We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fundu Lagoon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fundu Lagoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fundu Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived at Pemba after a very tiring 7 day safari travelling around Tanzania. We were met at the airport and told there was about an hour's drive to reach the docks before a short boat trip which would take us to Fundu Lagoon. On route we had a problem with the vehicle, however very quickly a second car arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nette08
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review of Fundu Lagoon. Our Makuti thatched tented rooms do surprise quite a lot of our guests, but favourably so, I am pleased to say. To ensure suitable levels of privacy for our guests, it is not really possible to add in extra windows in the bathrooms, but we are always looking at...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We spent the last part of our honeymoon here after safari in Kenya, it is the most peaceful/tranquil holiday I have ever enjoyed, what a place...we had a suite on the beach with a magnificent view and great facilities. The food was excellent and the staff super friendly. Our tour operator www.toescapeto.com highly recommended this place for the diving/snorkelling, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of Fundu Lagoon. I am delighted that you enjoyed our ‘excellent’ food and found our staff ‘super friendly’. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to all of our staff, as they are always so pleased to hear that their performance has greatly contributed to guests having had a wonderful...

Reviewed 4 July 2012

i dont want to say anything good about this place as i would love to keep it as my little secret haven and by letting everyone know how truly idylic it is would worry me that it would be spoiled in tbe future - please never expand it would spoilt it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maldeb1962
FunduLagoon, Creative Director at Fundu Lagoon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your secret about Fundu Lagoon with everyone! Your comments are very much appreciated and please don’t worry, we will never turn the hotel into a sprawling high rise concrete creation, you have my word on that. Ellis Flyte (Creator and owner of Fundu Lagoon) c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manager)

Newquay
Reviewed 10 June 2012

These are the only words I've found to describe this truly unique hotel! We were stunned at how lush, quirky, beautiful and luxurious but barefoot basic this wonderful place was. We came here on day 6 of our honeymoon after time at another beach resort and a 4-day Selous safari. Both those places were lovely too but nothing could have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MrsJH2011
Management response:

How very kind of you to write such a lovely review of Fundu Lagoon. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent honeymoon. We do try to upgrade our guests whenever possible and, private pool leaks aside (these things do unfortunately happen occasionally), how wonderful that you got to experience two suites...

Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The tented rooms are very nice with a private small pool over looking the sea. The hotel is integrated in the vegetation. Skin diving is organized by the hotel, after having ben diving the world, I have been very pleased with what I saw, surprising! Food is not very good, they have to make a big effort to improve level,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SergeLiege_Belgium
Management response:

Thank you for your recent review of Fundu Lagoon. I am pleased to hear that all of the transportation arrangements to our location fell into place for you, and that you were well looked after by our transport staff. I was particularly glad to read your comments on the hotel’s design, and that you appreciated the concept of the resort...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had originally planned our honeymoon in Sri Lanka but couldn't get the hotels we wanted so choosing Pemba Island was a second choice. On reflection I think the Gods must have been looking down on us as this was a second heaven and, for the week that we stayed there, on the five for seven night option, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nodrog_911
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is the most wonderful place that constantly exceeds expectations from the moment you set foot off the jetty. After a journey that involved 3 planes, a jeep and a speedboat we were exhausted yet revived almost immediately with the sheer joy of being in such a spectacular location and the warmth and hospitality of the welcome we received. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank susanhiggins
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon after a week’s safari across Tanzania. From the minute we stepped foot on the island we felt at home and completely relaxed and it was everything we wanted after a week of moving from camp to camp. Everything here was perfect from the food, walks on the beach, snorkelling, fishing the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dennis P
Isle of Man
Reviewed 29 January 2012

my wife and I spent 7 days here in january in a superior suite. It is indeed a fantastic resort, not the european 5* standard but made up for by the situation. All rooms and suites are basically a safari tent with over-arching thatch roof. Ours was well equipped plus mini bar, tea/coffee, mosquito net, coils and spray; 2 way...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maldoc
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 January 2012

After our safari we spent 6 nights at this small and personal resort. It was pure relaxation! The atmosphere is very laid back. The charming, attentive and friendly staff go out of their way to please, nothing is too much trouble. It’s once more about people who make all the difference: Hannes, William, Liz and the whole team make the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank zurich_traveller_11

407 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (384)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
19.9 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
89 reviews
0.0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
0.0 km away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
198 reviews
44.9 km away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 9 in Pemba Island
96 reviews
16.0 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Pemba Island
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fundu Lagoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the bungalows have superb views”
 of 5 bubbles rosie_zeitner, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ALl rooms are great but go for the seafront of you can”
  • One of the beach front rooms
  • Sea front room
 of 5 bubbles Studd2710, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“beach front!”
  • view from room 13 at sunset
 of 5 bubbles rbraamcamp, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Beach suite and Superior suite 16 are TOPS!”
 of 5 bubbles DevilliersPA, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms have instant access to the beach via a few steps and have amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles C9026KIjohnc, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5