We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino Camp

Palmwag Concession - South, Namibia
Save
Lowest prices for your stay
04/02/2018 05/02/2018
Are these your travel dates?
TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DamaralandSee available hotels in Damaraland
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Desert Rhino Camp as part of a trip through Namibia and it was definitely one of the highlights from our trip. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and went out of their way to make our visit memorable. The guides did an excellent job...More

Thank JJJNYC34
Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JJJNYC34, Thank you so much for this super review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to Desert Rhino Camp and greatly appreciate you saying it was one of the highlights of your trip! It is quite incredible to see how wildlife...More

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Namibia is a starkly beautiful country, and this is especially true in Damaraland, where you will find the magical Desert Rhino Camp. It is not easy to get to - 5 hour drive from Swakamond to the gates, and then a 2 hour jeep ride...More

Thank DrTrescot
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you DrTrescot for your amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your short stay with us and glad to see it is not only happy memories you were able to take home but a new appreciation of all the efforts...More

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed here for two nights as part of a two week trip to Namibia and it was a highlight! The staff were absolutely incredible, with such wonderful fun and energy - from our welcome to the amazing dinners, you were made to feel a...More

Thank Fg304
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Fg304, We are delighted to have been able to spend this special time with you and glad that we could help make your honeymoon such a memorable one. We hope that you and your husband will visit us again soon as you really did...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

As you gradually fall in love with Namibia and its people, a visit to Wilderness safaris' DRC gives that process quite a boost. There's the thrill of being on foot close to the unpredictable black rhino; there are game drives where you discover that every...More

Thank Peter W
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Peter, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be sure to pass on your beautiful words to all the great staff in camp. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

Reviewed 27 October 2017

We sadly spent only two nights here and could have spent a lifetime. This was the most wonderful place to stay from the warm welcome on arrival to the parting good wishes. The staff could not have been more polite and helpful. The extremely professional...More

Thank teaclipper
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Desert Rhino CampResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Teaclipper, Thank you for wonderful review, Esther and Johannes will be thrilled for your high praises. The community partnership is at the heart of our camp; In what is known as a public-private-community partnership, Wilderness Safaris has partnered with the three communities that administer...More

About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Details
  • Hotel class
  • Number of rooms
  • 8
  • Location
  • Namibia >
  • Otjozondjupa Region >
  • Damaraland
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Bathroom (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
redberryphoto
17 May 2016|
Answer
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Dear Redberryphoto, Thank you for your question. unfortunately, no matter the type of vehicle you are driving you would need to park at the designated pick up and drop off point at Twee Palms. Due to Private concession... More
0
Votes
Barbara H
12 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Thank you Barbara for your question, Malaria is present in some of the areas in which we operate in Namibia and precautions should be taken. Malaria transmission is at its highest during the warmer and wetter months of... More
0
Votes
Landri L
27 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Ted J | Reviewed this property |
No. The camp does not have wifi, either, They do have a computer in the office that has internet that we were permitted to use to check email, etc, but the connection is super slow so I would only ask to use it in an... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The tented lodgings are excellent and as far as I know, all roughly the same"
Read review
"Tents 1, 2 and 7 are furthest from the main dining area, so best avoided if you have mobility problems."
Read review
"All are great"
Read review
"All tents are of the same quality and have similar views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing