We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fundu Lagoon

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fundu Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We spent the final week of our honeymoon at Fundu Lagoon at the beginning of August and it was incredible. We were greeted with smiles at every turn by the very polite, well trained and friendly staff and they could not have done more for us during our stay. As we visited after a week long safari across the Northern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobMeakins
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. Fundu is a great way to unwind after going on safari, and I'm glad that it didn't disappoint you in any way. What a truly fantastic compliment to read that you both couldn't think of anything that we'd missed - thank you. Ramon,...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Great location. The way the resort has been built to hide amongst the trees means that the natural beauty of the area is not disturbed. The views were lovely, especially of the sunset. We had a hillside room, but still had a lovely view of the sea framed by all the trees from our balcony. The food was overall good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmbramwell
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I was so pleased to read that you loved our jungle location and enjoyed the views from your hillside room - there are some wonderful vistas from there across the sea, and I agree that sunset is spectacularly beautiful. Our chefs will...

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at Fundu Lagoon first week of September after week on safari in Tanzania. Great location,food and accommodation was good but the down side for us was being bitten so much,we were told there was no mosquitos in the area and the bites were from sand flies. I had taken a 100% deet spray with us and also used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bschofield
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I am sorry to hear that you got bitten so badly by the sand flies. They are a real nuisance I agree, and unfortunately this season they seem to be more prolific than in past years. It seems to be the general case...

Steyning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Food poor and unimaginative, unclean, had to pay extra for everything e.g. fruit cocktail which I've never heard of in all-inclusive before! Eaten alive by insects especially when having bbq on beach all in all a very disappointing experience !!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Leo A
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. I was very disappointed to read your comments, and a little baffled by them - for example, when we met in person and enjoyed a conversation in the restaurant, you gave me no indication at all that you were having a problem with the food choices...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Best place i have ever been. Everything was 5 stars+. Best value for money possible. Private swimming pool in the room backyard, just priceless. Room service simply perfect and personnel in general very proactive and efficient. Manager nice and always caring. I just wanna go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star + review - I'm truly delighted that you both enjoyed your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon so much, and that everything was to your liking. Ramon and all of our staff will be so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and that you want to come back and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed at Fundu Lagoon for a week in late June/early July 2016, as part of a two site honeymoon. I’m sad to say that we were quite disappointed. It might be a reflection of having an amazing time on safari, but Fundu didn’t really live up to our hopes. Accommodation The tents are very well kitted out, beds comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisQ198
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. We do say on our website that we have tented accommodation, but I'm glad that you nonetheless found it comfortable, stylish and that you enjoyed the view from your room. Those mosquitoes can be a bit of a nuisance, and we do our best to make...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 23 August 2016

what a pleasure - we loved the place so much - we decided to prolong our stay a day more - didn't want to leave at all Marty and Ramon were super helpful in organising everything- the huts were stunning with every attention to details, stunning showers, amazing view from the huts, lunch and dinner were served in different parts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherlockbe
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of your recent stay at Fundu Lagoon, and what a terrific compliment to us that you decided to extend your holiday with us by an extra day. Marty and Ramon will be thrilled to read your wonderful (and very true) comments about them, and I am so glad that you both...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here for 7 nights after our safari and it was excellent from the moment we stepped off the boat and were met by Ramon, the manager. All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and really made our stay. The location is very secluded and peaceful, and a great place to unwind. The dive centre was extremely well run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikecarter36
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us at Fundu Lagoon. Ramon and all of our staff will be really delighted to read your very kind comments about them, and I am so pleased that you felt that Fundu enabled you both to kickback and unwind after your safari. Feedback from...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Fundu Lagoon is the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth. Perfect end to our honeymoon. After spending 5 days on Safari in the Masai Mara, we were looking forward to relaxing for 7 days, and that we did! Our welcome from Ramon and the rest of the staff was second to none. It felt surreal that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank x10rns
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

I agree with you - Fundu Lagoon is 'the most beautiful, relaxing, luxurious and stunning place on earth'! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent honeymoon with us - I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in your beach suite, and that Ramon and the rest of our team made you feel so welcome. I am...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Four days and nights of relaxing, relaxing, and more relaxing. Great Balinese masseurs, and wondefull sunsets by the Jetty. I wouldn't miss eating freshly caught fish and sea food for every meal. Can't wait for the next time I can come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristán R
ellis f, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent 4 day holiday with us. I am so pleased that you were able to kick back and relax at Fundu, and that our Balinese masseurs enabled you to relax even further! Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the freshly caught sea...

407 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (384)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
19.9 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
86 reviews
0.0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
65.7 km away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanga
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.9 km away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 9 in Pemba Island
84 reviews
16.0 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Pemba Island
46 reviews
41.1 km away
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pemba Island
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the bungalows have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles rosie_zeitner, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ALl rooms are great but go for the seafront of you can”
  • One of the beach front rooms
  • Sea front room
 of 5 bubbles Studd2710, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“beach front!”
  • view from room 13 at sunset
 of 5 bubbles rbraamcamp, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Beach suite and Superior suite 16 are TOPS!”
 of 5 bubbles DevilliersPA, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have instant access to the beach via a few steps and have amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles C9026KIjohnc, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5