We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tremisana Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balule Nature Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tremisana Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 338: English reviews
Start your review of Tremisana Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Bodrum City, Turkey
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall experience good, transfers well organised and the daily game drives were good with knowledgeable guides. Accommodation basic but adequate. The bed was very short – fine if you were 1m70 (5ft 6in) or less but your feet would be sticking out of the bottom of the bed if you were any taller. They operate a cash-only bar and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerin2013
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I travelled alone to South Africa on business and decided to stay for a few extra days and enjoy a Safari at Tremisana. Everything was really nice, staff are amazing and made me feel all the time like if I wasn't travelling by myself. My only complain was that on the last day I had a game which one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAULINA S
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a few nights and it was really wonderful. All the staff were great and so friendly and helpful. The lodgings were clean and comfortable. The food was lovely. Rex and Elias were SO KNOWLEDGABLE it made for a great experience. Robin and Eva also really helpful with all the answers to our questions. Pretty couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby D
Bridgwater, Somerset, Uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

nice place but make sure you take cash to pay your bar bill as do not take card not good as told not to carry loads of cash, rooms are clean and of good size with mossie nets, tea and coffee in rooms. Meals are a bit bland and run of the mill but you get what you pay for

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jultra
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Tremisana Game Lodge is a lovely little oasis with very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff, who looked after all of our needs, and were particularly helpful with my dietary needs. Although, I would suggest that more variety of food, particularly vegetables could have been offered, and fewer lunches of sandwiches. My room was comfortable and clean, with working ceiling fans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
London, England
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed with the facilities at Tremisana Game Lodge. On our first night we had no electricity in our room. Consequently we had a very bad nights sleep. We were happy to get up at 04:30 the following morning for a sunrise game drive. However this was made difficult due to having no power in the room. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmbtom
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. I am sorry that your experience was made so poor because of an electrical issue. It is a pity that you did not ask reception or the hostess or your guide for help once the electricity tripped. It would have been a simple matter to sort out. Unlike you, over 95% of our guest enjoy...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We only stay one night and regret, because the place is great! And all the staff in there is wonderful! Is a great location and food delicious. The guides were amazing and we learn a lot during the games and walking bush. I'd recommend this place to anyone that is planning a safari in the kruger!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana E
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ana Thanks for a short and lovely review ! We are so pleased to read that the place is "great", the staff "wonderful" and the food "delicious". We are pleased that you learned a lot from our " amazing" guides. Kind regards Piero

Reviewed 23 January 2017

We only had one night here which was a shame as we would happily have stayed longer. We were greeted by Lizzie who was a wonderful hostess with a great sense of humour. The rooms were really comfortable and the monkeys who wander around added entertainment. The evening game drive was a treat, seeing lots of animals including a close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stepsha
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for a lovely review ! We are pleased that you found the rooms comfortable. The monkeys certainly keep one entertained. Our warthog sounder with 3 piglets is also a big hit ! The chasing by an elephant must have been very exciting - some bulls are now in musth and they can be a bit " over he...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We spent a wonderful 5 days here with my boyfriend in sept.2016. Everything was well organised and everybody (the staff, the drivers, the safari mans and women) was also very helpful and kind to everybody. I would recommend this place to anyone. The bed was soft and comfortaoble. The mosquito net and creme was a VERY good idea, because mosquitos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nyulika
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Nyulika Thanks for a super review. We are very pleased to note that you and your boyfriend had a great time and that you " would recommend this place to anyone". Good to know that the insect repellent lotion and mosquito nets serve their purpose ! Kind regards Piero

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed here with my friend and we absolutely loved our stay! All the staff were welcoming and friendly, and food was great. The lodge grounds are beautiful, and the room was nice as well. Saw so many amazing animals on our game drives, and learned so much about the wildlife and plants on our bush walk. Big shout out to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jroy32
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Tremisana Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for an amazing review. good to know everything was so good that you "absolutely loved your stay ". I shall see to it that Elias and Nico get an appropriate pat on the back. I agree with you re the game reserves not being zoos but, in this modern age of immediate gratification, it is sometimes difficult to...

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (278)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
8.2 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
246 reviews
26.9 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,565 reviews
1.5 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,014 reviews
9.0 km away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#3 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
676 reviews
9.1 km away
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge
#4 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tremisana Game Lodge was a founder member of the Balule Game Reserve. Tremisana is the largest and leading lodge in this section, having a total of 12 chalets plus a two-bedroomed guesthouse. We can sleep a maximum of 35 guests. Every unit is en suite ( shower, toilet, basin ) and all units are air-conditioned.The lodge is serviced by two excellent boreholes. Its proximity to the tar road means Tremisana is easily accessible all year round, including the rainy season. The presence of lions, elephant and buffalo necessitates the maintaining of an electric fence around the camp. Perhaps the most striking feature of Tremisana Game Lodge is the beautiful gardens. The presence of numerous bougainvilleas and various palms and cycads gives the camp a subtropical feel. Water features add a soothing effect and the overall feel of Tremisana is very relaxing. At night, the subdued light from the illuminated paved walkways lend a romantic and magical flavour to this outstanding camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tremisana Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tremisana Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tremisana Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
3 months ago
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Bridgwater, Somerset, Uk

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tremisana Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room No 2. It was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Nyulika, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had their privacy. If you are a family, try and stretch to a suite it is so worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles StevenM231, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the sliding glass doors are bigger, but darker. The rooms with regular doors are more cramped but brighter.”
 of 5 bubbles oh_chestnut, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms upstairs very good.”
 of 5 bubbles 388sandiep, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look for another tour”
 of 5 bubbles 793viq, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5