We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Banda Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ssese Islands
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Banda Island
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

While we were in Uganda my wife and I went to Banda Island resort in Lake Victoria. This small island and the setting they created is a perfect place to relax in a hammock while being surrounded by beautiful nature. Deven was great in organizing the booking and providing us information about the transportation by boat, which is a fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juulhoog
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear juulhoog, Thanks a lot for the nice review! I see you took all that Banda could offer and enjoyed it. I appreciate you mention the transport. It is a special experience and we try to make it as easy as possible. But just the same it is usually not a point of recognition - Deven is very happy and...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The stay at banda island was very relaxing and great. Its a lovely island and the service, the food and the tents were very good. Definitely, I will come back, maybe alone (like in 2016, sep.) or with my falily. If you are in Uganda you have to visit the Banda island. I love it there =)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauradecker
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thanks a lot for the review and gracing us with five stars! Jippie! We are looking forward to welcome you again on Banda Island. We will always have the prices on per person basis so people who choose to travel alone are not punished for that by paying more for single occupancy. But do bring your family then...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Banda Island is so incredibly beautiful; it's an absolutely wonderful place to spend a few days. Petra and Brenda were both so lovely and helpful. The boat ride to the island is quite fun, and I really can't emphasize enough how beautiful the beaches and cottages are. The food was quite good, and the staff are so willing to make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabelle C
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear Isabelle, We are so happy you gave us five stars! It is not easy to earn them in a simple place like ours. We need people like you who appreciate the natural beauty and relaxed atmosphere. I am always excited to be on Banda with vegetarians - then Kito makes veggie lasagna or pineapple pilaw. My favorites! :-) Great...

Reviewed 13 January 2017

Banda Island trip, primarily intended as a work trip for our Solar Trainer Team (checking solar facilities as a training measure) was a fantastic mixture of experiences: escape from busy Kampala, relaxation, nature but also some practical work to be done in a team spirit in a very special environment. Everything was well organized and prepared by Deven, the booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia Z
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear Cornelia, Thanks a lot for this elaborate review! I so appreciate you took the time to write in your busy schedule. To start I would like to thank you for selecting Banda island as a pilot site and as a training venue for your Solar Training Team. The findings you and your team made about our electricity and solar...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

Recently Uganda has been ranked 4th by roughguides.com website & after visiting Banda Island I am sure that its because of these places in Uganda. unmatched natural Beauty, nature is beautifully presvered by Banda Island, supportive staff who are there for you 24x7, variety of food & if you wish to cook your own food you just tell the staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir B
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear Sudhir Bhai, Thanks a lot for this great review! We are gleaming with pride you make us part of the - very much deserved - high ranking of Uganda. I wish we could make people 'out there' see how beautiful, safe, interesting, and easy to travel Uganda is. Many potential travellers are still seeing Uganda in a different way....

Reviewed 5 January 2017

I had a wonderful stay on Banda during Christmas time, but this seems in spite of the challenges put forth by the poor service and food. We stayed in the family cottage. My kids had a blast playing on the beach all day, scavenging, building castles and forts, body boarding, playing football, card games and board games. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Genevieve G
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear Genevieve, Thanks a lot for the review and detailing points for improvement. I real.ly appreciate you took the time to write it all down. I saw some pictures of your kids and our Banda Toto playing on the beach and you could really see they had a great time. The tips you give are all very good! Some of...

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Its an incredible place for its location, with views on both sides (so you can see both sun rise and sun set). The buildings are very pretty (yet old and crumbled) and there is several hammocks, allowing for very good relaxing. The place is full of kites, cattle egret, cormorants, and small heron. Also the occasional fish eagle will glide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arne D
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Hello Arne, Thanks a lot for letting me know your experience on Banda Island! If possible can you let me know in which period you visited? The trip to Banda can be indeed a bit rough. But four hours is really very long. Do you remember if you went with Vincent? An indication: His boat has a roof. I will...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

First off, this is a beautiful island with a romantic setting. However, it is far from Kampala (three hours by boat from Entebbe) and the boat transportation was extremely unreliable and at times highly unpleasant. I took my girlfriend here for her birthday (she'd been talking about visiting for a while) and our expectations were unfortunately not met. The landing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shakeel P
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Hi Shakeel, I am so sorry you did not have a good experience, especially because it was a birthday trip. We are trying to make the transport as good as possible by informing guests about what to expect at Kasenyi and the (indeed not always reliable) boat schedule through the website and at time of booking. We now have a...

Reviewed 19 November 2016

The fun of this palce starts with the boat ride out from Kisenyi - Brenda did a great job of meeting us and getting us on the right boat despite our best efforts to get on the wrong one! Boarding the boat requires a shouder ride from a porter (unless you want to wade waist deep in the lake). A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theophilus88
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Hi Theophilus, You made me smile! Trying hard to get on the wrong boat..... I wonder where you would have ended up. Tanzania most likely. :-)) Thanks for liking our little remote place, and our shower! It is indeed quite weird to be out there under the trees under a jerry can. We did a lot of testing to make...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I will not stop being supprised of what Uganda can bring to me. This place is absolutely no exception. So great, so nice, so quiet. Petra was so helpfull during reservation and Brenda with the other staff offer an amazing service there. Coffe or tea at your bedside in the morning!! Delicious 3 meals a day. Exiting talks with other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkartin
PetraKampala_Uganda, Owner at Banda Island, responded to this review

Dear jkartin, Thanks for loving Uganda - and Banda! We need more Uganda fans to not only become one of the world's best destination on paper but also by growing visitor numbers. To many people have a wrong perception of us. I remember you were there during the survival weekend, right? That was a blast indeed with a nice crowd....

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ssese Islands
37.3 km away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
255 reviews
33.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
37.4 km away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Panorama Cottages
Panorama Cottages
#6 of 8 in Ssese Islands
26 reviews
0.0 km away
Pearl Gardens Beach Resort Kalangala
0.0 km away
Ssese Habitat Resort
Ssese Habitat Resort
#4 of 8 in Ssese Islands
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banda Island, the hidden gem of the Ssese Islands archipelago, is a beautiful place with the most amazing sunsets. Peace and tranquility are at the top of the list, with amazing staff and management making sure nothing detracts. For the adventurous at heart, there is water skiing, wake boarding and a small Laser yacht. We also offer fishing, boat trips, nature walks and have a beach volleyball net waiting for you. In the evening we light a bonfire on the beach so you can watch the lights of the fisherman on the lake. Above all, you can be assured that the people you meet there are friendly and like minded travelers, there to simply enjoy a piece of paradise. And .... Our food is great! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banda Island

Address: Banda Island | Ssese Islands, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Ssese Islands
Price Range: RM111 - RM177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banda Island staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Banda Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a tent with a view of the lake, it is lovely!!”
 of 5 bubbles lauradecker, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Loved the cottages!”
 of 5 bubbles isabellecM517BV, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask exactly what your room has to offer.”
 of 5 bubbles genevieveg2017, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't be scared or worried about the journey... He who makes an effort gets the most rewards.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesl876, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Just come and have fun. Preferable to stay for a two night minimum. The safari tent might be your best option.”
 of 5 bubbles Guggi1987, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5