We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Our trip to the Okavango Delta with Belmond was superb in every way. The guides were all superb in the their depth of knowledge and ability to make us feel welcome. The accommodation and food was well beyond what we had expected. And even though Belmond can't control the wildlife, it was amazing to see all that we saw. Belmont...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cindy59717
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

This lodge is in a beautiful position overlooking the waterway. It maintains the extremely high standard of other lodges in the group and has the same layout except for an additional outdoor shower from which it is wonderful to view the birds. It is a bit of a drive to the game viewing areas. However, from our balcony we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank bruceSydney
Belize
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a lovely lodge and was the last place we visited on our recent trip to Botswana. The view from our room / tent was fantastic. We could sit and watch the elephants take a bath in the river right in front of us. We were lucky enough to see two prides of lions, one pride had young ones...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julien W
plettenberg bay
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In July,our group of 5 [including visiting daughter and grandchildren from Boston] visited all 3 belmond group lodges, ending up at Savute.Food very appetizing, tents the ultimate in comfort,. but instructions pinned to the wall about how to handle aircon would be helpful. Met and spoke to Karen [new ceo of the three camps] about this. Was highly impressed by...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank derek r
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I wish we could stay longer at this beautiful lodge, perched high above the Savute channel that brings so much wildlife right to your doorstep. Kudu, impala, elephant and giraffe are regular sightings right in front of the lodge and if you look down to the river, huge catfish lazily swim around. We were lucky enough to see a pride...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alexander W
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff and guides were exceptional. The food was delicious, varied and plentiful. We stayed three nights in Late June and had a thoroughly great time. Our guide, Watch, made the trip for us. If you are considering a safari, please consider this option. The game viewing was astounding. We had daily visits with lions and leopards, zebra and giraffes. I...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Terroir777
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just wanted to thank on behalf of all the family a memorable visit and in particular to Robert our hugely knowledgeable guide for 3 days and 6 drives. We learned so much and broke all the rules!!! But Robert was fantastic. We saw everything we came to see (multiple Leopard sightings, Lazy Lions, Buffale, Elephant, Giraffe, And and and ........

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Conor-K-Ire
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently had three nights here as part of two weeks in the Central Kalahari,Savute,Selinda and was left a little disappointed considering what one pays.The location by the Savute Channel is beautiful,tents large and comfortable but weeds at the entrance,weeds around the tents,broken footpaths and steps,a fallen tree right at the entrance to the lounge/bar that one has to navigate...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dag108
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and we do apologize that you had such a disappointing experience at our lodge. We have addressed the general maintenance of the camp with regard to weeding. However, the broken footpaths are caused by the elephants that roam through the camp on a regular basis. As our camps...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went on a six day safari to all three former orient-express camps in Botswana. The first was the Savute Elephant camp. We were impressed with the tents, they were really nice. clean and very well kept. The staff was very nice specially Bujos who is the assistant manager. His knowledge about his country is enormous. We had some wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amaya A
Paris, France
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location, wonderful view on the Savute channel and the elephants, perfect room, even if air conditioning is a bit shocking in a tent... BUT Poor service, common food - I could not even eat what they serve you with morning tea & coffee at the tent, lunch and dinner were not you expect in such a place, breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pierre D
LouisePheiffer, Manager at Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pierre D, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. What you experienced at the lodge is most certainly not our service standard, and we apologize for not living up to our 5 star promise to you as our guest. We have recently employed a new Food and Beverage manager to address the availability and...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
21.7 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
240 reviews
97.3 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
412 reviews
19.9 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.0 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
251 reviews
144.5 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 20 in Chobe National Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the very heart of a wildlife reserve, Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge is authentic and truly wild - the perfect place to feel the pulse of Botswana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Address: Savute Channel, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Price Range: RM5,194 - RM9,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Savute Elephant Camp By Orient-Express Hotel Chobe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 has excellent all around views”
agmendelson, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Africa at its luxurious best”
TinusMariaan, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Every tent/lodge is great!”
Yvonne69Laren, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the main lodge have a closer view of the waterhole - but none of them would disappoint.”
Rostom2014, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room #3 is set away from the main lodge, but still overlooks the watering hole”
toddbsell, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5