We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amblewood Guest House

43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Visions Gallery
    0.9 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Another return visit
Great place to stay with fantastic views. This was the 6th stay... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay with fantastic views. This was the 6th stay with Trevor and June. Very quiet area - nice and relaxing. All rooms are lovely. A great breakfast served outside if the weather is nice. Lovely to meet Max - the friendly 4 legged friend. See you next year .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleygirl
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

It was lovely seeing you both again and thank you for the super review! We're looking forward to seeing you again soon! Max says hi.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's like stepping back in time when you go to Amblewood. Trevor & June do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you have an upstairs room, like we did, you get magnificent views of Hout Bay. There is an extensive library of books & four sunbeds to relax on during the day. Breakfast prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmac2
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review! We do try to make Amblewood a place where people can relax and unwind and we're so glad that you made use of all the facilities and went home refreshed and rejuvenated! Until next time ...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth and felt relaxed. The view is stunning and Trevor and June could not have been nicer or friendlier. The rooms were very pretty and well appointed next to the pool and gorgeous view of the Hout Bay beach and harbour. The room was very clean with nice touches including fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeighOdendaal
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for your lovely and encouraging comments and delightful description of Amblewood! We're so glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is amazing.. I loved every second of my stay... We had an amazing experience, breakfast is great, the place and the view is beautiful.. The place is super friendly and in an excellent location.. With all honesty, I couldn't find one thing to say other than this place will make your stay happy and wonderful.. It's authentic, classy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal0813
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you, thank you for your wonderful review. More of the same and our heads will burst with pride! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again very soon. We love having happy, enthusiastic guests with a zest for life!

New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Trevor and June run a wonderful operation in the hills of Hout Bay. My suite was extremely comfortable; the pool and deck were lovely; breakfasts were perfect; and Trevor was very helpful and focused on ensuring that I had a wonderful time in Cape Town. This is a great place if you're independent and looking to avoid the bustle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cadmanstruggle
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

So glad you had a great time in SA and that you enjoyed your time with us! We do aim to please!! Thank you for your wonderful review and for mentioning what we believe is the best part about Amblewood - the peace and serenity!

Pretoria
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Beautiful view, well-maintained comfortable rooms, super towells and gourmet breakfast. But the stars belong to Trevor and June although Max is certainly the CEO. This couple are really the best hosts we've come across. Thanks a million! Willie & Laetitia from Pretoria

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia B
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. So encouraging!! We shouldn't have favourites but if we could - you two would be our favourite guests so far this season! Wishing you both a blessed Christmas.

Valkenswaard
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had the best room in the house and were pleasantly surprised. The room was big and had a separate living room as well as a big bathroom . Good aircon and wifi ,which had the best connection in the bathroom . Trevor and June are very very loveable people . Very good breakfast with different cheeses . I accidently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans9856
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

We're so glad we could assist in every way to make your stay with us pleasant and memorable! We know what it's like to have a phone with no charger, so we wanted to get yours back ASAP!! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

California
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Amblewood is welcoming, gorgeous, and pristine! This was my first stay at a guest house (and in South Africa) and it couldn't have been better! I prefer it to resorts I've stayed at here in California and wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere if ever I need a place to stay when I return. I felt very happy and at home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethsboutiques
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope you will return soon! May you have a blessed year ahead!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We have become reliant on Trip Advisor for reviews and this was no exception so, when we were looking for a quiet place with great views to stay for the last 4 nights of a hectic 2 week holiday in the area, we found this Guest House and booked in. All I can say is believe the reviews. A really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UsualSuspects61
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I also enjoyed our chats and your company and I'm so glad your last four days were memorable. Look forward to seeing you again!

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It was lovely to end our three week trip to South Africa with such great views of Hout Bay. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful in every way, great taxi service! Our room was comfortable although a bit old fashioned and the bathroom needs a makeover. It was nice to have a private balcony to enjoy the view. Excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
Trevor K, Owner at Amblewood Guest House, responded to this review

Old fashioned - definitely! All the pieces in that room are genuine antiques which means they are over 100 years old - hence the name Victorian Room! The brass bed itself was made in 1880! However, we're thrilled you enjoyed our magnificent views and the peace and tranquillity which is Amblewood.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hout Bay hotels
17.5 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.3 km away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 61 in Hout Bay
506 reviews
3.2 km away
Intaba Lodge
Intaba Lodge
#8 of 61 in Hout Bay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cap Serein Guest House
Cap Serein Guest House
#14 of 61 in Hout Bay
62 reviews
3.2 km away
Tarragona Lodge
Tarragona Lodge
#12 of 61 in Hout Bay
115 reviews
3.1 km away
Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
#4 of 61 in Hout Bay
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Amblewood Guest House

Address: 43 Skaife Street, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Hout Bay
Price Range: RM414 - RM832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amblewood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amblewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amblewood Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amblewood Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs a bit more spacious and even better views!”
  • View with your breakfast!
 of 5 bubbles LeighOdendaal, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Loft Suite is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles cadmanstruggle, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 165laetitiab, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are equally good”
  • View of Hout Bay from Amblewood
 of 5 bubbles 275PaulD, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms have private balconies so sitting out is more private. All have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbY9528BU, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5