We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 August 2015

While the exterior of this location was presentable, the interior had a terrible smokey/musky smell. In addition, the walls were scuffed with black marks, the hand washing sink was mostly clogged - it took 20 minutes for the sink water to disperse down the drain, the toilet seat was chipped, the pillows were actual squares, and the coffee maker's top...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hl0000018
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Traveller: I cannot begin to express my concern for the conditions in which you found our hotel and your guestroom during your stay with us last month. While I'd like to believe that every misstep is an oppotunity for my staff to recheck themselves, I am disappointed to learn that a series of them led to a less than...

Ellenville
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I was very upset my wife has naropothy and we had to walk up to second floor ,no refrigerator for her insulin

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ralph G
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Dear Sir: I appreciated that you also chose to follow up directly with me regarding your concern. As you'd stated, your specific room needs were known by the clerk you'd normally dealt with in the past. We have noted your ongoing request in your recent stay history, in order for your future reservations to have the information moving forward. Thank...

Dickinson, Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

This economy hotel was over $100…the room was not clean, in fact it was really disgustingly dirty. Our non-smoking room REAKED of cigarette smoke, had burn marks on the edge of the tub...obviously a chain smoker was living there. The carpet was filthy especially in places like behind the nightstands...literally found trash, dust and a nasty pile of hair, possibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H8213CBpeterf
MiddBanta11, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown, responded to this review

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night while driving towards New York City. Parking was right outside our room, perfect for unloading the huge amount of luggage we had! Easy reach of everything we needed (laundry, shopping, takeaway food). Room had plenty of space which we also needed for sorting our luggage. Only problem we had was not being able to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 198sharmens
Medford, New York
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Myself and my husband. Not the cleanest room with a heavy mold smell but a one night stay only was enjoyable enough to do it again. Would not bring family or friends. Thumbs up for free coffee in room, refrigerator & microwave . Served it's purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine6676
Highland Falls, New York
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Basic run of the mill inexpensive lodgings. Lobby was expectedly simplistic but clean. Staff was friendly. The room was a little run down but clean which was the most important thing. Often in places like this there is a potential "heebie-jeebie" factor which can be quite uncomfortable to say the least. However, this room did not have that. Price was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ridethewind95
Ormond Beach, Florida
Reviewed 28 July 2015

stayed there a few weeks ago for 2 nights. Here is a list of what was wrong. The room was dirty and the blankets had stains. There was a chicken bone under the table. The room smelled like cheap flower fogger so bad I could barely breathe. The agent I spoke with said nothing about the pool being closed down....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88solomons

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
0.4 km away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#5 of 8 in Middletown
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 8 in Middletown
568 reviews
2.0 km away
Courtyard Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
#2 of 8 in Middletown
262 reviews
8.1 km away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown

Address: 551 Route 211 East/I-84, Route 17 & I-84, Middletown, NY 10940
Region: United States > New York > Middletown
Price Range: RM392 - RM468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Middletown
Middletown Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hightstown, New Jersey
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Middletown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get directions to your room map not real clear.”
 of 5 bubbles retirednold, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms were nice to have sliding doors w/faux balcony for some fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles debodell, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel altogether! You've been warned.”
 of 5 bubbles H1596JVjohnh, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The "F" entrance was my wing.”
 of 5 bubbles NossonMeir, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“do not choose any”
 of 5 bubbles gertzz, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5