We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,174: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We were pleased with this hotel since it was sight unseen and ou first visit to area. Hotel centrally located and very clean. Friendly staff at front desk and other employees. We enjoyed the beautiful view of Mirror Lake and fall colors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvira C
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Elvira C, I’m thrilled you chose to stay with us for your first trip to Lake Placid and I’m even more thrilled you were pleased with your choice! It’s great you were able to enjoy the fall colors as it’s such a short season for us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. I hope...

Latham
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The hotel had a nice variety of amenities including free paddleboats and kayaks which we took advantage of for a quick ride around the lake to see the foliage. All staff was very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were nice and beds super comfy. Breakfast was really good too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Jean M, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. It’s great to know you enjoyed a nice girl’s getaway with us. I’m happy you were able to use our boats and found our beds super comfy. I hope you’ll stay with us again soon! My Best, Olivia Zeis Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed here in September and absolutely loved our stay. We had a beautiful view from our room. The rooms are simple and clean, all we needed. With a nice balcony with chairs overlooking the water it was a nice place to have our morning coffee. The main street and shopping area is basically right out the front door. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia E
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Julia E, Thank you for all of your kind comments. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past September. I happen to think the balconies of our lakeside guest rooms are the best place in Lake Placid to enjoy a cup of coffee, but I may be a bit biased; I’m glad you enjoyed it. September...

Bethel, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The staff at the Golden Arrow was very accommodating when i asked to have a cot put into our room. A friend needed a place to stay and the staff at the Golden Arrow had no problem with the request. The only downside was that the room was not ready at 4:00 PM which is the check in time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

John S, Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m happy to hear that our staff was accommodating to your needs. We always try to be as efficient as possible with all requests. I apologize that your room was not ready at the 4:00pm check in time. We are extremely understaffed right now, but I realize there is no excuse for...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

I highly recommend this hotel! The front desk was so friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make sure you have an overall great experience. You can't beat its location. Close to all restaurants and shops. And it has its own restaurant (Generations) which is nice and convenient with great food. Last but not least, the VIEWS!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christie S, Thank you so much for the great review and recommendation. I love reading nice comments on our helpful front desk staff, convenient and delicious restaurant and gorgeous views. The first floor rooms are wonderful because, like you said, you can just walk right out on to the lake. I love that feature of the resort. Thanks, again,...

Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Picked this hotel for the good reviews and was not disappointed. Location is on Mirror lake at the beginning of the downtown Lake Placid (which is just a couple blocks long). The view of the lake, surrounding hills and Whiteface Mountain from the lakeside room was spectacular. A little apprehension about a non chain name and price too good to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olsondo
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Olsondo, I’m so happy you took a chance on us after reading our reviews. I know that there are a lot of options for accommodations when traveling so I appreciate you choosing the Golden Arrow for your trip to Lake Placid. It’s wonderful to know that you were extremely satisfied with your choice and loved our location, beautiful views and...

Glenville, New York
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Golden Arrow was a lovely stay in the heart of Lake Placid during Columbus Day weekend. The mountains were spectacular. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a nice balcony overlooking Mirror Lake. Both microwave and refrigerator are provided. Coffee is available in your room as well but If I had one suggestion, it would be that liquid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Susan G, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay over the Columbus Day holiday. Our great location on Mirror Lake and Main Street allows us to have gorgeous views from the back of the resort and the convenience of walk-able shopping and dining. The Holderieds were...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Surprising nice. Well appointed rooms. Clean, very clean. Great lake views. Considerate staff. HOWEVER.......the staff at the front desk allowed screaming, yelling uncontrollable kids run wild up and down the third floor hallways. Be warned. Overall though I'd go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan M
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dan M, Thank you for reviewing the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful to know you found our resort very clean, with well-appointed rooms and great lake views. We are just now entering hockey season so some of our newer staff may not be versed in how to handle the hockey players/spectators (adults and children). I will remind our front desk staff...

Hamilton, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 October 2016

back again for a long weekend in early October. The Golden Arrow never disappoints. Excellent location in the heart of town. The staff is exceptional. Although they do overlook one thing... ...the LAKE! another fantastic trip to Lake Placid. special thanks to the staff at the Golden Arrow Hotel. Your attention and service is very much appreciated. Can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christopher K, Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful to read that we never disappoint and you appreciate our staff’s attention and service; we appreciate you returning every year! I love that you included our tag line in your review, it’s very sweet. I hope you won’t wait too long to come back and...

New York
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the Golden Arrow in early October for a little weekend getaway. I chose one of the specialty suites as I thought it would be nice to have a fireplace. The rooms (and hotel in general) seem a bit outdated, but our overall stay was comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in the Wright Peak room, which is RIGHT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny1017
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Penny1017, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. The Wright Peak Specialty room is a gorgeously appointed room with its gas fireplace and glass shower. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay there and weren’t disturbed by any sound from Main Street below. I hope you’ll stay with us again, possibly try...

892 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Full Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (22)
Viewed
Lakeside Suite (78)
Viewed
Panther Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,190 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
2.9 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
166 reviews
1.8 km away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 31 in Lake Placid
499 reviews
0.5 km away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3305 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range: RM485 - RM1,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Teofilo Otoni, MG
9 months ago
Clifton Park, New York
over a year ago
9 days ago
Albany NY
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view room was gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles sharona1120, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you're coming from Canada, a bottle of Crown Royal was between 45 & 55 bucks US in Lake Placid. Buy at the duty free for half the price.”
 of 5 bubbles 897stephend, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles RichNY1, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lakeside rooms offer the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 596gregoryh, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not take the ground floor lake view”
 of 5 bubbles Madeleine75, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay