We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somerset Villa Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Somerset Villa Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice small Hotel in Somerset, very green, nice Pool and breakfast, book the luxury room with a roof top terrace, very nice and sunny Staff is very helpful and friendly, good place to start day trips, only 30 min. to cape town and 10 min. to stellenbosch

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D8850KFninas
Gummersbach, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location, excellent service, very very friendly people, large pool, excellent breakfast, each room has a private nice space outside. Don't choose the lowest category, the room is too small. No air conditioning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 768brigittek
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received an extremely warm welcome on arrival. The staff were extremely freindly and the service was great throughout our stay. Our family room was more than big anough for the 4 of us and was very clean. Cooked breakfast was excellent as well as other good choices.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stoozee
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the guesthouse for 10 days whilst in Cape Town for a wedding. The family suite was lovely and spacious and the guesthouse had good facilities and felt peaceful and secure. The staff (Gayle) could not be more helpful. Breakfast was lovely, laundry services were offered and the whole group we stayed with thoroughly enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dldnewby
Rocco791, Manager at Somerset Villa Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We always strive to give more than our best to our guests, as we want them to leave as our friends and always feel at home when they come back. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly service from the staff, good breakfast, a spacious room with nice en-suite bathroom, a beautiful pool and a good location close to the R44 is what you will find at this guesthouse. Will definitely consider this for a future stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank corneliuse488
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Have you ever read reviews that criticize a property because they expect a 5star experience when the property so obviously isn't? Yes so have I. Annoying isn't it! So what we have here is a guesthouse with a pool, BBQ area and lounge. The rooms have a fridge and a fan. Some rooms have a private terrace some leading out...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergregory151
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Somerset Villa Guest House is a nice place to stay. Comfortable and cosy with well maintained rooms and garden. Very friendly staff and good management. Thanks to Rocco and his staff - especially "Lady Sunshine" Gale. It was an honour to meet her. Come to that Guest House to have some special days there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilfried S
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The establishment is clean, but very out dated. The photos on the website are very misleading, makes it look much more glamorous than it is. It is a 4 star rated establishment, but I rate it 1 star. The experience is definitely not worth the price paid. Food is pretty standard and staff is friendly. No aircon. Old fans and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
Rocco791, Manager at Somerset Villa Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thank you for your feedback as we always strive to perfect our offering to guests. The pictures on the website is a true reflection of the guesthouse. The house was established in 1923, being one of the first houses in the area and is unique. There is no air conditioning in the guesthouse and we do not advertise...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this guesthouse which is old cape Dutch style home with a modern extension tastefully and sympathetically extending the property. It was quiet and secluded. It the heat of January the pool was very welcome. The staff and management were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast by the pool was a good choice of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Very nice breakfast and kind, nice and helpful staff. The pool was very good. There was no door to the toilet / bathroom and that was a little bit unconviniece for us. But we got used to it and can definitely recommend it to others. 2 minutes drive to a food store and 5 minutes drive to a Mall with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bo Z

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.2 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
266 reviews
4.9 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
277 reviews
1.5 km away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
2.6 km away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
181 reviews
0.6 km away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Somerset West
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discreetly hidden from public view is this tranquil oasis offering nine, exquisite rooms for the discerning guest who values great comfort and out-standing hospitality. The refreshing, large swimming pool situated in a lush garden provides the tranquil setting for a lovely holiday or conference in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Villa Guesthouse

Address: 136 Helderberg College Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly The Beautiful West)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Price Range: RM275 - RM456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Villa Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Somerset Villa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Villa Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the spacious rooms”
 of 5 bubbles WilfriedS734, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for the size of the room”
 of 5 bubbles hanneo242, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good, but room 5 suited us.”
 of 5 bubbles SteffenK116, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms generally not quiet due to wooden floors”
 of 5 bubbles marga0, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Large and spacious rooms about 30 mins from Cape Town”
 of 5 bubbles RochelleSouthAfrica, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5