We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Clitheroe
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recommended by a friend and I endorse that. Found it easily and it is convenient for local amenities. The garden and pool area are excellent and the river view is exquisite. I would stay there again if I was in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This guest house was superb . Our room was a loft room , very spacious and well equipped. Tea , coffee , soft drinks , wine , beer all available in room. Very clean and fresh with fresh flowers in the room .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
Taby, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friendly family establishment in a nice location in a quiet back street by the river. Individually styled rooms. It has a good, clean swimming pool. Fabulous breakfast served by the friendly host and her daughter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

We love that - Hideout!! thank you for your kind words, it was great having you stay with us & we hope to see you again in future. Kind Regards, Aan de Oever Team

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a guest house! We had a room on the first floor, which was very large and very comfortable. It had everything even CNN! The view from your own balcony was amazing and the garden is exquisitely designed. There are also many birds to see. There is also a lovely stream at the bottom of the garden. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickrQ6547KS
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Oh, thank you ever so much, this is such a beautiful review, thank you for taking the time! It was wonderful meeting you & we do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, Best Wishes, Aan de Oever Team

Hurden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We come again. Quiet surrounding in a well cared-for garden. Excellent breakfast. Good restaurants nearby. Interesting old historical places to see in Swellendam. The room was a bit small but well furnished.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U584NIpeterb
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

Our Pleasure!! Thank you for everything, It was wonderful meeting you, Best Wishes, Aan de Oever Team

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Someone must have sat down with a brief to write a list of all the factors which would make a stay in a guest house memorable. I will only mention a few. Your car is washed on arrival and you get a cookie on departure. The room contains such items as candles if the lights fail (which they didn't), to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDLH
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

No Words! This is so beautiful, thank you for taking the time to write this review & for your kind words, it means so much to us. Best Best Wishes & we do hope to see you again in future, Aan de Oever Team

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most frendly, kindness, person and surrounding. Very nice rooms and breakfast at the pool and garden. Very friendly welcom and a very good price - quality. We were sad that we has to leave. We try to come back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 39ivonne
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! Amazing meeting you, We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Kind Regards, Aan de Oever Team

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two nights here in Early November 2016 staying in Tinktinkie the smallest room. We found it excellent. Very clean, comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities and fridge plus a sweet private sitting area overlooking the garden and river. Even had robes and mosquito repellent provided. The gardens are lovely. Plenty of space by the river and delightful,pool for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mabel98
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We wish to thank you for your kind words, It was wonderful meeting you & we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, Best Wishes, Aan de Oever Team

Oakworth, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although this was not our first choice of accommodation we were not disappointed. The garden is delightful with a mass of bird life and the background of majestic mountains ensured a dramatic background. Breakfast offered plenty of choice ... the omelettes being my favourite. Staff are very friendly and helpful ... having my car washed each day was not an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we always appreciate it tremendously. It was wonderful meeting you, We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, Best Wishes, Aan de Oever Team

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a really nice time at Aan de Oever Guesthouse - staying there for 2 nights. Although it was raining on Day 1 we felt really at ease since the Guesthouse feels a little like home. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance.and the town offers enough to do - the owners had some good recommandations. Day...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 908jaimyv
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this review

oh my goodness, not sure what to say, such a lovely review & beautiful! We really appreciate the time you've taken to write this, thank you for your kind words, but most of all we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & we can only hope to see you again. Best Wishes & thank you again, Aan de Oever...

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.7 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#6 of 37 in Swellendam
330 reviews
1.7 km away
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
Marula Lodge Guesthouse
#7 of 37 in Swellendam
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 37 in Swellendam
592 reviews
3.4 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#8 of 37 in Swellendam
193 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 37 in Swellendam
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Price Range: RM267 - RM539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aan de Oever Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rear garden view is the best view and most private”
 of 5 bubbles 262jeanetteh, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back have pool and mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles Woolif, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Kingfisher is a very nice room1”
 of 5 bubbles ColinH806, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All are ok, I think”
 of 5 bubbles HorstRiven, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bokmakierie Room is wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles KatieG841, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5