We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Starlite Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Starlite Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Starlite Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Hamilton, NJ
Reviewed 26 September 2014

This is a basic hotel, but it was clean and acceptable. The beds were extremely soft though. Convenient location for hiking, which is what we were there for. There is a nice little breakfast basket for eating in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cs61993
Michelle O, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

We're glad we could be a restful and convenient place for you while you hiked around the Catskills! That said, we don't want to be just a basic hotel -- we want to take it up a notch and be as quaint and lovely as the mountain inn of your dreams! We'll be busy working on being worthy of a...

Liverpool, New York
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I've stayed at the Starlite twice,the last stay being this past June. Both times,we made this our home for the weekend during Mountain Jam in Hunter. Spent very little time "in room",which is usually the case when I travel. Rooms have a full size fridge,and a working kitchen. The place is dated,but that didn't bother me. Comfy bed,and clean bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GovMule
Michelle O, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

GovMule, can we say we love your TripAdvisor handle? No wonder you were in town for the Mountain Jam! It's great to hear your stay was clean and comfortable, but we want to take it up a notch! We're always aiming to improve, so we hope to have another chance to welcome you back. Best, Michelle O., Owner

Brewster Ma.
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Where to begin?…. Chapter one: Arrived tired after 300 miles of great touring on our motorcycles. The place was closed with a handwritten sign on office door saying "Welcome….key in door" Parked our bikes next to two rusty dented children's bicycles…and emptied all our bags and began to settle in for four nights (which had been booked in Februrary…7 months...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jazzrunner
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

Again, I am truly sorry for the mix up and accept full responsibility for not having your reservation from the third party booking engine. I understand your horror. It was my biggest nightmare come true. I had wished that my apology in person and my offer to comp your stay for the long weekend, would have given us the opportunity...

Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

By chance we found this place on our way to Belleayre Lake for a stop off on a road trip. It had everything we needed, especially the full kitchen. The backyard was great for my toddler and in the evening she enjoyed the fire pit and lightning bugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandra556
Michelle O, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

So glad to hear we were able to supply you with everything you needed during your stay -- especially the full kitchen. Great to hear you were able to enjoy the patio with your young one and see some lightning bugs! Hope to see you on your next road trip! Best, Michelle O., Owner

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You really have to wonder where previous reviewers have stayed before when they use the words charming and delightful to describe this motel. This place is beat. Clean, but beat. We, too, had an awful smell in the room which I believed to be carpet cleaner/deodorizer trying to mask the smell of urine. Think about it, this motels allows dogs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The smell in the room from some kind of cleaning or deodorizing chemical caused me to have bad sinus issues.. Very iiritating! The breakfast basket is a joke ... real bad cereal, hard bagel and some strange muffin. We didn't touch anything in the basket. The backyard is disgusting, lights don't work , everything is rundown.. flat pillows on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonaAria
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us. So Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We take pride in what we do here and responding to guests needs are a priority. I do wish you had brought any or all of your concerns to our attention. Maybe we could have made your stay more comfortable, had we known there...

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay,and as delightful as the first. The rooms are homey, with a basket of goodies awaiting road weary travelers upon their arrival. The kitchenette has everything you could need, including wine glasses and a bottle opener (and a fresh quart of milk on the fridge!). Wifi is good (don't expect phone reception as you're in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I, along with two other couples, stayed 3 nights in the renovated house associated with the Starlite Motel in Big Indian, NY in the Catskills. It was clean, spacious, and had very comfortable beds. Most all the needed conveniences were included. The flat screen TV set-up was a little difficult to understand and the water pressure for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce B
flusing
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was a little smaller than I thought, but clean. People were very friendly. It was quiet, but near fun things to do. The person who runs the hotel was very helpful and worked with us to find things to do. There is phone service, butit was a little spotty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S R
NYC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Starlite multiple times over the past three years. it simple charming efficiency style motel off Route 28 in Big Indian. The owner Michelle is a lovely person who really cares about the comfort and convenience of her guests. there are plenty of litlte touches to make your stay personal (giant marshallows to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuietAmericans

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
5.5 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
81 reviews
1.6 km away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
27.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.9 km away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
35 reviews
3.6 km away
Gateway Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Price Range: RM474 - RM700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starlite Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
NYC

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Starlite Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 has a cute back porch!”
 of 5 bubbles Sunrae76, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room. There was a mild constant drone from some unknown source.”
 of 5 bubbles 377geraldp, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same view”
 of 5 bubbles saddle11, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are great .”
 of 5 bubbles Guitar1959, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all great”
 of 5 bubbles susanpB5265HT, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5