We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Masama Lodge and Camp Site

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serowe
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Start your review of Masama Lodge and Camp Site
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

On our way back we stopped at Masama Lodge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Campsite very neat. We slept in one of the rondawels. Although clean it is in need of fixing up. Not value for money. We paid 100 pula for mattress for my son. Very flimsy mattress with no bedding provided for him. There is potential but Owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magglewebster
aboetsemang k, Manager at Masama Lodge and Camp Site, responded to this review

Point taken and will be fixed Thank you

Reviewed 22 September 2016

Arrived at Masama lodge after a long drive. At first the place looked a bit tatty, but it warmed itself to us and us to it. Capt K was an absolute pleasure. The meal we had for supper was great. Simple and nutritious with plenty of flavour. The campsite was clean and the ablutions were functional and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Évañ S
aboetsemang k, Manager at Masama Lodge and Camp Site, responded to this review

We are happy you had a great experience with us, we will be working on our tatty look at the moment but above that we enjoyed hosting you Captain Kay

Bellville
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We slept there for 1night, we arrived late after a terrible drive - they were surprised to see us, we did book for supper and they had to make a plan. The food was not good, we could hardly chew the lamb. The bathrooms were dirty, our bin was almost full on our arrival. The shower did not spray properly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lezaan D
aboetsemang k, Director of Sales at Masama Lodge and Camp Site, responded to this review

seen and action taken

Mtubatuba, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Masama has the potential to be a good alternative to Khama Rhino sanctuary but its the basics that they need to get right. Clean accommodation and a hot shower is 1st prize when self driving/camping in Bots. Sadly this was not the case. Capt Kay was delightful though and we had a really good meal.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vumaas
Botswana
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Nice place for a stop over, the rooms are nice but rather basic. We did a booking but on arrival they were not aware of us coming. This was not a problem as they started immediately to prepare the room after showing us different options. Dinner was tasteful but very basic. Breakfast was done outside in the morning sun around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrijn_Jeroen
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Amazing stop over place, all the basic requirements for more than a stopover in place, a rocky outcrop, elevated to catch a summer breeze. 4 Rondavels on suite, clean camp sites with central ablutions. Close to Serowe and Palapye. Friendly team welcoming you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martiens v
New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing campsite and guest lodge with accommodations that are much better than any of the other guest houses in Serowe. I know this because I spent the night before arriving at Masama Lodge looking into every other available guest house/lodge in Serowe and turned all of them down because they wanted extravagant prices for basic and sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rambler1286
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

it's a really beautiful and relaxing place.. great treatment from the manager and Elizabeth the lady that runs the place. we camped there, adorable cat and dog watched our tent all night. it's the cheapest option in serowe, made for Backpackers. there is also great rooms but not for low budget... great place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hadar6073424
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

in the middle of nowhere we slept here for one night. No Wi-fi only the stars to look at. very beautifull surroundings, good lodge with good bed. they made some food for us; it was delicious! bring something along for the most sweet dog we've ever met!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Totally amazing and beautiful...a small place to escape from everything and the location is awesome for sunset viewing....the people are very helpful and great, catered to our every need at anytime and very cheerful...the bush braai was different from usual meat and chicken loved it <3 <3

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tk_syom

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (86)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serowe hotels
6.9 km away
Hill View Guest Inn
Hill View Guest Inn
#6 of 10 in Serowe
3 reviews
11.1 km away
Serowe Hotel
Serowe Hotel
#1 of 2 in Serowe
18 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Boulevard Guesthouse
#3 of 10 in Serowe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Masama Lodge and Camp Site

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Masama lodge and camp site is real bush camp in the gateway of Serowe village it is a good stop over for 4x4 vehicle to the deltas out and in. We are located on A14 highway. We have in suite limited chalets. The facility is built on a unique slope of a sand stone called MASAMA. Masama Lodge and camp site is a full citizen private limited company incorporated in Botswana since February 2000 with special business interest focused in the promotion of local, regional and overseas tourists activities. Different aspects of traditional and changing cultural values in Botswana including living styles, sports, theater, crafts, music and dancing. Masama Lodge and camp site is situated in and around sand stone protrusion that constitutes Swaneng Hills at 9 km from Serowe and about 700 km from Pretoria this therefore makes it a good stop over for people to the Deltas and far from South. The surrounding terrain scopes generally away from this protrusion id dominantly thorn veld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Masama Lodge and Camp Site

Address: Masama Along A14 High Way | P.O Box 30628 Serowe Botswana, Serowe, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Central District > Serowe
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Masama Lodge and Camp Site staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Masama Lodge and Camp Site staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only saw 3 rooms and all looked good, well the same.”
Andy142, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The site is well off the road and out of town, so all should fine.”
  • The room we had.
rodd912, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All were good, we looked as we were the only people there that night!”
123Shades, 23 May 2014 | Read review
“The Funky bus (see Picture) is also available!!”
  • The Funky Bus
Windmage, 19 Oct 2012 | Read review
4 of 4