We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Monwana Game Lodge

    | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Traveller (195)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (12)
    • Excellent98%
    • Very good2%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    29 Oct30 Oct
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (243)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 217 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    I never really believe excellent reviews but this one was on the mark! My family stayed here four nights last month and had an unbelievable time. Excellent guides (Thanks Doctor and Rennico), fantastic sights sounds (and smells), awesome food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Ideal...More

    Thank karen1963black
    Reviewed 3 days ago

    We stayed at Monwana Lodge, Thornybush Waterside Lodge from 17th -22nd September for our Honeymoon (5 nights: 9 game drives). Our Lodge staff were fabulous and can't thank Ruan and Shelley enough. The cook was amazing and produced food catering to EVERY dietary need -...More

    Thank PrincessBethany
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Being our first safari and not having any idea what to expect it turned out to be beyond our expectations. The safari drives thanks to Doc and Rennico were amazing and they endeavored to show us the Big 5 plus more, with us coming away...More

    Thank PrioryII
    Response from Candice W, Community Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 5 days ago

    Hi there PrioryII, thank-you so much for leaving this review. I'm so thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations - it can be tricky knowing what to expect when you've never been on a safari before, but how wonderful that you had such...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Judith and I spent three nights at Monwana as part of an extended tour of South Africa. The lodge was recommended by Audley, our tour organisers. It lived up to its billing. Firstly, the location is great, in the heart of Thorneybush game reserve. It...More

    Thank Munrosaxman
    Response from Candice W, Community Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 5 days ago

    Hi there Munrosaxman, thank-you so much for leaving this review. I'm thrilled that you and Judith had a wonderful time at Monwana lodge, and that you managed to see everything you'd hoped to see. I've noted your comment regarding the Wifi and I'll make sure...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    My husband and I have just returned home from a three week magical holiday in Namibia and South Africa. Our final destination to Monwana Lodge was the icing on the cake! Shelley and the team warmly welcomed us to the sound of a beating drum,...More

    Thank lesleyannkirkman
    Response from Candice W, Community Manager at Monwana Game LodgeResponded 1 week ago

    Hi there lesleyannkirkman, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review. How thrilled we are to know that you had a wonderful time here with us at Monwana Lodge. Hope to see you again at some point in the future. Take care.

    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$686 - US$866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Kruger National Park >
    • Thornybush Private Game Reserve
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (195)
    Room & Suite (35)
    Dining (12)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (156)
    Bathroom (1)
    Kapama River Lodge
    1,780 reviews
    14.50 km away
    Kapama Buffalo Camp
    410 reviews
    12.16 km away
    Kapama Southern Camp
    626 reviews
    8.78 km away
    Kapama Karula
    445 reviews
    6.48 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
    434 reviews
    24.58 km away
    Potluck Boskombuis
    334 reviews
    44.89 km away
    Austrian Coffee Estate
    7 reviews
    46.33 km away
    Cala la Pasta Italian Restaurant and Pizzeria
    295 reviews
    24.66 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
    79 reviews
    9.14 km away
    Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
    843 reviews
    27.90 km away
    Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
    30 reviews
    38.76 km away
    Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre
    765 reviews
    14.39 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    18 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Candice W | Property representative |
    You can email them through the Thornybush Collection Fan page on Facebook @ThornybushGameLodge.Official
    9 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from PaulPauwen | Reviewed this property |
    The jeep can take up to 9 pax. We were only 4 on our trip
    John W
    30 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from ThornybushLimpopo | Property representative |
    Hi John, Monwana Game Lodge is in a private reserve and no drives are permitted unless you're staying at one of the Thornybush lodges i.e we do not allow day visitors... We are considered to be in a malaria low risk region..
    Room Tips
    "small informal lodge with lovely team"
    Read review
    "Rooms that view the watering hole"
    Read review
    "The suite overlooks the watering hole and provides for an excellent view"
    Read review
    "All rooms have great views"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing