We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We've been on many safaris but this was by far the best lodge we've ever been! Everything here is superb! Our 3 highlights: 1. Wildlife is abundant, lions with cubs, leopards, big herds of general game, porcupines and honeybadgers in the lodge, ... 2. Katrijn and Jeroen, the managers are great company and hosts. We had fantastic evenings around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marci643
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marci643, Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are super super happy that you had 'the best stay ever!'. Our management team, the guides and all the staff at the lodges take great pride in what they do and reviews like this one fills our hearts with so much joy, thank you very much. We do hope...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Original safari style with cozy wooden rooms in a magnificent, peaceful location. We felt instantly warm and comfortable here. Savute also had the best food of all 3 Belmond lodges in Botswana. But the game drives were the worst we ever had. Our guide "Watch" had no clue at all and he was just speeding around without stopping for game....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaiwana
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jaiwana, Thank you for taking the time to review all three our lodges, and is saddens us to hear that one of our guides behaved in this manner during your visit to Savute. We have made the management team aware of your review and they will address it with Watch, and to send him for training to improve his...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We had three memorable days at the Savute Elephant Lodge. Hospitality from Silingi and Tally was like being welcomed to their family. Wonderful meals, under the stars while observing elephants at the water-hole, were impeccably served in decor that is wholly suggestive of the Botswanan experience. 'Tents' (more like rooms actually) are spacious, comfortable and equal many 5 Star hotels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rostom2014
New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We spent three nights at each Belmond lodge ending with Savute. Jeroen and Katrijn excel at their jobs and were genuinely interested in providing us with a memorable stay. The lodge has a timeless charm coupled with first rate amenities. Food was divine and dinners under the stars will not soon be forgotten. The rooms look out onto a waterhole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toddbsell
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear toddbsell, We wish to thank you very much for the time you took to write all three reviews of our lodges, we are delighted that you had such a special time at the lodges and we will make sure to pass on your compliments to all the staff at the lodges, they will really appreciate your feedback. We are...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The hotel is located inside the National Park, in the middle of nowhere…..the experience is amazing, you can see all kinds of animals from thermos, elephants, baboons, etc. The hotel is really a 5 star hotel, the food is really good, but the most I liked was the warmth and service of the staff. The rides are really good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgcr72
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear igcr72, Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we are delighted to read that you had such an amazing time. The Chobe National Park is also a firm favorite location for renowned wildlife documentaries, it's truly the heart of Africa. And thank you very much also for recommending the lodge to fellow travellers, it is indeed an amazing...

Schelle, Belgium
Reviewed 30 May 2016

A place in heaven. The rooms are very luxurious, romantic and spotless, You can’t think off something and it is present. The terrace is big and the view breathtaking, always action going on in front of your room, elephants, buffalo’s impale’s, kudu, … All food was superb and exquisite, you can’t believe how they do this so far away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grotereiziger
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear grotereiziger, It fills our hearts with such joy reading a review such as yours, and we are so delighted that you found 'a place in heaven' in Botswana. There is something uniquely divine about the country isn't there! Mighty has been with the company for over 25 years, and his knowledge is as you say, unlimited, and he is...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We went to Savute Elephant Lodge after visiting Eagle Island Lodge which are both part of Belmond Safaris. I was a bit concerned that I would be disappointed in the lodge as we just came from the newly rebuilt Eagle Island Lodge. Even though Savute Elephant Lodge was not as modern and new as it's sister property, it was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renier F
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Renier F, Thank you for taking the time to review all the lodges you visited during your recent safari and also your positive feedback of Savute. All three lodges offer such a diverse experience, and Savute offers such wonderful safari activities, as you noted the San Bushmen rock paintings and the magnificent baobab trees are sights that are truly...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Traveled to Botswana and stayed in 3 different lodges in chose, Okavango delta and the noemi game reserves staying 2 nights in each lodge and using the airstrips to fly between the lodges. Having also completed an escorted drive safari I think I missed out on the culture, people and birds along the way when flying between lodges, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sezsunshine
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sezsunshine, Thank you for your wonderful reviews of our lodges. We are delighted that you had such excellent wildlife sightings during your game drives and that you were so well looked after by our staff. We do hope to see you back again soon, and perhaps the Rhinos will show themselves, but they are very well protected in Botswana....

Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewed 10 April 2016

This is a beautiful property with an amazing staff. The accommodations, service and food were beyond expectation. The water holes are visible from your deck and from the dining areas for a non-stop parade of animals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlGreyMare
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear OlGreyMare, Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the animal sightings at the lodge. With the ever changing water levels at the lodge, the recent rainfalls has had a wonderful impact on the sightings in and around the lodge and the Savute channel too! You are welcome to keep up...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

We just left this camp after spending the worst 24 hours of my life. My wife arrived very sick and there was no doctors 200 kilometres around. Katrijn Muys and Jeroen Nys acted like a perfectly coordinated emergency hospital team and provided first aids to my wife. After 24 hours my wife started to recover and we had a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrgoldwind
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr mrgoldwind, Thank you for this wonderful complement and review. We do hope your wife is feeling better and glad that our management team was there to support you through this difficult time. You are welcome back anytime, and we will look after you. Thank you and best wishes to your wife, Warm regards, Louise Pheiffer

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
10.6 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
230 reviews
104.4 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
385 reviews
12.7 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#13 of 20 in Chobe National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
147.4 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
243 reviews
149.4 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
35 reviews
10.6 km away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 20 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the very heart of a wildlife reserve, Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge is authentic and truly wild - the perfect place to feel the pulse of Botswana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Price Range: RM5,439 - RM10,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Elephant Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Chobe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 has excellent all around views”
 of 5 bubbles agmendelson, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Africa at its luxurious best”
 of 5 bubbles TinusMariaan, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Every tent/lodge is great!”
 of 5 bubbles Yvonne69Laren, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the main lodge have a closer view of the waterhole - but none of them would disappoint.”
 of 5 bubbles Rostom2014, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room #3 is set away from the main lodge, but still overlooks the watering hole”
 of 5 bubbles toddbsell, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5