We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Herkimer KOA Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Herkimer KOA Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2016

If your going to go Diamond mining, this is the place to stay. Across the road from the mines in a cool, level area near a wonderful fishing stream its as close as you can get. I've seen it go from a few tent sites to a huge area with tent sites near the stream, sites for Camping vehicles of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, John! We are so glad you enjoy our grounds, as well as our campsites and location across the street from the mines. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 30 July 2016

We were in a deluxe creekside cabin. Step outside and there's the creek with people tubing down. They provide an outdoor table and umbrella, 2 lounge chairs and a gas grill on a concrete patio. As expected, everything in the cabin is compact, stove has 2 burners, small refrigerator (no freezer space), bathroom with shower, small table with 4 chairs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chaya4
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our beautiful riverside cabins and do apologize for the difficulties you had with the toaster and with the wireless internet access. We have passed along your...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The Herkimer KOA borders the beautiful West Canada Creek. Tent camping on a Friday night cost 40.00 (let's be real, the only real camping is tent camping) and includes a small plot of land with a picnic table and fire pit. Negatives: 1. If you're looking for something rustic and mostly quiet this is not place for you. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T-NutsP-Nuts
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are happy you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds, your campsite, our facilities, and the West Canada Creek. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Painesville, Ohio
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed in the rustic cabins on the hill near the Herkimer Diamond Mine. It was quiet and within easy walking distance of the mine where you can dig and crack rocks to find crystals. To cool off on the hot days we tubed down the nearby river. The other half of our group stayed in the larger, solar cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldleroy2
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us! We are happy you had a great time, and enjoyed your cabin, tubing on the river, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you. We appreciate your kind review, and hope to see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The tent site was nice the only complaint i have is that my 5 y/o child bought a candy bar from the store on the campsite and it was completely melted and when I went in to return it i couldn't even stand waiting in line bc of how hot and muggy it was and after looking at the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camper567
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Herkimer area. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues we had with our air conditioner in the store. It did need repaired and we have since replaced it completely with a brand new one. We do hope...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The wifi here is very poor. Verizon cell signal is very minimal. Our electrical power at camp site 71 was lost twice. The staff is stretched too thin (i.e) they don't have enough qualified help. The creek by the facility is nice. Otherwise, I'll be hard pressed to return here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Herkimer area. During your visit, the campsite you chose was a 30amp site and due to a large amount of power being used, the breaker was tripped repeatedly and had to be reset by one of our staff...

West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We stayed here from 6/20-6/24. But our great adventure started before that. I booked a pull-thru site, and received confirmation for same. Week before they send you an e-mail welcoming you. Stated back in,called and they said oh no it's a pull thru. Got there sent us to Site 70, which is a back in, went to office and girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandma320
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Herkimer area. We definitely want to make sure our guests have an excellent time while staying with us and we do sincerely apologize for the difficulties we had with our water pump during your trip. Our goal is...

Pine Bush, New York
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This was the first time my husband and I stayed here and we knew it was going to be one of the best KOA's we've have ever stayed at upon entering the property. The place was beautifully kept, the staff were friendly and personable. We had a site on the creek side which was wonderful and got to see the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimd8212016
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, Kim! We are so happy to hear you and your husband had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds, the creek, and that the staff was friendly and helpful for you. We love to see that our guests are appreciative and notice our hard work - it's all for you!...

New York
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We love all KOAs - Herkimer is a great campground. We love getting the deluxe tent sites on the river! Bring your tube start at the top of the campground and ride on down to the bottom! They have a pool onsite too. bathrooms are clean and the campground is clean. We will be coming back again! Wifi was hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rl8587
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! We are glad you were able to enjoy tubing down the river, as well as your campsite, the pool, and our facilities. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to having you back!

berkshires
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My boyfriend and I took the kids for a three day stay. We stayed in the Astronomy Lodge. The cabin was clean and up to date. We had everything we needed. The resort it self was wonderful. The grounds were clean. They have tons of things for the kids to do. The price of the cabin was almost to good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank townie30
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Herkimer KOA Campground, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your cabin, our activities, and the experience you had with us. Thank you for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Herkimer hotels
12.2 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
11.0 km away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
60 reviews
11.2 km away
Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Herkimer KOA Campground

Address: 4626 State Route 28 North, Herkimer, NY
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Number of rooms: 140
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Herkimer KOA Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Full hook up sites along the river along the river have gravel pad, but are in the best position.”
 of 5 bubbles sparky268, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your clothes and food, everything else in there for you!”
 of 5 bubbles 401marguerites, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you don't like noise request not to be near barking dogs”
 of 5 bubbles Susan9754, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for spot by river or shady pull-thru if going in summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles laurasZ2628YK, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You must reserve well in advance for the best sites”
 of 5 bubbles 984JohnL, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5