We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 893: English reviews
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Shamwari Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape where we spent 8 nights at the Bayethe Lodge from July 30th to August 7th 2013. Shamwari is simply stunning, vast and unspoilt with very different scenery between the North and South of the reserve. Bayethe Lodge was everything we wanted and more. The tented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert S
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked our holiday through Beverly at Travel Exclusively African and she certainly picked a top quality safari game reserve to finish off my holiday and it was more than excellent from start to finish. Firslty I cannot understand what other guests expect even when you are paying top dollar to stay in these lodges the staff cannot be everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 475Default
Cape town
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lobengula Lodge in Shamwari is excellent. Wonderful staff an and . The game drives was very good. Saw al lot of animals. The spa treatments are wonderful and well priced. The food was outstanding. Would really recommend this lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renestassen
Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My family stayed in July for 4 nights at the Eagles Crag lodges and I can honestly say that of all the holidays we have had this was definitely the best for us. Everything was perfect from the accommodation, food, service etc etc definitely a 5 star resort. Our ranger was Tim and if you are lucky enough to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happyholidays2011
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I absolutely loved our stay here. The drives were incredible with Hedman our expert. We were so close to all the animals which included a leopard, serval, lynx - all very difficult to track. I loved sitting in amongst a family of 30 elephants, watching all the animals converge on the plain, the roar of the adult male lion, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hifelicity
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was the final leg of our South Africa trip and we saved the best for last. The overall package really is 5 star with the amazing game drives the highlight, however the food, service, setting, spa and the accommodation (we stayed in Bayethe tented village) all add to the experience. You certainly never get bored - if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil_and_Katie_Y
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just left Riverdene Lodge at Shamwari where 7 of my family, including a 5 year old, stayed for the last two nights of our South African Adventure. Liza, Sam, Thami and the rest of the team were awesome, nothing was too much trouble, including fuelling our minibus for us! They also decorated my parents room and left a bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erica L
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Pros Very good game rangers Saw a lot in terms of game Good spa Cons Service – Unfriendly staff Food – I still can’t believe a 5 star hotel would cheap out on food the way these guys do. Unfortunately, at these rates you can’t serve people food of such low quality, regardless of how good viewing is.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Henk516
Karen P, Manager at Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for your review you left on TripAdvisor yesterday regarding your stay at Shamwari Game Reserve in December 2012. I am sorry you that you have not brought this to my attention sooner, however since December 2012 a majority of our 6 lodges have had major refurbishment work done to them. We have also undergone service staff training and...

Reviewed 18 July 2013

What an experience! Even for seasoned African bush travelers, it was a wonderful "wild life" dream come true. The service of all encountered staff out-performed the best and our expectations! Facilities are well maintained and even the animals behaved.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Yesterday, I returned home from a three week trip to Shamwari Game Reserve where I took part in the Conservation Experience. I cannot stress how much I enjoyed my time there. Every single aspect of the work that you are expected to do whilst you are there is so thoroughly enjoyable and I would recommend this to absolutely anyone who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatherineJayneG

1,132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1004)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
4:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (665)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
22.5 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
308 reviews
35.2 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 23 in Grahamstown
915 reviews
26.9 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
455 reviews
10.3 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
253 reviews
12.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range: RM2,296 - RM4,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed at the second floor and had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles J4005TVrachels, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“S particular lodge is located close to a rock face you had your own plunge pool and sun beds but not great views of the park”
 of 5 bubbles 951pennyn, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the rooms facing the river. You will see the elephants coming for water.”
 of 5 bubbles 485faridk, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Explorers tent camp has all the amenities you could need. Great food, hot shower, flush toilet, comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles matthewastauffer, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed room three with private patio. Heard that other rooms had private mini-pools.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenniferwhitewalsh, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay