We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Anchor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Anchor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Anchor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed overnight and picked the hotel for its convenience and access ability. Rooms were dirty, and they were doing repairs while we were there. Not worth the price and I would not go back . Only convenience was the parking and Starbucks across the street. Carpet was dirty and bed was lumpy. A budget motel would have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mel1953
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience as our hotel. As mentioned in a post below, we are in the final phases of our hallway renovation project. Please visit our facebook page to see the timeline of the start to finish of the project. We have come a long way in modernizing and updating everything in the corridors. Unfortunately,...

Clarkstown, New York
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Needed a place to stay for an event. Found this place and gave it a try. The Hotel is just about standard when compared to others in the area. What made it stand out was the helpful and friendly staff. They were knowledgeable of the area, courteous and very professional. It's nice to walk into someplace new and get greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manatheran
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a try. We appreciate your understanding while we beautify our property. A vast majority of our customers feel the same as you do about our property. Thank you for stepping forward to let the internet world see what a wonderful property and staff we truly do have and maintain.

San Diego
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I reserved a room for my mother last weekend and the guy at the front desk was very rude, and not helpful at all. When my mom woke up she had weird bites all over her, it was bed bugs!! When we called the front desk to just inform them of what had happened, they were rude and said pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Melissa K
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

First and foremost, please accept our apologies for taking so long to respond to your posting both on Tripadvisor and on our website. We wanted to thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your mothers stay with us and would greatly appreciate it if you could please advise what room number she was in so we can...

Providence, RI
Reviewed 12 July 2013

1. We used our GPS to find the place but, the address is deceiving and we found ourselves @ a Harley dealership...no problem we just gave them a call (mistake), four calls and an hour later we found we were going in the wrong direction. This was even though we were calling out landmarks but the refrain was always..."it's only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe D
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would most certainly like to follow up with you on any of the room specific issues that you had. 1. Our property address is 215-34 Northern Blvd. in Bayside, NY. This address is set by the City of New York, and as you mentioned, your GPS was not able to identify our location. We...

Dallas Texas
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a long weekend, as we couldn"t get into the Andrew.The hallways and room smelled bad. A very old hotel that needs new carpet and new mattresses! The staff was pleasant but don't expect much from the free breakfast. Will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sunshine8184
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to post a review of our property. As I am sure you noticed, our hallways are currently being renovated. You can even see on our facebook and twitter pages the process on the renovation. We have been updating everything from the wall studs forward. We do sincerely apologize that the carpets have not been...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 May 2013

It was a dark and windy night and I was stranded at LaGuardia with NO hotels rooms anywhere to be found. A friend found this room on line and booked it for me, but trouoble with pre-aid reservation and I had to pay again upon check-in. But by 10 am the next day, Daniel the manager had everthing squared away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jabetu
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Glad we could help and thank you very much for taking the time to review us.

Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

After reading a lot of negative comments,I was a little bit afraid to stay at the Anchor Inn. They are doing a lot of renovation,so the halleays ate a bit dusty.The room and bathroom very clean. Not noisy at all. Good Continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sibi51
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We are happy that you were pleasantly surprised. We do strive for excellence and hope that all the efforts and energy we exert happily surprises many more guest like you in the future. Thanks for staying with us.

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ladies & Gentlemen, Boys & Girls, Children of all ages-- The Anchor Inn reeks of cigarette smoke from the moment you open the front door. Even the designated "No Smoking" rooms are contaminated, probably because the ventilation is so poor. The window A/C has a filthy "filter" which stopped being of any use a decade ago when it was last...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JoanneMcCoy
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. While we appreciate all of our reviewers, we find it hard to respond when the statements made aren't exactly accurate. We have been undergoing constant renovations over the years. The most recent (and still being completed) is a total overhaul of our common areas. Just before we started the common area work,...

newyouk
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It was horrible, so dirty we went there during the Sandy storm got a room which all of a sudden the rates got higher.Went in to the roomAnd went right back out. What a disgrace. This place should be bomb for bugs. I love bayside but I would never ever go to this hotel I would sleep in the car...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank luvsunnydays
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you know, everything was pretty crazy in the entire area during Hurricane Sandy's aftermath. Is sounds as though the room that the staff checked you into was not properly cleaned or inspected prior to be rented and I can assure you that, if the room was in such condition that...

Reviewed 29 March 2013

The service is excellent. The receptionist not only checked us in, but he showed us to our room. The sofa bed was already pulled out for us. The room had a kitchenette and 7Eleven was near by to do some shopping. A police station is just one block away, which gave us a sence of security. The Long Island Rail...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank prowler74n
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We strive for excellence and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.5 km away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
0.5 km away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
6.8 km away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 17 in Flushing
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
184 reviews
4.2 km away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
5.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Queens
Howard Johnson Inn Queens
#1 of 2 in Queens Village
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, convenient and cost effective, the Anchor Inn offers AAA accommodations for both the business and leisure traveler. Simply put, the Anchor Inn provides convenience to Manhattan as well as Long Island at affordable rates with downtown amenities. Whether you are traveling for a relaxing weekend, a corporate event, or a meeting downtown, no one showcases more unique accommodations. The Anchor Inn's front desk is open 24 hours a day for our guests' comfort and convenience. At most other hotels check in time is 3 pm, but at the Anchor Inn check in time is 12 pm, giving you more time to settle in and relax before dinner or an evening on the town. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can check your email, surf the web or put together some last minute documents while away from home or the office. Our state of the art fitness center is open daily from 8am through 10pm. It features a treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and a weight stack machine. We provide free high speed internet access via WIFI. We offer Lodgenet movies, music, and games on demand direct in each room. New York City convenience at very affordable rates. Leave your car and take a sightseeing tour of Manhattan arranged through tour operators that will pick you up and return you directly to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: 21534 Northern Blvd, On the Corner of 215 Place and Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3465
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Price Range: RM640 - RM876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Motor Inn
The Anchor Inn Bayside, New York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchor Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little extra and get a room with jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles Sailormaineiac, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, ask for the back of the hotel (not street side) and for anon-smoking room -- that has never been a smoking room.”
 of 5 bubbles SpeakTruthBoston, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“too expensive for what you get”
 of 5 bubbles schmuka, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I do not recommend this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 440olyay, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“don't choose any room, noise is everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles 417ellat, 6 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay