We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pondoro Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Pondoro Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 557: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pondoro was an amazing experience. The lodging is along a river and there many animals that you could see from your room or the dining area. The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, and very welcoming. There was a deck off of our room with a little private jacuzzi. There were two game drives each day that lasted around 3 hours....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eric B, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Good to know that you were happy with the room, safaris, guide and cuisine. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A good Safari has everything to do with good trackers and rangers. And that we didn't found in Pondoro. They were constantly talking with each other in there one language and often forgot that there is more to see than a Lion. No attention for the small five, birds, trees, plants etc, The rooms and the food were good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hennie P
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hennie P, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your guide and tracker. Unfortunately we can only address issues when we are aware of a problem and it is such a pity that you did not inform us during your stay as we would have...

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

An early 25th anniversary present to ourselves, we had an amazing stay , everything perfect, staff , food, lovely safari guides , they found the big 5 in our first 24 hours! We stayed in the water suite which was beautiful with amazing views down to the river. Would love to come back one day. Thank you .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracey and Gary, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and we are delighted that we could help in making it an unforgettable stay. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I can't say enough great things about our stay at Pondoro Game Lodge. The location is amazing. The guides were very knowledgable and helped us meet our goals for viewing wildlife and birds. We enjoyed the food, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a top notch safari experience, we recommend Pondoro Game Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwildwest
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear cwildwest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Good to see you had a fabulous time at Pondoro. Glad you found our guides knowledgeable and eager to show you all the wildlife and birds. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 3 nights at Pondoro Lodge and could not better the experience in any way. The highlight of course are the safaris, the driver and spotter I was with - Rul and Andres were the best - they want you to have the best experience and they do not disappoint. I saw the big 5 in the first 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenaraz
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jenaraz, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Glad that we could add to your bucket list and most of all not disappoint. I will rely your appreciation to all the staff, especially Rul and Andries. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There are not enough words of praise and thanks to express the wonderful holiday our friends at Pondoro created for my family and me during our early December four night visit. Our arrival and reception by Lize at the lodge was so warm we felt like family returning home to a place we'd been before. Every small detail was considered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricksQ2068ET
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear patricksQ2068ET, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are grateful that we could live up to your expectations and that you had a wonderful time. Rul, Andries and Lize, off course, will be elated about your kind words. And no...she is not available for adoption! Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

Canton of Schwyz, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed, unfortunately, only two nights at Pondoro. Almost everything about our stay was perfect! The welcoming, the excellent food, the lovely staff and of course also our game drives with Rul and Roland. The only pitty was, that we have never received the wine list. At the beginning I asked twice for it; I was told they don't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1981nic0le
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 1981nic0le, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Look like you had a fabulous time at Pondoro. I am very sorry to hear about the wine list incident. We have already addressed the issue. Too late unfortunately for your stay, I know. Be assured that we will make up for this if you ever...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Robbie, Lize and all the staff have made our numerous visits to Pondoro treasured memories. We simply love this place. The game drives never cease to be amazing; food, wine and accommodation are excellent. We'll be back in January and we cannot wait!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shar0nchell
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear shar0nchell, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It has been, as always, a pleasure to host you at Pondoro. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to the next. Greetings from the bush, Robbie, Lize and Pondoro family

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Pondoro. We saw all of the Big 5. Our spotter and ranger were both fantastic. The staff was the best we've experienced. Accommodations are wonderful. We can't recommend this place enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldenbrown123
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear goldenbrown123, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for recommending Pondoro and great to read that the safari, guides and service was wonderful. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We went there on honeymoon and the service is fantastic. They went the extra mile over and over again. The private rooms are gorgeous. The amenities are fantastic and you will be well-fed. And of course, the game drives were the best part.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewoverton
Pondoro, Owner at Pondoro Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear andrewoverton, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for choosing Pondoro as part of your honeymoon vacation. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the rooms, service and game drives were fantastic. Greetings from the bush, Robbie and Pondoro family

804 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (774)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (490)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balule Nature Reserve
30.8 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,503 reviews
37.1 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
7.5 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 13 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
175 reviews
7.0 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
995 reviews
39.9 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the cool riverine banks of the Olifants River (largest in Kruger) in the 40 000 ha Big 5 Balule Private Game Reserve inside the greater Kruger National Park, Pondoro offers its visitors comfort, sophistication, elegance and a canvas on which to create a truly unforgettable African safari.In this small, very exclusive 16-bed lodge ( owner managed ) you will discover the only way to experience the African bush. In addition to luxurious accommodation and the caring attention from trained professionals, our visitors are lavished upon with international fare and humble African hospitality.Meals are an extraordinary culinary experience where Traditional African Cuisine fuse effortlessly with modern European trends.To compliment the food, select any of our fine wines from our extensive wine cellar. Vegetarians are specially catered for. All meals are served on a wooden deck high up in the tree canopy overlooking the Olifants River (weather permitting).Between game drives in open safari cruisers, nature walks and peaceful afternoon naps, enjoy a dip in the sparkling rock pool, a spot of sun bathing or browse through the library. The Pondoro bar is the ideal spot to quench your thirst and grab a snack. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pondoro Game Lodge

Address: Balule Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Balule Nature Reserve
Price Range: RM2,913 - RM4,671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pondoro Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pondoro Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondoro Game Hotel Balule Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pondoro Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Pondoro Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As for room away from the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles goldenbrown123, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our bungelow was wonderful. Great views everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles bhamiltonwright, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were great although some had better views of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles riklem, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Water Suite was beautiful and private”
 of 5 bubbles TheClevelander, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have view over the olifant river”
 of 5 bubbles cruetsche2016, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay