We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wendt University Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wendt University Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wendt University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Close to two colleges and a good price. Clean and free wifi. Hot water all the time and good pressure. Simple breakfast in morning and pleasant staff. Can be noisy as college teams stay here. Fourth stay here and will stay again. Rooms are clean and comfortable. TV is older large model and our last stay it burned out. Mtc...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scott t
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly, gracious and extremely positive review. Thank you for praising our location and our rates. Thank you also for praising our clean and comfortable rooms and water pressure. Finally, thank you for recognizing our pleasant staff and prompt service. Thank you for being our guest. It is our extreme pleasure to serve you, and we look...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This hotel was the worst experience in my 48 years. We came to Hamilton because our son had an interview at Colgate, so he needed his rest. At 11 PM we called the front desk when it sounded like a heard of elephants were ta dancing above us. I got quiet for a short time and then it started again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging prompt and courteous service, including a discount, from the manager on call and the daytime staff. We are sorry for the unfortunate acceleration of events with our overnight weekend staff. Management did discuss the evening's events with that staff member, and outline several different plans of action, should similar events take place. We are committed to...

NJ
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I was torn between a Poor and Average rating, and was feeling generous this morning. The Wendt Inn was the only available lodging for an event we attended at Colgate. The front desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful, almost bordering on downright rude. The rooms were just average and the breakfast was skimpy and unimpressive for the high rates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim1117
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you perceived our front desk clerk as unfriendly, or that they were unable to help you in a satisfactory manner. If you feel you have been treated unfairly, you may contact management directly at 800-218-5449, or send an email to Meetings@dreamscape.com. We are sorry you could hear voices outside your room. You may always ask a staff...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 June 2015

The Wendt is an OK two story hotel with no elevator and a minimal continental breakfast. Other hotel in town was full and there are really no alternatives in the area. Friendly staff, super fast check and free wifi were the highlights.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank traveler222000
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff, swift service, and complimentary internet . We are one of two hotels within the town itself; however, our sister property, the White Eagle Conference Center, sits invitingly on the banks of Lake Moraine, and features individual cottages on rolling green lawn. White Eagle Lodge offers visitors fishing...

milford, ny
Reviewed 5 June 2015

If you don't mind a "basic" place to stay in Hamilton, you might give this a try. It is a two-floor motel without an elevator. There is no coffee in the rooms, nor a hair dryer. Amenities are scarce. I was able to have the friendly desk clerk make coffee for me in the afternoon because it was not routinely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curveball14
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your courteous review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. We are sorry you felt our amenities were lacking. There is a hair dryer in every room. Most rooms have a built-in microwave and refrigerator. If there is not a microwave or refrigerator in your room, you may request them. A staff...

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for Colgate Graduation. We had to book over a year in advance and had to stay 3 nights or we couldn't book the property at all, which I found absolutely ridiculous. Way way way overpriced. We stayed in the new section which is modern and clean. But sleeping was nearly impossible with those terrible beds. I would've been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank exerciseballer12
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with our advance booking, rates, and graduation three-night policy. We book a high-volume event like college graduation a year in advance. Many of our guests regularly stay with us during their students' four-year college career, and are excited and happy to book an event that celebrates their students successful completion. Our three-night stay for...

Burlington, VT
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed there for an overnight looking at colleges. There are 2 hotels in town. The other was booked and we got the last room here. The staff was friendly, the room was okay and the breakfast was something to avoid. The continental breakfast consisted of weak coffee, still partially frozen plain white supermarket bagels and some donut/muffin choices. No...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MomX3Vermont
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer Paul DeLima coffee, which is manufactured and sold only in Syracuse, New York. It is generally acknowledged to be one of the areas finest coffees. We serve Block & Barrel bagels, a premier delicatessen-style kosher bagel. We do apologize if your bagel was only partly thawed. We...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We have stayed at this "hotel" a few times and it is somewhat less than average for the price but not quite terrible. Because the weather was so bad we knew we would arrive an hour or so before 3 PM check in time so I called from the car to see if we could have early check in. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maxmandy
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt we did not go out of our way to accommodate you. We advise all our guests upon booking of our check-in and check-out times. A set check-in time allows our smaller housekeeping staff to complete room preparations. We feel that our front desk clerk acted appropriately and hospitably to immediately offer you another room...

Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Reviewed 6 March 2015

I have stayed at the Wendt University Inn multiple times over the last 4 years while my daughter was attending Colgate University. It is very clean and usually quiet. Price is a bit high for this type of hotel but there is not much to choose from except the Colgate Inn, which is very $$$. There are beautiful bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bonnie W
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous and positive review. Thank you for praising our cleanliness and peaceful atmosphere. We appreciate your review and we appreciate your continued business.

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 December 2014

This is the only hotel in Hamilton. It is a very basic hotel. It is clean, but the beds are not comfortable, and the sheets looks like they are 50 years old. The continental breakfast is minimal. Since it is the only show in town, they charge too much. Therefore the value received for amount you pay to too low.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steven S
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your bed and linen were not acceptable to you. You may always notify a staff member, and they can change your room to one that is more acceptable to you. Our linens are brand new; however, a staff member will be glad to exchange them also. We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast,...

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
33.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
30.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
31.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
32.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
1.1 km away
Patricia's Guest House
Patricia's Guest House
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica St, NY, Hamilton, NY 13346-2001
Region: United States > New York > Hamilton
Price Range: RM306 - RM483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wendt University Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Newburyport, Massachusetts, Usa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wendt University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevators, request the first floor if that is something you need”
 of 5 bubbles paulaC266QC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay on 2nd floor so you don't hear the folks above you.”
 of 5 bubbles carlas120, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator so if you do not do stairs ask for first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 262debbier, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“book early since there aren't that many hotels around”
 of 5 bubbles dandiane2, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator to the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LibraryLady, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5