We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Kingston, New York
Reviewed 17 November 2015

It was a excellent stay. I was suppose to stay for a few nights but I had a family emergency. So I only end up staying one night but my one night stay was excellent. The front desk staff was fantastic. Ravi from front desk was very nice had a warm welcome smile, very good at his job. Also Chris...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessica w
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Jessica w., thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay, and will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff. Our rooms are indeed larger than average; our two Queen bed rooms are perfect for a family of four. I hope you were able to take...

nystate
Reviewed 10 October 2015

we stayed at the red roof inn when it was a super eight so I was a little leary of staying here but we gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised at all the updates that were done. it was wonderful. we needed someplace that was close to the Culinary Institute of America because we had to be there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yogibear123
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear yogibear123, we are extremely pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and that you noticed all the improvements to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Plenty of positives about this hotel! Staff are friendly and helpful. It's been recently refurbished, so rooms are clean, functional, and beds comfortable. Bathroom and the shower worked well. Decent, simple breakfast - COFFEE WAS VERY GOOD. (This is important to me.) Location is OK, but Rt. 9 will always be a bit of a nightmare.... BUT, sound proofing is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin H
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Robin H., Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We appreciate all feedback so that we may better serve all our guests, and are constantly making improvements to our hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Hudson Valley.

Garden City, New York
Reviewed 9 September 2015

A few people checking in before us had issues and a group of about 4 guests waited for over a half hour just to get our room keys. Made us a little late to a wedding. The room was OK. TV worked fine, bathroom was actually pretty nice and new-looking. Air Conditioner kept shutting off in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven J
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Stephen J, Thank you for your review. I apologize that check in took longer than it should have. The front desk does sometimes get extremely busy, especially on the weekends when many of our guests are trying to check in early. I am happy that you found the beds to be comfortable and the room clean. We are a...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I stayed here because it was a hotel recommended by the bride at the wedding I was attending but wish I chose someplace else along Route 9 in Poughkeepsie. When we pulled up, we weren't even sure where the lobby was or if we were at the right place. There were people (not sure if they were even guests) hanging...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GF_Globetrotter
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear GF_Globetrotter, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. While we have renovated the entire inside of the hotel, we are still waiting for our new outdoor entrance signs to be installed. I can assure you that the people hanging around outside were all guests of the hotel, as we do host many groups and wedding...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Nothing special. Nothing seriously wrong. Room and decor as expected. Staff was nice. Layout was annoying.Walking up stairs to reach second floor with luggage was not what I looked forward whan I was there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Steve D., Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we do not have an elevator, we do honor requests for first floor rooms. In addition, our front desk staff is always happy to help with your luggage, whether your room is on the first or second floor. We hope that you will come stay with...

Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Read others' reviews of this RRI and gave it a try when we were looking for an affordable hotel in Poughkeepsie. The hotel is clean and nice, albeit with a small lobby area. Our room had a combination of laminate flooring which was nice, but didn't quite match up. We were satisfied with the bed, size and cleanliness of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy C
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Judy C., Thank you so much for staying with us and posting your review. We appreciate you noticing the cleanliness of the hotel, as our staff works extremely hard to ensure all of our guests are comfortable and happy. We look forward to your next visit into town.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

I simply did NOT expect this hotel to be so nice. Obviously, it's been renovated recently and WOW they exceeded my expectations of a " Red Roof Inn" It's very clean, very reasonably priced ( considering it shares a property with another hotel DOUBLE the cost) And THEY ARE PET FRIENDLY <3 Every staff member that I've come in contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vella J
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Dear Vella J., I am extremely pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We are indeed a very reasonably priced clean hotel, and while we are pet friendly, we have designated pet rooms that get an extreme deep cleaning after each of our furry friends departs. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate it!

Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 July 2015

With the recent renovations, it is much nicer. Everything has been upgraded. I was here for three nights, and had a very pleasant stay. Location is very convenient for working at IBM, and for other area attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
Christel L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We have been working extremely hard and have made many improvements to the property, so we thank you for noticing!. All of our guest rooms are brand new, as will be the entire hotel upon completion, which is very near. Besides being conveniently located next to IBM, we are also within a...

Saint Augustine
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We stayed in room 103. It was impeccably clean with all updated bedroom and bathroom fixtures. This room was completely renovated with the only exception being that the TV was not installed on the wall yet. Nice inset area in the wall for ice bucket, coffee maker, drinks and snacks. The beds were very comfortable with nice bedding. It's true...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcvalencia
Christel L, Manager at Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out to post your review. We have indeed recently renovated the entire property. Our guest rooms are now complete with new flooring, new bathroom vanities and fixtures, new furniture, new bedding and new towels and terry. In addition all rooms will be complete with new microwaves and refrigerators. We are currently working...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
5.6 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
1.4 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
263 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof PLUS+ Poughkeepsie is Non-Smoking, pet friendly and located off of Route 9. We offer flat screen TVs and free WiFi in all rooms. We are located in the historic Hudson Valley near the Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum & Library, Vassar College, and Walkway over the Hudson State Historic Park. Whether traveling for business or pleasure we are close to everything the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie

Address: 2349 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585 (Formerly Cloud 9 Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Price Range: RM394 - RM691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super 8
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place”
 of 5 bubbles PrestigeFL, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go with at less a 4 star hotel”
 of 5 bubbles maychin623, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor only”
 of 5 bubbles babriatis, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You can hear people walking around upstairs, so go for a second floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles riverpdx, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This hotel does not have an elevator. Please call ahead if you need a lower level room.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesj113, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5