We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hout Bay View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hout Bay View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Misrepresented online - no pictures of the room we were given. Sub-standard room even though it was called a 'Standard' room. Hardly enough room to walk around the bed. Cheap melamine cupboard that could barely fit one persons clothes in for a couple of days. Clothes cupboard contains a bar fridge as well as coffee/tea tray so even less space!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 217murray
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guest. All reviews, both positive and on occasion negative help us to ensure we continue to offer good value, service and welcoming hospitality. We feel the website offers a good flavor of the atmosphere and property guests can expect when they travel to Hout Bay View. The virtual tour button offers unrestricted views of all aspects of Hout Bay...

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for a few days. Upon arrival you are warmly greeted and immediately made to feel relaxed and welcomed. The weather was hot and the added advantage of a pool to cool off at the end of the day is a bonus. The owners go above and beyond sharing their knowledge of Capetown. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mon2345
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you so very much for your kindest of reviews. it is our greatest wish being a small 3 star guest house that those guests who stay with us are comfortable and relaxed. We are humbled that you found the amenities we offer too your liking and that the welcome you received will convince others to come...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

From the moment I welcomed at the door, I knew my stay at Hout Bay View was going to be great. Its only a 3 star rated guest house but it deserves more. The weather was really hot and I had been very grateful of the fan in my room, which worked perfectly with the sliding door, instead of closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlyLONDON2016
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Carly, Thank you so much for your kind and informative review. We are glad you found the breakfast time a good way to make friends and enjoy the recommendations we made for you in Hout Bay. We do notice that some guests are more demanding than others but strive to help all who stay with us. Your sincere and...

Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over Dec/Early Jan booked a good few months before! This holiday was part of my recovery after heart surgery! I emailed Andrew a few weeks before we arrived to ask about our room as I had seen on Trip Advisor people complaining about no view from room, no windows, no air con , etc. Well I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Stacy, Thank you for your review of your stay here at Hout Bay View earlier this year. We enjoyed corresponding with you before your arrival and were reassured when you stated that a standard double room would suit your needs perfectly. In fact at check in you complimented us at the guesthouse on the rooms and its surroundings. We...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Come guys - you are great hosts but that doesn't always cut it. Room was tiny and hot hot hot - no aircon with the teeny tiniest fan in 36 deg heat. We had to go and buy a bigger one to get any sleep. Salt in the wounds was the breakfast. Tea, juice, croissant, watermelon, yoghurt is not a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank le0n72
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for coming to stay at Hout Bay View. Your stay with us coincided with some very hot weather and we all struggled to keep cool. As judged by the South African tourist Board all our rooms have been accredited with 3 stars which mean that they conform to all the standards required to be awarded...

Norfolk
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Hout Bay View was a very comfortable stay to end our holiday in South Africa. Brian and Andrew were very pleasant hosts, full of humour and only too willing to help wherever possible, including printing our boarding cards for us as we wished to check-in our flight online. On the slightly negative side the room we stayed in was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canary_wolf
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. It is always gratifying to receive such a thorough and generous review. We are humbled that all of our joint efforts came together to offer you a restful and relaxed stay at Hout Bay View. All those named in your review have seen the feedback offered and are delighted that you both enjoyed all the facilities and...

Reviewed 3 November 2015

We stayed at Hout Bay View for two weeks in September this year. It was a really special trip for me and my wife - a year’s worth of savings, our first visit to South Africa and our honeymoon! We chose Hout Bay View because we thought it would be the perfect base for our holiday and in the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear valued guest We are humbled to receive such a positive and kind review of our guest house. It is doubly pleasing that we were able to play a small part in your very special honeymoon. Hout Bay view lends itself to a calm and restful atmosphere were views are plentiful from all aspects of the guesthouse. I have passed...

Robertson, South Africa
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Advertised as the "View with a room" yet no one tells you that there is no view from the room or any windows or aircon or even space for that matter. Paid for B&B and the brealfast was very dissapointing offering only egg bacon and mushroom..... not even a slice of tomatoe. No where to put the kettle for coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of your stay with your friends at Hout Bay View. The group you stayed with have left similar comments which I have addressed.

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2015

No widows or air conditioners in the rooms, No soap dish in the shower. No off street parking. Had to request the washing of cutlery at breakfast. If you have a disability then this place is not recommended due to the numerous steps to reach the rooms. Will definitely not stay here again or recommend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoMar_Bob
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. You stayed with 4 of your friends who have since reviewed the guest house too. You all arrived very late after the reception had closed even though we asked several times for you to offer an arrival time. I'm sorry we could not manage your expectations to garage your motor bikes as we...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2015

My room was a standard room because, as I was told, it had a queen size bed. The fact that the bed only just fit in the room was irrespective, the bed size determined the quality. The room had no table for a kettle, so this was situated on the window sill where coffee was to be made. The cupboard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gponting
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello Mr Ponting Thank you very much for your review of your brief stay here at Hout Bay View. I have read your comments with interest. The room allocated to you was a lovely standard double with a beautiful view overlooking the mountains and ocean. Well appointed with wardrobes and side tables. We are sorry you found it difficult to...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.7 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#10 of 58 in Hout Bay
170 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa Hout Bay Heights
Villa Hout Bay Heights
#26 of 58 in Hout Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#5 of 23 in Hout Bay
56 reviews
0.9 km away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#28 of 58 in Hout Bay
71 reviews
2.7 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#13 of 58 in Hout Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: RM357 - RM638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hout Bay View staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hout Bay View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would choose the suite No. 8 with air condition. the other rooms have a fan.”
966heidis, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a large room with windows and a view.”
217murray, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 8, amazing views...”
CarlyLONDON2016, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The room adjoining the Reception Area.”
71dianeh, 6 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable so feel free to choose any one. All the rooms are different sizes too.”
  • View of the harbour from the terrace.
  • View of the beach from the terrace.
348andres, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5