We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowen's by the Bays

222 reviews
Save
Traveller (78)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the cottages”(27 reviews)
“bedroom cottage”(19 reviews)
“tennis courts”(9 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (222)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Bowen's by the Bays
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
172
30
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
172
30
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbedroom cottagetennis courtswelcome bagputting greenboard gamesplay areabeautiful groundsfull kitchennext yearstop shopseveral yearslovely cottagegolden retrievera great staylocation is greatone of a kind
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Cottages and rooms in a nice garden with swimming pool, tennis court and play area. At arrival we received a little bag with water, candy and area maps. Car could be parked in front of the room. Room was decorated in romantic style, a bit...More

Thank AK1970
Response from sashabeau, Owner at Bowen's by the BaysResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for your candid comments about Bowen's. I'm glad you enjoyed the accommodation and grounds. All of the guest rooms are side by side, so for a more private feeling you would have to have booked on of the separate cottages. I apologize if...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017

this hotel is well located, but not renovated at all, probably about 50 years old, not kept up, the rooms are grutty, they air conditioner is noisy and the room rate expensive, we would rather stay in a Motel 6More

Thank Eddy K
Response from sashabeau, Owner at Bowen's by the BaysResponded 25 August 2017

Hello, Eddy. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. It is disappointing that neither you nor your wife took the opportunity to express any dissatisfaction when speaking with me during your stay. I was just told that at time of check in...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Bowen's and were extremely pleased with our stay. The owners are very professional and the room really pleasant. The amenities in the hotel were perfect for our needs. A beautiful garden directly accessible from our room, tables outside (perfect...More

Thank FABELyon
Response from sashabeau, Owner at Bowen's by the BaysResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Bowen's. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that it was a good choice for your vacation. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The location is nice, but closed to anything. You need a ride if you wanna go out for dinner. The lodge was clean, (on the contrary the patio really needs to be clenead up), but the smell was not so nice. The air conditioning system...More

Thank avlemoon
Response from sashabeau, Owner at Bowen's by the BaysResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your candid comments. I'm not sure to what you are referring about the smell, but I do wish you had brought it to our attention while you were here so it could have been addressed. We would have been happy to move...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

The grounds, the owners, it is dog friendly, close to everything! We love Hampton Bays and Bowens is easy to get to the beach, the bay and the restaurants. I love all the flowers and the pool is so nice to come back to and...More

Thank Faye D
Response from sashabeau, Owner at Bowen's by the BaysResponded 15 August 2017

Hi, Faye. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Bowen's. It was very nice to see you all again, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345644
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$194 - US$383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$194 - US$383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (78)
Pool & Beach (14)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EllenMcGurk
27 July 2016|
Answer
Response from EllenMcGurk |
I had a camp counselor at Camp Tek in the late 70's Lisa Bowen . Are you related to her ?
0
Votes
Lisa K
29 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from gobowens | Property representative |
Hi. The studio is built into the corner of the L shaped building, and there is no room for a sliding glass door. There is a regular door so you can access the garden seating, and go out that back door of the studio to the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms with kitchenette are 50% larger than without"
Read review
"We love the cabins, this was our first time in the motel room in a long time, but it was perfeact."
Read review
"Not a bad room to be found...."
Read review
"The cottage is great."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing