We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve

Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Save
Traveller (1247)
Room & Suite (195)
Dining (44)
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good6%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“eagles crag”(131 reviews)
“plunge pool”(101 reviews)
“game reserve”(105 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Hotel packages
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,140)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
946
64
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
946
64
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagles cragplunge poolgame reserveoutdoor showerlong lee manorhis knowledgewild animalssarili lodgewhole experiencethe main lodgeamazing experiencecape townour honeymoonwatering holehot chocolatethatched roofthree nights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We knew we were in for something special when - as we drove to Shamwari - we began seeing gazelles, etc. along the route. We stayed at the Lobengula Lodge for 4 nights at the end of our Garden Route trip. Upon arriving we were...More

2  Thank pe4all4
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights Oct/Nov. Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. It’s hard to put into words. Shamwari was amazing. Everything was planned so well from wake up call for early morning game drive to pre dinner drinks in the lounge. This far exceeded...More

2  Thank Cathy L
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Amar our ranger was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly, as were all the staff. Our five nights there were superb. I can’t put into words how amazing it was and how close we got to the wildlife. It wasn’t just the big five, we learned about...More

Thank Susan K
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We had spent a week or so visiting various game lodges on the way from Hermanus and we finished up here, it's just as well we finished here rather than started here because after Shamwari everywhere else would have been a disappointment. From the moment...More

Thank manofekent
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Quiet, relaxed Riverdene lodge. Nice exclusive food, high educated staff and excelent safari - guide Jean. We was lucky to see all the most importen animal we wanted. The weather was not the best, but no complaines.

Thank RP67solo
View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456208
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$732 - US$1,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$732 - US$1,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1247)
Room & Suite (195)
Dining (44)
Pool & Beach (29)
Hotel & Grounds (1053)
Bathroom (44)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maaike L
23 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
Dear Maaike, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. That's wonderful news! We would suggest our family lodge, Riverdene Family Lodge as it is ideal for families. Unfortunately, Shamwari... More
0
Votes
Jill C
3 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
Dear Jill, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. We are delighted that you have chosen Shamwari Game Reserve as your safari destination! It would be best to book in advance and as... More
1
Vote
RachelleReynolds
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SGR_socialmedia | Property representative |
Dear Rachelle, Thank you for your enquiry and interest shown in Shamwari Game Reserve. We are delighted that you have chosen Shamwari Game Reserve as your safari destination! South Africa enjoys a warm climate year-round... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"rooms 1 and 2 have their own small pool"
Read review
"in the main complex"
Read review
"Lobengula lodge - rooms 1, 2 and 6 have private plunge pools in addition to access to the main shared pool."
Read review
"They are all good rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite