We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craftsman Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Craftsman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Craftsman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
East Patchogue, New York, United States
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Pleasant and comfortable rooms and common areas. Stickley-style furniture throughout. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Door trim was worn in places and could use some touch-up. Windows opened wide, a nice feature in my book. The refrigerator was not in the cabinet where the one it replaced - the empty fridge cabinet was a defect in an otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
Mississauga
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Two handicapped rooms we requested were conviently located side by side, just off the lobby. Only complaint was the rooms had very old televisions, with small print remote controls. This made it very difficult for one party who were both visual impaired. The restaurant was very nice, food great, especially the salmon, but slow in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel I
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

This is obviously what was a very nice hotel about 15 years ago. It is still very clean & the staff is friendly and efficient. Could it be updated? Yes, but it's the only hotel we could find in this suburb, & it was more than sufficient. Great lobby, good chocolate chip cookies, and a clean, comfortable place to sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Eden, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The Craftsman Inn was a lovely place to stay. My husband and I had a quick overnight stay. The front desk staff were very nice, the bed very comfortable and the room quiet and peaceful. The air conditioner was noisy but we only had to use it a short time. I would recommend staying here, but perhaps not on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcpace2u
RandyMalone, Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time and energy out of your busy day to share your experience with us and recommending us to other travelers. We are glad you and your husband had a lovely stay and enjoyed our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Please accept our apology for the noisy air conditioner and any inconvenience...

Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 July 2016

When moving our daughter into college we found this gem. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The staff is very helpful. The location is easy to get to and access to the highways are very easy . They also have rooms that are pet friendly which is extremely nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for the lovely comment about our staff. They genuinely are kind and eager to help. And thank you for mentioning our great location- a comfortable neighborhood setting with great shopping right across the street, but as you say, easy access to the highway and 15 minutes from downtown!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Here for a nearby wedding. Helpful, friendly front desk staff. Maintenance needs to be improved: hallway and room carpets are stained, bed skirt ripped and not too clean, a/c in friend's room completely nonfunctional and ours very noisy, drapes hanging off rod. Bed comfortable enough. Property restaurant terrible (see separate Limestone Grille review). I would not recommend or return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NYtraveler_90_12
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your critique of your stay. Our apologies for the shortcomings that you mention. You are correct that we had a perfect storm of weather conditions this past weekend that saw several of our room air conditioning units under-perform or, as in your case, vibrate as they strained to keep up. Fortunately we...

Vestal New York
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is an older dated hotel, with large pleasant suite rooms in the building containing the restaurant. Bed very comfortable, living room very spacious with couch, coffee table and chairs. We had a party to attend in Manlius so it was much more convenient than staying in Syracuse. Otherwise not much around hotel. Plenty of free parking. Just a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stangina
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Our thanks for the kind words. Our location in the Eastern suburbs allows our guests to be downtown in 15 minutes, and at Green Lakes in 5! And we do have great shopping and dining right across the street from The Craftsman, as well as our restaurant,as you mentioned, The Limestone Grille. We hope to see you back!

Troy NY
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this property before, and I'm not sure why these little things bothered me this time? Things like no coffee left in the am, no ice in the ice machine (not to mention a very lousy location to find!), no ironing board in room, cumbersome keys, etc. but a mediocre stay in an otherwise nice hotel, on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcorbust
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your heading says it all; the details of your stay are what creates the lasting impression. I will share the points you make with our staff, and we will be sure to use them to improve. I do apologize for the ice machine in your area going down during...

Centerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I was somewhat concerned because of the mixed reviews of this property but I was delighted with our suite which had been renovated recently. The restaurant on site the Limestone Grill was also excellent for dinner and breakfast with the service outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosemary02632
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you. While there have been concerns in the past, the age and wear of the property that generated the vast majority of the mixed reviews are being addressed.And there are more improvements to come! We hope to see you back!

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stopped in Fayetteville for one night for a meeting and were very happy we chose to stay at the Craftsman Inn. The room was well appointed with beautiful Stickley furniture and the Limestone Grill for dinner and breakfast was delicious with courteous and friendly staff. We were happy that they had a fitness center as well. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carla F
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are proud of the handsome Stickley Mission furniture that we are fortunate to have in our guest rooms. And as you mention, our Limestone Grille is a great place to dine, and it too is furnished exclusively with Stickley furniture, in this case the Metropolitan line- very sleek and comfortable. We hope to...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
8.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
10.9 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
8.3 km away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Limestone Grille
Limestone Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The American Arts and Crafts Movement blossomed at the turn of the 20th century on the tree lined streets of peaceful villages in upstate New York. The movement was a personal and architectural revolt against the ornateness of the Victorian style. This Movement sparked a period of design characterized by simplicity, honestly and integrity. Here in Fayetteville, Leopold and John George Stickley created Arts and Crafts furniture using innovative construction techniques which have endured as hallmarks of the Movement. The Craftsman Inn is dedicated to these Craftsman ideals. Look around, the designs that inspire the building, the chairs and tables, the lighting and pictures, all evoke that ideal. Our Limestone Grille was launched in 2008 as the heir to our more stately Craftsman House. The Limestone reflects the 21st century evolution of these concepts as once again a desire for a simpler, truer,more authentic approach becomes prevalent. Our dining room and lounge reflect clean, Mission style design but with warm colors, classic furnishings, and contemporary appointments. Our service staff and bartenders provide friendly yet attentive service, knowledgeable without being presumptuous, helping to create the sense of relaxed comfort we all seem to miss so much of the time. That end result is what inspires us to do the best we can. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Craftsman Inn

Address: 7300 E Genesee St, Fayetteville, NY 13066-1342
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fayetteville
Price Range: RM460 - RM1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craftsman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craftsman Hotel Fayetteville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Craftsman Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Craftsman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The water pressure out of the shower head should be stronger.”
markgU2465UT, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We prefer ground floor, don't use elevators. Very quiet and convenient place.”
arnie5656, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if room has radio, fridge, micro, mine did not, but no big deal, I didn't need them.”
jrs127, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice handicapped, one had two queen beds, the other a king size, both very quiet rooms.”
IsabelI761, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Also have rooms that are pet friendly”
867JacquelineR, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5