We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Yellow Aloe Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellow Aloe Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Paterson, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A beautiful restored house makes up for the main house of this guest house. We were allocated a room away from the main house called The Longhouse. When we arrived there was a note to say that this part of town was without electricity due to a storm the previous night. This is acceptable and one can understand this situation.... More 

Helpful?
Thank george41248
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent a couple of nights here. This place has a lovely, laid-back country ambiance. The hosts and staff are all very friendly, kind, and generous with advice on the local sights and hikes. The dinners were, hands down, among the best (vegetarian) meals we have had in SA. Will definitely stay here again the next time we're up in Cederberg.

Helpful?
Thank asseblief
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a short, but very comfortable stay at the Yellow Aloe Guest House. In spite of a power outage caused by a storm, the owners and staff did their best to see that we were comfortable, and were very friendly and helpful during a stressful time. And, we were very taken by the gardens and decor. A good place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our way to Namibia and were blown away by it! The gardens are absolutely lovely, the Guest House has been thoughtfully decorated and furnished. The items for sale are great fun - metal signs and plants and the like. It was different! The rooms were very comfortable, the food was excellent and they couldn't do enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Yellow Aloe with a touring party. Absolutely fabulous! Congrats to Cheryl, Megs and their team on running such a friendly and simply wonderful establishment. We were welcomed with open arms, nothing was too much trouble. Delicious breakfast, clean rooms, best service! Thank you. Definitely will come back in flower season.

Helpful?
Thank UrsulaAlan
Management response:

Ursula!!! Thank you so much for your lovely, kind review! Hosting your group was such fun! I hope you made it home without sunburn and parked your beautiful baby safely in the garage. Take care and we hope to see you again soon! Kindest Meg More 

johannesburg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

It is hard to fault the Yellow Aloe. The hospitality was great, the gardens are an oasis, and the rooms, we were in the Longhouse, are beautifully simple, cool and tastefully decorated. They offer dinners on their veranda in the evenings, it was idyllic. We did that for the first night and for the second night we walked into town... More 

Helpful?
Thank wandaJohannesburg
Meghan S, Manager at Yellow Aloe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Yellow Aloe and for your lovely words of kindness! Please do come back again, we'd love to have you back for some more down time in the garden, and to spoil you some new exciting recipes ;) More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I have stayed here before, but this time stayed in the Longhouse. My room was facing the road, unfortunately, so it was a little noisy, and the rooms facing the garden and pool were very much more desirable. However it was a lovely room and I slept well. Breakfast was good, except I did not like the pump action coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
Meghan S, Manager at Yellow Aloe Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Dr Wilde, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you got the rest and relaxation you were after! Please do visit us again soon! Much love to your little pup as well! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Service: From the minute we were greeted animatedly by Megan, to the nightly lit fire that greeted us every evening when we came back to our room after dinner, to the time we picked up our picnic breakfast and left early the service was great. Accommodation: The beds and the cottage were comfortable. The guest house is at the upper... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Management response:

Hi Julie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. If you're ever in the area again, please do pop in and say hello, we would love to have you back again! Kind regards The Yellow Aloe Team More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We spent 3 nights at Yellow Aloe and stayed in the Garden Room. Very comfortable and private, the garden was a joy to get lost in and the facilities on par with what one expects from a guest house of this calibre. A tranquil place to return to after a day out in the mountains and flower viewing and perfectly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
Management response:

Stuart! Sylvester is missing you and goes to your room everyday to see if you are there! Thank you for such a kind review. We so loved having you guys here. If you ever plan a trip in the Cederberg again, please do come back. Take care, Kind regards, Meghan and the Yellow Aloe Team More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Delightful guesthouse with fabulous food! The rooms are beautiful, and the garden a little treasure trove. Perfect base for a few days of exploring the Cederberg and the coast. The staff are friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Will most definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Kat_Mancama
Management response:

Hi Kat, Thanks for taking the time to drop a line with such kind words. It is so special having guests like you to visit. It really reminds us of why we've chosen to do what we do. We wish you all the happiness for your future and please do come back and visit again. Kind regards, Meghan and the... More 

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanwilliam
0.2 km away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
158 reviews
0.0 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
234 reviews
0.8 km away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 10 in Clanwilliam
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ndedema Lodge
Ndedema Lodge
#3 of 10 in Clanwilliam
57 reviews
2.2 km away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 21 in Clanwilliam
122 reviews
0.4 km away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Yellow Aloe Guest House

Address: 1 Park Road, Clanwilliam 8135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Clanwilliam
Price Range: RM393 - RM464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Yellow Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Yellow Aloe Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room giving on to the terrace facing the garden and pool in the Longhouse.”
 of 5 bubbles X6480IUjanew, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rear facing rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles MrsSumaridge, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Garden room preferable”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Green, Cream and White rooms are on first floor in the main house, others are garden rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mthay2012, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I loved my stay in the Longhouse, it is authentic, spacious and offers great views of the garden and the Cederberg mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingYusuf, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay