We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hout Bay View

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hout Bay View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hout Bay View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Easton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Maybe I was lucky, but my recent and first experience ever in ZA was absolutely a good one. Recommended by a friend from Amsterdam, NL, I spent a week at Hout Bay View, a very comfortable B&B with breathtaking views over the Bay and surrounding mountains. A perfect place in proximity of beaches and town, restaurants and bars. A perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georg P
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello George. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Hout Bay View. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the winter months. Your comments will hopefully reassure guests that Hout Bay has much to offer in the winter as well as the more popular summer months. Thank you again for... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from my third stay at Hout Bay View. It was just perfect. The rooms are looked after by friendly staff and are always immaculate. The owners are always available to help with information and advice. I want for nothing while I stay at Hout Bay View. I am able to use my I pad as they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sjanetstorey
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Janet Thank you so much for your glowing review. It always provides a lift to get such a lovely review. We very much look forward to seeing you this tiome next year. Thank you again. Andrew More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Not a place to be recommended, the owner was very cold to us on arrival, gave us a room more expensive that the one we booked, DSTV and Wi Fi were not working, and the hot water in the shower came after 10min of running, No view from the room, only from the garden.

Helpful?
2 Thank charlesLef
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Charlse Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are naturally dissapointed that you and your female companion found the Accomodation unsuitable for your needs . When you booked you asked for a ocean view and the price was quoted to you. Accordingly you were booked into the garden suite which has 180 degree vista... More 

zuerich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went there with family.Location and views are nice. The rooms are very small and there is no privacy.Bed is very hard and we didn't get a thiner cover. The owner just forgett it. As the breakfast was every day the same, no choice (toast and eggs), i've kindly asked for french toast and again the owner was not keen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emma w
Andrew E, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We have duly noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to respond. Having accreditation now for some years by the south African Tourist board of 3 stars we are sorry you felt that the accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We believe we offer a varied and tasty breakfast for... More 

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great spot, great views from breakfast area, rooms clean and small number of rooms is perfect if you want a quiet stay. Breakfasts excellent and all staff were very attentive! Hot tub with a view over bay was a welcome surprise! Would definitely recommend a stay here!

Helpful?
Thank LJC3006
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guests It is very satisfying to know that all our hard work behind the scenes creates the right atmosphere for you to enjoy your stay with us. Your comment are very welcomed and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Hout Bay View. Thank you again for your kindness. Regards Bryan More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This will be my second visit to Hout Bay View, the first was a number of years ago. What a great job they have done with renovations. So wonderfully calm and the views are simply magnificent. The rooms are very comfortable and the attention to detail makes the stay very welcoming. All the staff are polite and cannot do enough... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Unabalauna
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for your very kind comments. It is simply a pleasure to have you stay not once but twice!. Your review is generous in its praise and we thank you for that as we continue to work hard to maintain a consistently high service for our present and future guests. Please dont forget if we may... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Excellent B&B with eight rooms and modern decor. Attentive owners and staff. We used the great room, the outdoor patio with a stunning view of the mountains and bay, the pool, and the hot tub, all excellent, and stayed two weeks in February, 2013. Thanks, Bryan and Drew.

Helpful?
1 Thank N4Matrix
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear Guests How grateful we are that you have taken the time to review Hout bay View. Spending over two weeks with us gives you a great feel for the atmosphere we try hard to maintain at the guest house. We are glad you felt comfortable with all amenities including the guest lounge and free wifi. Please don't forget that... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great little B&B idealy situated overlooking the stunning Hout Bay. The views really are superb! The friendly owners arranged our tranfers and car hire although we also found it very straight forward to get to the centre of Cape Town using public transport. The Blue Route Tour Bus even picks up and drops off at Hout Bay Marina. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank imm58
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello Izzy Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hout Bay View. It is advertising that we simply cannot buy and offers a real insight for prospective guests. Your kind comments are very pleasing as we work hard at the small details so the overall experience is enjoyable. I will let all the staff know how pleased... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Having a chance of a return visit to cape town I stayed again in Hout Bay View. Great service again and I also got 10% off my bill as a return guest. Summer is great in South Africa and I was blessed with clear skies and high temps . still bowled over by the view and the very friendly relaxed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sorrento1Oxford
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you so much for your kind review. It helps other prospective guests to get a feel for the accommodation and this will certainly help promote the atmosphere we work so hard to create. Thank you again Best regards More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a rejuvenating experience. Treated like Royalty in this enchanted, drenched in calm establishment. With magic in every corner of this beautiful home. The rooms are fully equipped with fridge and TV. There is a complimentary tray with tea and coffee in your room. spacious shower with wrap around me forever towels. The linnen to die for. The views are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
Droobs, Owner at Hout Bay View, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. We are humbled to recieve such a warm review and very happy that you enjoyed the facilities for your getaway weekend. we work hard to maintain all our facilities so all guests can enjoy the calm and peaceful atmosphere here at Hout Bay View. We would certainly welcome you back should you need a break from the... More 

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
0.9 km away
Seacliffe Lodge
Seacliffe Lodge
#22 of 61 in Hout Bay
66 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach House Guest House
Beach House Guest House
#9 of 61 in Hout Bay
130 reviews
3.1 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Somersby Guest House
Somersby Guest House
#20 of 61 in Hout Bay
14 reviews
2.7 km away
Riverside Estates
Riverside Estates
#12 of 61 in Hout Bay
232 reviews
1.7 km away
Flora Bay Resort
Flora Bay Resort
#3 of 22 in Hout Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sensationally positioned with many enviable and panoramic views of the Table Mountain range and the ocean, with unsurpassed vistas of the famous Chapmans Peak. Recently renovated to provide you with the latest amenities and comforts. We invite you to join us and experience generous hospitality and service levels that exceed expectations. All bedrooms are well appointed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy and savour our homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hout Bay View

Address: 19 Pondicherry Avenue, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: RM333 - RM485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hout Bay View 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hout Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hout Bay View staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hout Bay View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a large room with windows and a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 217murray, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 8, amazing views...”
 of 5 bubbles CarlyLONDON2016, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The room adjoining the Reception Area.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianeh, 6 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable so feel free to choose any one. All the rooms are different sizes too.”
  • View of the harbour from the terrace.
  • View of the beach from the terrace.
 of 5 bubbles 348andres, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Children welcome, too!”
 of 5 bubbles JoHannaHoo, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay