We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngalawa Beach Village

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Ngalawa Beach Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of Ngalawa Beach Village
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving at Ngalawa, we pretty much expected the the norm - however the service, food and hospitality was exceptional. Thank you to Joanne, Sadru and Val as well as all the staff for making the week an exceptionally relaxing one and really surprising us with absolutely brilliant food at each meal time. Really exceptional! Many thanks Rudi & Bron

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rudib2
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Ngalawa beach Village ! Thank you for choosing us ! what a great family you are ! Our staff loved serving you, always happy,and so much laughter! Exactly what a holiday is all about . We are always so pleased when the guests are so complimentary about our food especially , as this seems to make or break...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I rated Ngalawa 4 out of 5 only because I think it was not quite as plush as a 5 rating would imply. Nevertheless, I loved it and would go back! Ngalawa's operations may be considered unique by some travelers. Guests should plan to pay cash only, and all extra expenses (excursions, beverages, sundries) are kept on a tab to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen C
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from beautiful Zanzibar Karen !! Thank you for you're kind words , and it was our pleasure to serve you and you're family. As always there are minor things that need to be attended , thank goodness none of you're wee issues affected you're amazing family time ! we are a 3 star rating although we appreciate you're thoughts...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Ngalawa Beach Village staff is first and foremost formidable, from the moment we arrived to when we left it was nothing short of a welcoming atmosphere helping friendships be made. The food is awesome, you will probably gain couple pounds but if you are on vacation enjoy it! They also have a set of trips for you to choose from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thibaut m
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greeting Thibault ! well to say the least we indeed miss youre contagious energy and inquisitive personality ! No need to worry about the extra kilos , you were on vacation and it is a huge compliment to our Chefs ! we agree with you're choice of top top choices of things to do, Safari Blue is the icing on...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Ngalawa Beach Village is located on the east coast. The resort is ideal if you want to chill and relax, its really quite and peaceful. The rooms have what you need large and comfortable bed, rooms are kept clean and fresh daily. The food is basic (Sea food mainly) nothing to complain about. The staff and management are helpful generally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lerato091
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Zanzibar ! Thank you for you're review..and choosing Ngalawa Beach Village Resort : During you're stay with us ,it seemed you were out plenty and missing some fantastic meals , perhaps the days you were in ,it may have been fish, but we have a very well balanced and creative menu of chicken lamb beef and fish. In...

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Upon arrival at the resort we immediately felt welcomed by Val and Joanne and later on Sadru. All the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and the food was great and never left us feeling hungry. (The crepes and honey for breakfast was our favourite and the soups over dinner is to die for) and if you're lucky you'll have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miko M
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Jambo you two ! Although we were in contact on FB please allow me to respond to you're review. Now you are a girl who really did her homework ! As an owner it is wonderful just to watch our guests have such fun, and natural curiosity about the culture , the village..wild life and and awesome wonder about Mother...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We spent a great 7 nights at this quiet and peaceful resort on the East Coast of the island. Facilities were ideal, and a very informal environment to really unwind from the hustle bustle of everyday life. Rooms are adequately equipped, no complaints at all and the aircons definitely helped combat the tropical heat and humidity. All the staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viviers2016
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This is an informative review... 1 Val, the manager, was always on hand and available for information 2 The food and accommodation is fine except ... coffee and maybe a cheese board after supper , would be great 3 There is NO beach - so no quick swim or snorkelling or nothing - 40 USD to get across to a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Violetvz
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Zanzibar : Thank you for you're interesting review.. Please refer to our FB page to see if this is where you actually were..all pictures are raw and untouched..every day the students play football on the "non existent" beach. Any where on the Island , due to hotels being around the circumference of the Island of course you will...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We spent a fantastic 9 days in this small, relaxed but extremely friendly beach hotel. If you like an informal and homely vibe with few people, beautiful gardens, hammocks, days spent reading a book by the pool or playing bao with a cold beer in hand, look no further. In short, there are 18 clean, tastefully decorated rooms with fan,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erikabritz
Secunda, South Africa
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Ngalawa for 7 nights on a full board basis (all meals included). Stone Town, Spice Tour and Safari Blue included. Clean room & balcony overlooking resort towards mangrove. Resort has its own pool. Good food. Well managed. All else not prepaid for quite expensive in South African terms.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BlackKoffie
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We stumbled across this haven purely by chance.. and thank goodness we did!! We went from thinking well this is Africa.. we'll be home soon (DXB) TO NOOOOOOOOOO... We don't want to leave!! We were welcomed into a family atmosphere as soon as we walked up the stairs to the charming beach bar.. our fears from our booked accommodation were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank weebex

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (78)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.2 km away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
237 reviews
6.4 km away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
8.7 km away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
24.8 km away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
547 reviews
10.4 km away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to "Lily's Beach Bar" located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Address: Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | Chwaka Bay, East Coast, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngalawa Beach Village staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ngalawa Beach Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are all quiet”
lerato091, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want to just go away and have a relaxing holiday next to the pool - this is it!”
Violetvz, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
2 of 2