We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colgate Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Colgate Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colgate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Boston, MA
Reviewed 7 April 2015

I have stayed at the Colgate Inn about 10 times over the last three years as my son is a student at Colgate University. The decor of each room at the Inn is consistently furnished but the size of each room and bathroom are unique to the room. Room number 19 is quite spacious while room 15 is tiny and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SeaCam
Boerne, Texas
Reviewed 2 April 2015

I frequently stay at the Colgate Inn on business since it is the best hotel in 30 miles. The staff is great and helpful in finding interesting places to eat. Never have had a bad experience. You can workout at the well equipped Colgate University gym.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
hudson, ny
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Rarely review a lodging business but this one needs to take a look at dozens of details. Start with the desk clerk, totally unwelcoming, could' t find even a cup of tea for us after a long drive to get there. The polyester sheets are rough thin and terrible to sleep on, the mattresses, are old and worn out. The...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank herbalthyme
FrontOffice1925, General Manager at Colgate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Colgate Inn with us during your recent visit to Hamilton. After reading your review we cannot apologize enough that we did not meet your expectations. Here at the inn, we deeply pride ourselves in delivering the best possible guest experience. Our entire staff was alerted to this review and took it very...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 February 2015 via mobile

Who does not love the inn? Whether it is a quick lunch during the weekend or a long dinner at night the inn is always fun. Trivia Wednesday's are the best and what I miss most about my time at Colgate. Sunday morning brunch is always a huge hit and the staff is always extremely accommodating. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brandon F
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 31 December 2014

If you can get beyond the apparent disinterest of the desk staff, the Colgate Inn is a charming and unique hotel. I submitted a reservation request through the Inn's website and, after ten days without a response, then called the desk. The clerk advised that there were no rooms available on the days I will be in Hamilton. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David S
FrontOffice1925, Front Office Manager at Colgate Inn, responded to this review

First and foremost my sincere apologies in the tardiness of this reply. In a computer upgrade on January 1 to increase our company communications our automatic notifications from Tripadvisor ceased. Another faithful guest brought your review to our attention just this morning. Thank you for your candid review of our front desk’s customer service. Your feedback is invaluable to us,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We really like the Colgate Inn. Hamilton is a charming town and there are few other decent options in the immediate vicinity. The public spaces are great. The lobby is warm and comfortable and the restaurant and bar are excellent. The rooms are very small and can be noisy. We have also had some challenges with the air conditioning in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DK1960
New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 November 2014

This is my third visit to The Colgate Inn. I stayed before the renovation, right after it and just this week. The room was perfectly comfortable, good bathroom but I paid far more than my last visit and felt a little taken in...I was told that $199. was the rate despite rooms being listed from $129. a night. Since the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Writer46
Connecticut
Reviewed 21 October 2014

I stayed overnight with my son, who is looking at Colgate Univ. The room wasn't spacious, but it's an old Inn and thus doesn't have some of the 'cookie cutter' amenities and advantages of a chain. The room was very clean, and nicely furnished. It was a bit on the dark side with two lamps running incandescent bulbs. The The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roycethevoice
PLANDOME
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Colgate U has a hometown hotel to be proud of - traditional in style that is in keeping with the history of the village and the university. Clean, well designed rooms, great bar, good meals. I only wish there were more rooms available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZPatApple
Huntington, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2014

I had recently stayed at the Hamilton Inn for a family wedding. The hotel room I stayed in was a king. It was large with a few chairs and a desk also in there. The bathroom had a large shower ( no tub) and the vanity, sink & mirror were on the outside making it easy for 2 people to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenore D

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
34.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
31.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
33.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
115 reviews
31.4 km away
Super 8 Norwich
Super 8 Norwich
#1 of 2 in Norwich
286 reviews
29.1 km away
Super 8 Oneida Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Colgate Inn
Colgate Inn
Cuisines: American, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Colgate Inn

Address: 1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Colgate Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colgate Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Colgate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of their phenomenal suites overlooking Hamilton town square.”
 of 5 bubbles JPK_YVR, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Romantic rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MADELINES816, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Steer clear of #14 and #16 as rather small and off the elevator and staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles qwerty35, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel but the areas we visited were very clean and well done.”
 of 5 bubbles P2639VGpaulh, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think it would be best to get a room overlooking the town square”
 of 5 bubbles primavera87, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5