We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hotel Ithaca

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Ithaca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Ithaca
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2015

This hotel was selected for us and when I read reviews i was concerned that we would have a bad experience, which was not the case at all. We arrived early and they happily accommodated us with a room in the newer section, which was clean and spacious. It was a corner room on the 5th floor and had 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uptightoutasight
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations for most aspects of your stay. It is, however, very disconcerting to hear that other aspects left much to be desired. Please accept my apologies on the state of the hallway in which your room was located, and for the chilly, undrinkable lobby coffee. Both of these points are...

Penn Yan, New York
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Our small famiily was charged 200 plus a night for a very average hotel -- this is what I'm used to paying for a 4 or 5 star luxury deal. I'd have switched if we had time - but too big of a hurry. Adding to the expense was the breakfast -- paid extra at the cafe. For $150 it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James D
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca on your recent visit. We greatly appreciate your business. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems...

Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Our daughter is in school at Cornell. This hotel is in a great location for when we visit. Too bad it's so seedy. There is a musty odor that permeates the hallway and rooms. The worst part however are the beds and bed linens. The mattresses are old and worn. The sheets are all but threadbare and there are no...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Claremcfar
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While I am glad you chose the Hotel Ithaca, I am dismayed to hear that your stay was less than pleasant. I must apologize for the state of the room you stayed in. While the part of the hotel your room was located is slated for renovation in the near future, that is no excuse for the odor...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Terrible room service: The sheet on one bed is not changed, with hairs of someone else and stuff on it. There is very little toilet paper left in the bathroom when we entered. We tried to call front desk for toilet paper, only to find that the phone in the room was dead. Poor conditions: large areas of water stains...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 77jms
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet with your expectations. We are currently in the renovation stages of updating our product and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. It is our goal to insure all...

New York
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

The renovated tower rooms are clean, new, nice & simple. There's a closet with a door, but it's quite small; a roomy glass stall shower, with no grab bar, hand shower, or way to test the water temp before turning on the shower; no toilet lid; only one chair in the room (a desk chair); very little floor space, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizbrook
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your original reservation that you made thru Priceline for your hotel stay, reserved the room in the non renovated part of our building. We had no way of knowing you would prefer the Tower but are happy that we were able to upgrade you to that part of...

Cleveland, OH
Reviewed 20 April 2015

It hit me as soon as we walked in the lobby! Since Ithaca has limited rooms on certain weekends, changing hotels not an option.(Actually our first choice, The Hampton Inn, was booked.) We went to the room and opened one of the two windows (the other did not open, and did not get enough fresh air to counter the vile...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dumbo13Cleveland_OH
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

I apologize that you were not satisfied with your recent stay here at the Hotel Ithaca. Mild cleaning solutions are used in both our public areas as well as our guest rooms so I was surprised to hear that the odor was overwhelming to you. I do realize that some people are more sensitive to the smell than others and...

Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

The room my wife and I were put in, after waiting over a half hour to check in, was terrible. The door, when closed, had a gap around it, letting light and noise in. The room was also poorly cleaned, and smelled like a mix of dust and pizza grease. Definitely not worth over $130.00 per night...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mhougle1
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere appologies for the unsatisfactory accommodations you had here at the Hotel Ithaca during your recent stay. The room that you had reserved thru Priceline was in the section of the hotel that is slated for a complete remodel in the upcoming future. The renovations here are being done in sections and I do hope that when...

Farmingdale, New York
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I stayed here for a week (late March to early April) while I attended a CLE at Cornell. Room: the hotel is divided into two parts: the tower and the rest. I stayed in the tower. The room was nice and modern. Bed and pillows were decent, although I'd bring my own pillow next time (that's a common complaint for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay here at the Hotel Ithaca. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. I have shared your comments with Allie and Kimberly in the restaurant and...

Villanova
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Love the layout, the rooms are welcoming and comfortable but with a distinctly modern, clean decor. We had 3 rooms for this trip, all were similar and similarly good. The work out space is not good - looks to be an afterthought. Front desk staff was all lovely, but would have helped if there was also a concierge. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelShust
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca on your recent visit. We trully appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right accommodations and service to make every stay relaxing and filled with positive experiences. We look forward to your return when you are in the...

Reviewed 26 March 2015

Pool on the property IS NOT the pool pictured on the website. Check which room you are getting before you go. Some of the rooms are located outside like motel style. Also if you are in the upgraded hotel portion rooms at the top of the stairs above the lobby will hear parties occurring in the bar downstairs. Poor design.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anmo123
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca on your recent visit. We greatly appreciate you reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and want to inform you that we take all feedback seriously. As our Hotel goes thru the many transformations of our on going remodel, the points you addressed will no longer be an issue. We look forward to your return...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
3.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.7 km away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
597 reviews
5.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.6 km away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S Cayuga St, Ithaca, NY 14850-5510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range: RM496 - RM838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Ithaca staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Ithaca staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an updated/renovated room. Your sense of smell will thank you.”
 of 5 bubbles Beckiki, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. Do not stay in the low slung wing to the side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Windwood32, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front of hotel faces busy main street and intersection.”
 of 5 bubbles snwa, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles drmjd, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure not to get rooms that are not accessible by elevator”
 of 5 bubbles cccqz, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay