We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Camino Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Camino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Camino Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I picked this place for it's location to downtown and even read the reviews, but I was totally taken by surprise. The first "non-smoking room we checked into, totally wreaked from cigarette smoke and pet odors. They were nice enough to change our room when I called the desk. I made my way to the reception area, but had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spongie J
Management response:

I am so sorry for your awful experience at this hotel. There are no excuses for all these disgusting things. When you check into a hotel room, you expect it to be at least clean. I wanted to let you know that the hotel is under new ownership and we are remodeling the entire place, from floor to ceiling. The...

Willis, Texas
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Booking.com overbooked the place but that wasn't the worst part. The housekeeping staff supposedly didn't show up for work and so the rooms were not ready at 3:00 pm when checking began. It took 2 hrs to check in with a long line because we were not allowed to check in before 3. There was ONE person running the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiehickman
Management response:

Well this sounds simply awful. I can't even imagine such an experience. This will never happen again, as the hotel is now under new ownership and everything is changing. The staff, front desk, housekeeping, laundry, breakfast, etc., are all being retrained and rebuilt. Our top priority is "Customer Service", and we do not take this lightly. I feel terrible that...

Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Of our many destinations on a 20 day trip so far, this was a good, clean, comfortable room at a good price. Nothing special, but when you're on the road for an extended period of time, costs add up quickly and this was a good find! The location is fine relative to everything in town.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1sawmiller
Management response:

Thank you for such a nice review. The hotel is now under new ownership and we are remodeling it, such as new carpet, furniture, paint, in general, everything. I hope if your are ever in the area in the future, you will stay with us again. Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Sincerely, Cody K. guest relations

Questa, New Mexico
Reviewed 13 August 2016

the bosses here are horrible they treat their workers very bad and the they give you nasty looking old used towels and bed sheets that looks like they've been used for years. the way they treat their housekeepers is very unfair

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panda123467
Management response:

I've read your review and I am horrified. We have recently purchased the hotel and are in the process of retraining and rebuilding our staff. Our primary goal is " Customer Service". Had we owned the hotel when you were a guest, you would never have been treated in such a way. I cannot apologize enough for this dreadful behavior....

Southlake, Texas
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I concur with other reviews. After seeing the room we left and went to a different hotel despite having reservations. Room was dirty and heavy smoke smell; also there many people hanging outside drinking. We had young children with us on family vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AdamsFamilyof4
Management response:

I have read your review and I am so sorry. We have just recently purchased this hotel and we are working very hard to bring it up to our standards. We have a massive job ahead of us but we are excited and hopeful we can turn things around. We are retraining and rebuilding our entire staff for a start....

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I want to start with the first impression: plastic flowers on the pots by the front door in June! The lobby (old and smelley) was crowded with guests trying to get their rooms because they were not cleaned yet, even though it was 5:00 pm. We snuck into one of the "clean rooms" and it smelled like mildew and cigarrettes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pty05
Management response:

I have read your review and I would have done exactly the same thing. We have just recently purchased the hotel so I am in the process of answering all the reviews, non of which have ever been answered. I apologize for your dreadful experience. We are retraining and rebuilding our entire staff.....all of which have had no training, so...

Centennial
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Room was filthy upon arrival; people hanging out smoking pot with doors open; other couple in office area waited over 30 minutes with no staff; stains on bed coverlet and linens; slime on table; floors not vacuumed; door did not have any safety latch and looked like recently repaired (!?); hotel is completely run down and needs updating; staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carla R
Management response:

I am so sorry you experienced such an awful stay at our hotel. We have just purchased this hotel and are in the process of redoing everything. The staff is being retrained and rebuilt, this means the whole staff. I'm not sure any were ever trained. Also, the building is being totally redone from carpet, furniture, paint, etc., inside and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 June 2016

America's fascination with motorcycle touring on Harleys is something as a foreigner I struggle to comprehend. The convoys of Harleys that invade towns and the grizzly characters that ride them hardly seem to be the most desirable of visitors so when I saw that El Camino Lodge was biker friendly and there were heaps of bikes outside the units my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_M255115
Management response:

We have just recently acquired the hotel so I am taking the opportunity to answer all the reviews that were written before we were here. Most of them are not so good, so we are rectifying that. We are in the process of retraining and rebuilding the entire staff. They have not had much training and no guidelines to follow....

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Rather than document every single thing that was wrong, let me just say that they really don't have their act together here at all. I was sent to a room that had sleeping people already in it, a front desk person that just left and locked up after giving me said room, another room that had people that had recently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JSasse
Management response:

I have just read your review and I am greatly disturbed. It must have been the worst experience ever. We have just purchased the hotel and by your review and many others, we have a long way to go. I am starting by reading and replying all the reviews that have been written, mostly bad. We are retraining and rebuilding...

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Bathroom was not swept, hair and a used bandaid behind door. Otherwise ok. Good rate and free breakfast. Not willing to give a ground floor room, though I'm sure they had them. Had to ask for juice and milk at breakfast. Girl was accommodating. Great ice machine. Pool and spa looked nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
Management response:

Thank you for the review. I would like to let you know we have just purchased the hotel and are in the process of updating and redoing everything. The entire staff is being retrained and rebuilt. The carpet and furniture is all being replaced and the rooms are being give a completer makeover. We have a long way to go...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
3.3 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
1.1 km away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
351 reviews
1.2 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,105 reviews
1.6 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly owned, operated, and renovated! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Camino Lodge

Address: 615 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5228
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Price Range: RM323 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your El Camino Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Taos
Paragon Hotel Taos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Camino Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Camino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles MSMCIB, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the 2nd floor in the back. Quiet, with parking lot in front.”
 of 5 bubbles 173bernadettel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is no good room at this motel”
 of 5 bubbles 76carlar, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there!”
 of 5 bubbles MJB19, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't care if your room is dirty, choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Fira123, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5