We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

TripAdvisorUS$101*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$152*
US$101*
US$152*
US$141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Durban
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Hotel conveniently located. Room well resourced with small personal welcomely touches. Breakfast buffet really good and we were very well looked after despite a large group present. The front desk most welcoming and good with directions and admin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpharrys
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to receive such encouraging comments on how great your stay was. From your warm welcome to a relaxing sleep and splendid food. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff, so they know their hard work paid off. We always strive to meet all our guests expectations, attend to every little...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 days and 1 night at the hotel while attending the NAPTOSA CONFERENCE. I found ALL staff members to be very accomplished and accommodating, very friendly and efficient throughout our stay. The accommodation was also immaculate and I will visit them again Galeema

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galeema
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Galeema I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your conference and stay with us, here at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you mentioning some of our best qualities we are very proud of, such as our friendly and efficient staff, as well as our clean rooms. We look forward to welcome you back in...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Thank you for the special and warm welcome to the Executive Club again. Thank you for the beautiful, updated room with the nice chocolates and sparkling wine. We are honoured and happy to be members again and happy to have spent the evening here. The service was exceptional, the food amazing and everything well organised. You are a star who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emille R
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Emille As you know, our Executive Club Members are very important to us. Therefore I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our hotel and that you have been well taken care of. We go above and beyond to keep our guests happy and to make them feel at home. We look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The renovations are fantastic, although not all of the rooms have been finished as yet. The hotel has a wonderful ambience, the lovely modern design of the foyer/reception & the superb restaurant/breakfast area. The Lord Charles is very much an old favourite but what stood out the most was the wonderful attitude of the staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HorseyWindPump1
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for writing this positive review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service. We strive to give the best service throughout the year for all of our guests. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff so they know their hard work paid off. We...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

I found the room was definitely not of 4 star quality, furniture looked old and bed was not the best quality. on the positive, bathroom was of good quality, good breakfast, main entrance great feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your review with regards to your most recent visit to our establishment. We are extremely sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations. Your feedback is highly valued as we use this to maintain and improve, where necessary, our level of service ad facilities. I can assure you of our best intention always....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The location and amenities are very nice, but the rooms finishing touches were terrible, the plug was coming out when I wanted to connect my laptop, there were cracks in the tiles and walls, the remnants of old towel rails and the likes were evident. This was topped off by finding a long ladies hair on my bath towel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenMonty
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations with regards to your overall experience at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles. I have address the mentioned challenges you had with the relevant departments, and I can assure that this is not our standard. We assure...

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Conference Facilities at the Lord Charles are very good. The staff are extremely professional but warm and friendly and very willing. The food, for a conference venue, is outstanding. Plentiful and delicious. This was commented on by many of our delegates. The accommodation is comfortable and the rooms are a good size. Sometimes some of the rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Jenny I am thrilled to read you great review regarding you and you team's most recent stay with us, here a NH Cape Town The Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mentioning some of our best qualities to the hotel, that makes us stand out, such as our rooms, our great breakfast, our location, amazing food variety and our...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have been using the Lord Charles over the past couple of years for all our conferences and it works ideal. As it is against most traffic it in the mornings and afternoons it is probably the easiest venue to get too. And for those who wish to stay in the hotel it is truly lovely. I have been given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Ronald I am delighted to read your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to have you back each time. Thank you for mentioning some our best qualities such as our spacious rooms, our accessible location, our awesome breakfast and our amazing service delivery. I will pass on your gratitude to the rest of the staff so they know their...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Great service from all Lord Charles Hotel Team. Breakfast offering excellent for food and Service , Great Team La Vigna Restaurant Good Food Great Service. Great all round Welcoming and friendly experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekGZodi
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Derek Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your most recent stay with us at NH Cape Town the Lord Charles Hotel. Thank you for mentioning some of our best qualities such as the great service excellent food variety both at breakfast and...

Grand Gaube
Reviewed 16 August 2016

we stayed in a newly decorated room which was spacious, breakfast great and room service efficient and on the ball. The function was well organised we attended and the food amazing. Thanks for lovely stay !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 366heidin
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your most recent stay at our establishment. Thank you for mentioning some of our best attributes to the hotel such as our recent refurbishment, the comfortable room, great breakfast and great service delivery. Our team work very hard to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible, therefore...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
5.9 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
287 reviews
5.1 km away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
198 reviews
37.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
139 reviews
1.6 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
19 reviews
37.1 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about NH Cape Town The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: RM378 - RM717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cape Town The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Cape Town The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from NH Cape Town The Lord Charles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are travelling with large bags ask for a ground floor room. There is no lift.”
BronwynStephenson, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had as requested a room designed for a disabled person with easy access .”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rather opt for alternative accommodation”
D0uwW, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms facing the lawn has tables and chairs outside. There is a good handicap room which we used as my mom is in a wheelchair”
margarets424, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“bottom floors are the best”
tcgielow, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$101* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$152
Hotels.comUS$141
PricelineUS$152
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates