We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Forge Camping Resort

Save
Traveller (132)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (13)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“the cottages”(23 reviews)
“paddle boats”(17 reviews)
“nature trail”(14 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Parking
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
The Old Forge Camping Resort is a year round campground located in Old Forge, New York so we’re perfect if you’re coming for camping, skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, canoeing, or whatever Adirondack adventure you’re after. Enjoy a true vacation in the Adirondacks here at our campground...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
3347 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
21 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
104
72
31
10
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
104
72
31
10
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespaddle boatsnature trailcamp storethe main lodgetent sitesblack beanswater safarifire pitbunk bedsnew friendssmall lakenice campgroundenchanted forestwater parkfree shuttlehalloween weekends
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish I had read reviews before making a reservation!! My wife and I have been camping over 40 years and have never been ripped off like this.I made a reservation on a monday evening at about 7:00 PM for two adults and 1 child,...More

1  Thank Gappy6018
Response from General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping ResortResponded 6 days ago

We are sorry that you were unable to make it to your recent reservation. When you booked your reservation online, the policies are given to you for you to read and agree with by checking the box before you make payment. Our cancellation policy and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first time staying at this camping resort and it was fantastic. Everyone was so nice (especially the older lady at the front desk). The kids were safe and met new friends to play with the whole time and loved the playground hangout....More

Thank esobczak2
Response from General M, General Manager at Old Forge Camping ResortResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your five star review! We appreciate your feedback and your business. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very dissatisfied. AC not allowed to be run at this campground. Asked to shorten our stay due to extreme heat and was told “no. If I refunded you I would have to refund the whole campground”. The electric is so bad that we couldn’t even...More

1  Thank Karen P
Response from General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping ResortResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our campground. Unfortunately, due to the unusual extreme heat that has hit the Adirondacks, National Grid was unable to supply enough power to the area of Old Forge, and this resulted in some power outages during the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I just returned from Old Forge. We grew up near there in NY but we hadn't been there in years. The campground is great! We stayed in Cottage #39 and I highly recommend it. Great lake view between the trees and a...More

Thank Punkin472
Response from General M, General Manager at Old Forge Camping ResortResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! We love making our guests happy.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ridiculous that this privately owned campground has resorted to charging and extra $10 - $30 to reserve a specific site after exceedingly high prices for campsites already -- AND -- if a premium fee is not paid and someone else agrees to pay it, you...More

Thank Natalie M
Response from General M, General Manager at Old Forge Camping ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us. We’d love a second chance to turn that 3-star into a 5-star!

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Details
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (132)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
scrapchick256
24 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from General M | Property representative |
Good morning! Yes absolutely you can use the water in the cottages for drinking and cooking!
1
Vote
karen3222017
26 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rebecca V | Reviewed this property |
Blankets, pillows, towels, bath mat or extra towel, toaster, pots and pans, spatulas anything you need to cook with. There is nothing to use in the kitchenette. There is a table and chairs and a picnic table outside. Bring... More
1
Vote
catelynfrye
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from tawny d | Reviewed this property |
You can take dogs but can't leave them alone in the cabins or tied up outside!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"In summer ask for lake front"
Read review
"Cabins by the lake are lovely, we didn't have any issues with our campsite on a separate stay either..."
Read review
"If getting a cabin ask for one near the showers and bathroom!"
Read review
"Lakefront is the best. Cottage 1 - perfect little beach spot."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing