We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dugong Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dugong Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dugong Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 19 August 2012

You only need to look over the last few reviews to wonder what happened between March and July because they seem to have everything just right now. I can't add a lot to the previous 2 comments - speed boat, food, lodges, atmosphere, relaxation and a general feeling of happiness pervades. However, the staff I don't think can be praised...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jlw5558
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 17 July 2012

During June 2012 we spent 3 unforgettable days at Dugong Beach Lodge in the Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary, Mozambique. At the airport we were welcomed by a driver of the Sanctuary and transferred in an open game-drive vehicle through the streets of Vilanculos to the beach where our boat was waiting. We had to wade through shallow water to embark...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sonia N
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at Dugong for 5 nights, coming here from Lakeside Lodge after a safari. The warmth and relaxed atmosphere of Dugong was exactly what we needed after a week of getting up early - which we expected - to see the animals. The staff at Dugong could not do enough for us, we certainly had 5* treatment from all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eleanor C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The setting at Dugong Lodge was wonderful but the service and the food was appalling. We never saw a menu. On our first day we had chicken pie – I could have prepared that at home and it would have tasted better. Chicken pie was offered twice during the week we were there. We were offered chicken livers or soup...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank hanbag50
Michelle B, Snr Marketing Asst. OBO Senior GM at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We see you have already received a letter from us with an invitation back to any of our other properties in the group, which will be easier to travel to. As explained in our letter to you, we apologised for the breakdown in service delivery – this is...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our response to our stay at Dugong Lodge is one of ambivalence. We spent 10 days there in early December with our two children aged 8 and 10. Part of the reason we chose the lodge, was because of the variety of activities on offer. They offered horseriding, fishing, scuba diving etc. When we arrived at the lodge, it became...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JezebelleH
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We also visited Dugong Lodge in December 2011. We loved it! The lodge is beautiful, the hosts are wonderful and the food and service were great. If one remembers that you are in Mozambique, it is realistic to expect that everything will not always be perfect, except for the scenery! It is true that the lodge make use of a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 123Away
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We visited this lodge in Dec and could not wait to get to this "fantastic lodge". All I can say is that this was one of the most disappointing holidays we have ever had. We love traveling and have been to more than a few establishments. We were told that we are paying for full board which includes all local...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank travels1976
Michelle B, Snr Mark. Asst obo MD at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We apologise unreservedly for the issues you raise. As a luxury lodge, this is not the norm and definitely not how we wish to be remembered. The problems were caused by the sudden and unexplained departure of senior management and while we acted immediately to replace them we were unable to...

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Dugong Lodge was the perfect place to end our trip around South Africa and Mozambique. The location is beautiful, the food amazing, the rooms pristine and the staff extremely helpful. There are various trips and activities - we tried the sailing and the dhow cruise both of which we enjoyed - but the place is mainly one for relaxing. Ashley,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chewey709
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a lovely start to our honeymoon here. Ashley, Marshall & Wayne were great hosts and all the staff were very friendly & helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic (thanks Ashley!) and we felt thoroughly relaxed during and at the end of our stay. Slept amazingly well in the lovely room too! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna M
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have just returned from a five night stay at Dugong Beach Lodge. The pickup at Vilanculos airport was very efficient and the 45 minute boat trip was very good. Do be prepared for a 'wet' landing and wear appropriate clothes and shoes. What more can be said about the beautiful lodges, the very friendly staff, the most delicious food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
21.4 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
21.9 km away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
84 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 7 in Vilanculos
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
31.1 km away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
404 reviews
22.4 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Price Range: RM1,902 - RM4,641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dugong Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Alfred

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dugong Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out more and take one of the corner units with the private pools, worth it.”
Hermandl, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on the waters edge with direct access to the beach. We had a double room, very spacious with bath, shower, + outside shower”
  • Huge Bed with great Mosquito nets
621lesleys, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book the more expensive self catering lodges. The 'dormitory' style self catering lodges are cheaper but not great.”
  • Loge
888leons, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had a "standard room", and I can't imagine anything being better.”
402nickyh, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“They have two inter-leading family rooms with their own private pools. These are great for families or if you want to be private.”
  • Great rooms on the beach
renierf, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5