay ViewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Mr Berg Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay with us at Hout bay View. We are sorry that you did not read through your booking site properly so you were aware of which amenities each room...More

Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

This guesthouse is superb, clean, well appointed and well positioned. Breakfast is served freshly every day, with a continental choice or a hot breakfast(eggs/bacon etc) cooked freshly for you. Beds and bedding are excellent and very comfortable. The house is well situated in Hout Bay...More

Thank Mark W
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Having spent the past week at this lovely guest house I can only recommend it 100%. Everything from the spotless rooms to the more than adequate breakfast choice was spot on. Andrew and Brian are just the perfect hosts and were very informative with the...More

Thank BobandAvril
Response from Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay ViewResponded 28 January 2018

Hello Bob and Avril. Thank you so very much for your kind and thoughtful review. This kind of review is advertising we simply cannot buy and will give future guests a good flavor of the hospitality we offer when they are welcomed to Hout Bay...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

I am a solo traveller and needed a home from home that afforded me comfort, security, views, great location and affordability. Andrew and Brian are great hosts. Funny, friendly and their home next door is beautiful. Stanley was on hand to serve a fabulous breakfast...More

Thank goldengirluk09
Response from Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay ViewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at Hout Bay View recently. We are very humbled by your review. It is the hope that all the hard work behind the scenes make for a comfortable stay for our...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
111Cags
4 May 2016|
Answer
Response from canary_wolf | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Hout bay is certainly a fishing harbour but there was no fish smell. We certainly recommend Hout Bay for your holiday base.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I had the room with the view of Chapmans peak."
Read review
"Lots of steps from the entrance but helped with luggage"
Read review
"Garden view room at the front of the building with French doors out to garden and views across the mountains..."
Read review
"I would choose the suite No. 8 with air condition. the other rooms have a fan."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing